We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla
Ranked #2 of 4 La Jolla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
1 review
“Elegant Retreat”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Peacock Salon for three nights in September. We traveled from Maryland for a wedding of a dear friend. We have stayed in many B and B's and this was definitely one of the finest. We really felt pampered. The room and decor of the entire historic home was lovely...very tasteful and comfortable. The breakfasts were delightful, healthy and a great way to start each day. The 9:00 time was perfect...not too early and not too late. We even had time to take a short beach walk before we ate. I especially enjoyed the 5:00 wine and cheese "party"....delicious cheeses, fruits and wine and a lovely presentation. The location of this B and B is outstanding; in walking distance to the coastline, restaurants, cafes, museums, etc. The staff was very attentive and accommodating. We rarely have alone-time away from our 3 1/2 year old and this was the perfect way to spend four precious days together. We highly recommend this place if you're are visiting La Jolla. Also..check out the St. James gift shop in the church next door. Very unique gifts!

Room Tip: Staying in the main house was preferable to us as it gave easier access to the library, dining room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcimilluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    102
    37
    18
    14
See reviews for
45
323
44
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raynham, MA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Based on reviews in tripadvisor we booked 3 nights in The Bed and Breakfast Inn at La Jolla recently. I don't think we've ever had so much fun at breakfast. Our hostess not only informed us about what foods were good for us, but did it in a way that was both engaging and entertaining. The room was pleasant, as was the courtyard. It gives credence to tripadvisor reviews, so I'll join others who recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monrovia, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I just stayed here and it could not have been anymore charming a beautiful! There is so much history in this house, made it very interesting. The rooms are nicely decorated, and the staff very helpful. Wine and cheese in the evening, and a fabulous home cooked breakfast in the morning. Everything within walking distance. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I visited La Jolla, CA and stayed at the Bed and Breakfast Inn at La Jolla. The beds were comfortable, the rooms beautiful and cozy and the staff charming. We had wine and cheese on the patio in the afternoon and a gourmet breakfast in the morning. What a wonderful place to relax and unwind. We will be staying there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I treated my husband to a getaway weekend for his 30th birthday and the B&B Inn at La Jolla did just the trick. The "Garden" room was impeccable and charming. Breakfast was always delicious and the staff was especially accommodating to my vegetarian diet. Daily wine and cheese reception — yes, please!

Walking distance to the beautiful beaches, coves and main drag full of restaurants and shopping, I highly recommend you stay here during your time in La Jolla. So much more intimate and interesting than a cookie cutter hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I loved this place! It is the perfect place to get away. I went there to work on a book, but I also had the most delicious food as well. It is peaceful. A sanctuary for the mind and heart! I stayed in Bird Rock Cottage, which was perfect for writing and thinking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seeinglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Inn for four nights and really enjoyed our time there. The staff was very friendly and helpful any issues. The breakfasts were quite good and the cookies were outstanding. The Inn is strategically located for walking to the beach or into the downtown area. Parking is a bit of a problem but can be overcome easily. There a number of very good restaurants within walking distance from the Inn especially Roppongi. We would consider returning to the Inn sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newbsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marvelme_7, Director of Sales at The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to your return. Our gluten free chocolate cookies ( a secret recipe of our Master Chef Tina ) are as you pointed out quite remarkable. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.3 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
885 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
836 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#13 of 24 in La Jolla
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla

Property: The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla
Address: 7753 Draper Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a Luxury San Diego Bed & Breakfast in the heart of La Jolla only a block from the ocean. Relax in our serene gardens or on the sunny deck. Some of the Deluxe rooms at our Inn in La Jolla feature fireplaces, some ocean views, fresh fruit, flowers, and robes for total comfort. Awaken to unforgettable breakfasts and the ideal location to explore beautiful beaches, shopping and dining and all that La Jolla and San Diego have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelPower so you can book your The Bed & Breakfast Inn at La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bed And Breakfast Inn At La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
The b&b Inn At La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing