We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Scripps Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scripps Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 La Jolla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed for two nights mid-week and could not have been more satisfied with our stay. The Inn manager was extremely pleasant and welcoming, going above and beyond her call of duty in assisting us with the basics from food choices and things to do to the minute details of calling timely transportation for us and lending a corkscrew (on the spot!) for a glass of wine on the beach. The location of this resort can not be beat and there is good value in the price - literally steps from the coast and a close walk to downtown La Jolla. We were truly upset to leave this place b/c we had such an enjoyable and relaxing time, and the Inn manager made us feel right at home. Would certainly recommend to anyone -

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    75
    13
    10
    9
See reviews for
88
145
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Scripps Inn is a pleasant B&B/Inn right on the Pacific Ocean.Our room 2 did not have a direct view of the ocean but we could step out onto the porch and have a spectacular view. We took a glass of wine across the street and sat on a city park bench thoroughly enjoying the setting sun. Our room was large and well appointed, however our bathroom was small. The inn is easy walking distance(5-10minutes) to all of the restaurants of LaJolla. The breakfast consists of a few pastries and juice which would not suffice as breakfast for most. Our stay at the Scripps Inn was most enjoyable and the price for it's ocean side location is reasonable

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monami33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Our second time to stay- It's heavenly being right on the prettiest part of the beach. We stayed in a junior suite upstairs the first time. We were in the downstairs junior suite this time, and the squeaky creaky floors and heavy-footed guests were awful. We booked 2 1/2 months ahead asking for upstairs but it was already reserved. Looking for another option on our next visit.

Room Tip: upstairs only, ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 6nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Scripps Inn and couldn't be more thrilled by our experience. Scripps Inn is located about as close to the oceanfront in La Jolla as you can get and it is in a low-traffic area. When we arrived, the hotel staff was helpful, courteous and promptly checked us in. The rooms look to be recently renovated and have very nice amenities: comfortable king-size bed, flat-screen television, hardwood floors, and up-to-date couch (with hideaway bed), and furniture. Even the chairs were thoughtfully fitted with casters to make them easy to move about the room to suit your use which I really liked. The room also included a small refrigerator (although oddly placed in the bathroom). Also I was very impressed by the size of the room, or at least it felt quite big and very open.

Parking is a tad limited and tight at the front of the hotel, although there is parking around back too, and it's easy enough to park along the street too so it's really not a big deal. As for location, the hotel is situated just across the street from the tidepools kinda towards the south side of the heart of the village shopping area. I really like this because when I arrive at my vacation destinations, I like being able to leave the car parked and walk to the shops and restaurants. Scripps Inn location is such that it is within walking distance to everything but it's just removed enough that the hotel is not right in the middle of the busiest area of the village. It makes it very pleasant to retreat back a relaxed, low-key environment at the hotel after dining in the village and listen to the waves crashing on the shore. The hotel also has a panoramic deck seating area to go relax and enjoy the ocean view. We have always loved to get away to the La Jolla Village and now we have found our new favorite place to stay there! We will definitely stay at Scripps Inn again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The old-fashioned room was so and so almost OK, because it was facing the beautiful ocean. We were even thinking to renew our stay next year, but no way! Our Mac was suddenly stolen during the second night from the room's table when we were having dinner at the restaurant nearby.

We called the local police and when he came it was then checked that there was absolutely no signs of the burglary in the windows or in the door, even the hotel's logbook showed that we closed the door properly when leaving to the restaurant. So, what could be the answer: who took our Mac?
Heli & Arto from Helsinki, Finland

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank heli l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We have stayed here at least three times in the past years. We started out years ago in the two bedroom suite facing the ocean. It was fine. The second time was upstairs which was OK except for the sewage smell that I finally bought a room candle to burn. This last time was the last time. We have fallen out of love with Scripps Inn no matter how great the location is. We were given a room downstairs with the only view being a huge SUV that parked outside our window. And there was a vehicle that had graffiti/advertisement all over that stayed parked in the parking lot and never moved the entire time. It would have been nice for the owner to park in the back of the building so that those of us that left periodically could park more conveniently.
The "breakfast" could use a little tweaking. The pastries are just OK, but, the coffee is another question! Wouldn't you think that they would have a restaurant style coffee machine in the office where you pick up your pastries? Instead they have a "Mr Coffee" style that serves only mediocre coffee that they don't keep full during the "breakfast" hours.
The bathroom: the shower was just a trickle no matter how you adjusted the showerhead
the towels were thin and scratchy, but they did have Aveda products!
I'm sorry to have to say this about what COULD be a great little inn.


There was a wedding "after party" that included people clomping up and down the outside stairs and behaving badly. After making it to the top floor, we had to contend with their clomping on the floor overhead.
I watched two ladies check in upstair and the gentleman on "duty" had to be asked several times by them for assistance climbing the stairs with their luggage.

Room Tip: If you stay here, make sure you have an upstairs room to avoid the footfall noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gigi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Verde, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay. Innkeepers are great, rooms are spacious, walk to everything and gear the waves crashing. Not a lot of rooms so book early.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bashi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
948 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Jolla Cove Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
1.4 mi away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#10 of 24 in La Jolla
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scripps Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scripps Inn

Property: Scripps Inn
Address: 555 Coast Blvd S, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scripps Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the shores of Southern California's pristine beaches, Scripps Inn is a charming 14 room inn that offers up one of La Jolla's best kept secrets. A favorite hideaway for both relaxation and romance, we provide stunning ocean views, gentle sea breezes and the relaxing sounds of the rolling surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Scripps Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scripps Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing