We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BED and BREAKFAST INN atLA JOLLA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla
Ranked #3 of 4 La Jolla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at this Inn and really enjoyed the setting, rooms, staff and the area of LaJolla. Would recommend this property to anyone traveling in this area. The guests were all pleasant and people you could enjoy meeting. convienently located to the beach, shops, museums etc. A must stay in the San Diego area

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 524 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

wonderful B & B ! Margaret the Innkeeper makes everything perfect! we stay at least 3 times a year to visit our Grandchildren in San Diego...The breakfast is excellent. The rooms are clean and beautiful. The location is excellant and easy parking. a short walk to the beach and museum or town!

Room Tip: all the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gallikeseagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

All the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The location is to die for, so close to the ocean where we could go for a lovely walk every morning before breakfast. The breakfasts were awesome. We stayed 6 nights and every morning was a delicious new menu. It was very pleasant and relaxing to have the daily wine/cheese/fruit selection laid out at 5:00 p.m. to enjoy at our leisure -- either in the quaint garden in the back or in our room. The Inn was very quiet, which was appealing to us. For a few of the nights, the Inn was filled to capacity and we were not aware of any sound from other rooms. The way the Inn is set out, each room seems very private and you almost feel like you are the only ones there. We enjoyed visiting with other guests at breakfast time, hearing about the activities each had done the previous day and getting ideas from each other about what things to do in the area. La Jolla is a beautiful and quiet village with lots to do within a fairly short drive. The only downside of the Inn was that internet service was not always reliable -- however, on vacation we really didn't care. I suppose if someone was there on business, that might be a problem. They were working on improving internet service. We were treated royally and really enjoyed our stay. We would certainly stay there again if we return to La Jolla.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This Bed & Breakfast ranks right at the TIPPY TOP of Bed & Breakfasts throughout the nation. We stayed in the Peacock Room and absolutely LOVED everything about it!! The staff is super helpful and gentile. The FOOD! Tina Martini was our daily chef and she is worth looking up! She had her own network show in Las Vegas. Tina is MARVELOUS!! Tina changed our lives for the better. She compliments her amazing tastes with a top notch presentation of her healing knowledge about food. Wonderful!! The whole experience was absolutely PERFECT!! The sherry in the room was a nice touch. The wine and cheese everyday is relaxing. You can walk to everything in the area. Location is perfect! Price is a good deal!!

Room Tip: Peacock is likely the best location, because it neighbors a large patio and it has its own patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t1smiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Over the years, my husband and I have stayed in a number of Bed and Breakfasts. Though the location of the inn is ideal in La Jolla, our stay at the Bed and Breakfast Inn at La Jolla was nowhere near worth the price that we paid. Although we were not pleased with the Inn, we did stay the entire 5 nights that we had booked because we had read previously that we would not be refunded any of the money that we had paid for the room if we chose to leave. The entire amount is charged to your credit card before you arrive. So you are pretty much stuck there.

We stayed in the Holiday Room which is one of the most expensive rooms at the Inn. The room had a very musty smell to it. It was not a smokey smell from the fireplace but more of a mildewy smell like you'd find in an old building. The rugs in the room felt old and damp. It took a long time for the water in the shower to get hot and once it was hot, it was difficult to regulate. The first night we arrived, there was only half a roll of toilet paper in the bathroom. We had to ask for another roll on more than one occasion.

We did use the fireplace on a few of the evenings because it was cold in the room and there was no way to turn on any thermostat. There was an old electric heater we could have used but it was very noisy. The fire in the fireplace did make the room smell a bit smokey but it was better than the mildew smell.

We did not request a room change because this room was supposedly one of the best ones and we could not imagine staying in a smaller worse one. After reading other reviews (which I should have taken to heart but did not), I knew it wouldn't make any difference.

The Inn advertises that there is coffee and tea available in the lobby (the lobby was approximately 15' x 25'). Instead of a Keruig machine or other coffee machine or hot plate, there were two big pump thermoses - one for coffee and one for tea. The one with hot water for tea was not even mildly hot. The one with the coffee was warm. New coffee/water was set out after 7:00 am and it was a bit better then.

Breakfast was sad. The dining room was very overcrowded. There was one large table that seated eight and there were two smaller tables for two in the same room. On two of the mornings, there was another table for two set in the small lobby between the front desk and the front door. It was very awkward and I felt badly for the couples who had to eat their breakfast there. It was surreal. People who had paid top $$ to stay at the Inn had to sit in front of the front desk and door. It looked like they were being punished and had to sit at the children's table. We are posting a picture of the breakfast table in the lobby.

The breakfast was average. Coffee and orange juice was readily available. Every morning, I had to ask for hot water for tea which eventually was served. There were three courses to breakfast. The chef (who was very pleasant) explained what each dish was. The dishes sounded healthy but honestly did not taste very good.

We love La Jolla but we would not stay at the Bed and Breakfast Inn at La Jolla again. We do not recommend it either. It is terribly expensive for the service you receive. Definitely not worth the price.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay at this Inn again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gsmithr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marvelme_7, Guest Relations Manager at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

It is unfortunate that you stayed 5 nights at our b&b and did not make your dissatisfaction and issues known during that time. We could have relocated you to the Gill Penthouse, which is our most expensive suite, at no additional charge. It is in the newer annex built in 1984 and it has a decorative rather than a wood burning fireplace which eliminates the problem some people have with the smoke and odors created during use of the latter. Your comfort is paramount to us and we will go out of our way to resolve any issue if it is brought to our attention

The historical, residential section of the inn goes back to 1913 and next year and we are proud to be celebrating its' 100th birthday. Your suite, The Holiday, is one of only three guest rooms that still have wood burning fireplaces dating back to 1913. We are always updating and remodeling the rooms but we are required to maintain certain architectural and design elements in order to keep our historical credentials. These wood burning fireplaces are a charming addition but it is a challenge to keep these particular rooms smelling fresh as a result.

Located in these three rooms are quality Air Purifiers which are at your disposal. When we refresh the rooms at check out we always use them as well as opening the windows to allow the fresh air in. They are silent and effective and we encourage our guests who stay in these particular rooms to use them - especially if they are going to be using the fireplace during their stay and are not happy with the stale smell of smoke that hangs in the air afterward. We have the drapery, rugs and slipcovers cleaned on a regular basis as well.

Taking your complaint of mildew and mold to heart and out of concern for our guests, we have had the room inspected and here is no evidence of mold or mildew in the room. The antique oriental rugs are by their very nature cool to the touch which you may have mistaken for dampness. The hardwood floors beneath would be warped and damaged if they indeed were damp. I can assure you there is no evidence of that being the case.

We did have a problem with the circulating pump and it was taking longer than usual for the hot water to reach the front guest rooms. Unfortunately, the plumber was scheduled to install an entirely new pump just days after your departure and we are sorry for any inconvenience you suffered as a result. Thank you for your comment about being unable to regulate the hot water and we have attended to it as well.

It is our policy to provide extra rolls of toilet paper and kleenex in the rooms when we remake and refresh them. I will address this with housekeeping. And the coffee and hot water for tea are something that we try to check frequently but occasionally we get busy with other more pressing matters and rely upon our guests to let us know if they need refreshing etc. I know that one of our staff responded immediately to your request for fresh coffee and was happy to brew you a fresh pot.

Our central heating could have been adjusted to accommodate your discomfort with the room temperature if you had let the front desk know that the room was chilly.

We pride ourselves on our breakfast and our service and we are sorry it did not meet with your expectations. It is true our dining room only seats a total of 12 but we also have seating in the garden and arrange different seating times in order to accommodate all the guests. Due to the inclement weather we were unable to use the garden and had to improvise at the last minute by setting up a small table in the Lobby. I agree that this was not the best solution. The guests should have been offered an option of having their breakfast in bed or up stairs in the library / Den. It would have been a little less "out there". However, the guests who dined at the table for two in the lobby had no problem with it and choose that over waiting to have breakfast a little later. They were very congenial. We do rely on the guests to let us know if they would like tea instead of coffee. I will definitely take up the concerns over breakfast as our Chef is known for her healthy and delicious entrees such as quiches, frittatas and bread puddings, pears poached in wine and fresh sorbets and hazlenut "Freddo' that is served as a final course and is wonderfully delicious.

Value is always subjective and we certainly want to be competitive. We believe our rates reflect the value of the accommodations, services and location offered our guests in the village of La Jolla, San Diego- San Diego's most luxurious coastal community. However, there are definitely other less expensive as well as more expensive options and a wide variety and selection of accommodations to choose from. Again we are sorry that you did not let us know your misgivings and issues during the 5 day stay so we could have had an opportunity to address them as well as improved the quality of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We loved this retreat tucked away and full of surprises! We didn't have any trouble with parking, which was free, or getting out of bed because the aroma of coffee brewing made it all too easy.
Breakfast was amazing! Meeting and chatting with other guest was also a plus! The staff was equally as nice! We would go down for breakfast and return to a straightened and tidy room!
It was close to everything, so we were able to walk most of the time.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leahj131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I went to La Jolla for our anniversary and stayed at the Bed and Breakfast Inn at La Jolla. We had a wonderful time and truly enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was delicious and filling. The Inn was conveniently located and we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Wonderful getaway!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,088 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
3.4 mi away
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla

Address: 7753 Draper Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Jolla
Price Range: $197 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a Luxury San Diego Bed & Breakfast in the heart of La Jolla only a block from the ocean. Relax in our serene gardens or on the sunny deck. Some of the Deluxe rooms at our Inn in La Jolla feature fireplaces, some ocean views, fresh fruit, flowers, and robes for total comfort. Awaken to unforgettable breakfasts and the ideal location to explore beautiful beaches, shopping and dining and all that La Jolla and San Diego have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bed And Breakfast Inn At La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
The b&b Inn At La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing