We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B across from ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scripps Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scripps Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 La Jolla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B across from ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We came into La Jolla in the middle of the night. Our keys were waiting for us and we got right into our room. We could both see and hear the ocean from our room, very peaceful sleeping to the sound of the surf coming ashore all night. The next morning we had a wonderful breakfast. The pastries and in house granola cereal were both delicious. We upgraded our room during our stay because we liked it there so much. The room was a two bedroom suite with a nice eat in small kitchen and a stunning ocean view. The staff was very nice and helpful, the quality of service made us feel special and really added to our stay. We cannot wait to come back to Scripps Inn.

Room Tip: Call Scripps Inn and ask about the room selections. Very gracious hotel manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shannj07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    70
    13
    9
    9
See reviews for
81
142
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at scripps inn. It is a B & Bers dream, as we were looking for more unique, boutique type accomodations. The hotel manager was gregarious and extremely helpful with regard to everything from where to eat to what to do in la jolla. Unfortunately, we were only able to stay one night because we would have stayed longer. The staff were very friendly and the location relaxing. The beach front atmosphere and convenience of being able to walk into downtown la jolla for dinner was key. The hotel could not have a better locale. There were some renovations going on during our stay which will likely improve the outside appearance of the hotel even more.

Room Tip: Ocean view is likely best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

A lovely hotel,in a fabulous location! We had a spacious two bedroom, 2 bathroom unit, overlooking the ocean, with a pull out sofà in the living room. The decor of the rooms is light and airy, and the rooms include is a small refrigerator, which is convenient for storing drinks. The hotel is clean, and the innkeepers are friendly and helpful. There is limited parking in front of the hotel, but there are some additional parking spaces just beind the hotel. The hotel does not have a breakfast room, but croissants, coffee, and juice is available every morning in the front desk room. Main attractions of La Jolla are in walking distance of the hotel, and you can sit on a bench and enjoy the ocean, which is literally just across the street!! At night, the sound of ocean waves lulls you to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magenta33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed for two nights mid-week and could not have been more satisfied with our stay. The Inn manager was extremely pleasant and welcoming, going above and beyond her call of duty in assisting us with the basics from food choices and things to do to the minute details of calling timely transportation for us and lending a corkscrew (on the spot!) for a glass of wine on the beach. The location of this resort can not be beat and there is good value in the price - literally steps from the coast and a close walk to downtown La Jolla. We were truly upset to leave this place b/c we had such an enjoyable and relaxing time, and the Inn manager made us feel right at home. Would certainly recommend to anyone -

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Scripps Inn is a pleasant B&B/Inn right on the Pacific Ocean.Our room 2 did not have a direct view of the ocean but we could step out onto the porch and have a spectacular view. We took a glass of wine across the street and sat on a city park bench thoroughly enjoying the setting sun. Our room was large and well appointed, however our bathroom was small. The inn is easy walking distance(5-10minutes) to all of the restaurants of LaJolla. The breakfast consists of a few pastries and juice which would not suffice as breakfast for most. Our stay at the Scripps Inn was most enjoyable and the price for it's ocean side location is reasonable

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monami33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Our second time to stay- It's heavenly being right on the prettiest part of the beach. We stayed in a junior suite upstairs the first time. We were in the downstairs junior suite this time, and the squeaky creaky floors and heavy-footed guests were awful. We booked 2 1/2 months ahead asking for upstairs but it was already reserved. Looking for another option on our next visit.

Room Tip: upstairs only, ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 6nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Scripps Inn and couldn't be more thrilled by our experience. Scripps Inn is located about as close to the oceanfront in La Jolla as you can get and it is in a low-traffic area. When we arrived, the hotel staff was helpful, courteous and promptly checked us in. The rooms look to be recently renovated and have very nice amenities: comfortable king-size bed, flat-screen television, hardwood floors, and up-to-date couch (with hideaway bed), and furniture. Even the chairs were thoughtfully fitted with casters to make them easy to move about the room to suit your use which I really liked. The room also included a small refrigerator (although oddly placed in the bathroom). Also I was very impressed by the size of the room, or at least it felt quite big and very open.

Parking is a tad limited and tight at the front of the hotel, although there is parking around back too, and it's easy enough to park along the street too so it's really not a big deal. As for location, the hotel is situated just across the street from the tidepools kinda towards the south side of the heart of the village shopping area. I really like this because when I arrive at my vacation destinations, I like being able to leave the car parked and walk to the shops and restaurants. Scripps Inn location is such that it is within walking distance to everything but it's just removed enough that the hotel is not right in the middle of the busiest area of the village. It makes it very pleasant to retreat back a relaxed, low-key environment at the hotel after dining in the village and listen to the waves crashing on the shore. The hotel also has a panoramic deck seating area to go relax and enjoy the ocean view. We have always loved to get away to the La Jolla Village and now we have found our new favorite place to stay there! We will definitely stay at Scripps Inn again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.4 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#12 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scripps Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scripps Inn

Property: Scripps Inn
Address: 555 Coast Blvd., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scripps Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the shores of Southern California's pristine beaches, Scripps Inn is a charming 14 room inn that offers up one of La Jolla's best kept secrets. A favorite hideaway for both relaxation and romance, we provide stunning ocean views, gentle sea breezes and the relaxing sounds of the rolling surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scripps Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scripps Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing