We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots to love”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scripps Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scripps Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 La Jolla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots to love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

My girlfriend's mom booked the Scripps Inn for us as a birthday present. We had a great time.

I spent a lot of time trying to think about something to complain about and I finally found it. Across from the super comfortable bed next to the nice dresser, between the two windows with an ocean view and above the working fireplace complete with wood and matches was a print that, well, didn't quite speak to me.

In all seriousness, in some distant architectural history, this place probably was a motel. But now it's a very nicely renovated, well run little Inn with very friendly staff. I'd love to see their next renovation upgrade the locks to ones that are easier to use, but I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Thank you girlfriend's Mom!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Wagner413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    70
    13
    9
    9
See reviews for
81
142
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

We had a one night spring break at this hotel. It was wonderful to sleep with the surf sounds and wake up to ocean smells. The B&B is located right in the best walking spots of La Jolla. It was not cheap but it was a great location, large, clean room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank APS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Bernardo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

We were welcomed by Elaine and Vanessa to this beautiful Inn with breathtaking views of the Pacific. Both ladies were helpful and gave us restaurant suggestions for dinner along with a map of the village. Several restaurants and shops are within walking distance. The room was spacious and contemporary. We opened windows and could hear the ocean waves-very peaceful. A relaxing and beautiful place to getaway to. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcarew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

The Scripps Inn was perfect. We stayed 5 nights in a two bedroom suite that was roomy and very comfortable. The location was wonderful - just across the street from a nice little beach. We could hear the ocean from our room, it was a short walk to town and nice and quiet in the evenings. Breakfast was nice and the staff was just right - not intrusive but very friendly and helpful when needed. We hope to go back and would certainly recommend. Thought it was very well priced for a family of 5.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTAORB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

The Inn is small but we stayed in a junior suite with full ocean views and I wouldn't recommend staying in a cheaper room. We could see partial ocean views from 3 windows. They provided Aveda bath products and firewood and starters for the fireplace. Seaside decor was charming. Walk across a small street right onto the cliffs. Not necessarily the best area for swimming but short beautiful walk to see harbor seals and past that, the caves. Also, a short walk to shops and restaurants. Quiet at night (other that the lovely sound of the waves crashing). Several blocks walk to bus stop which for $5 can buy you an all day bus/trolley pass to San Diego and all over San Diego. Lobby was the size of a closet. When we tried to check in at noon we were told room wouldn't be ready for several hours. I asked if we could leave our luggage while we walked. The woman behind the counter said that she would not leave the lobby and the bags would be safe. When we returned the lobby was empty with the door wide open and our bags unguarded. Nothing was stolen though. Breakfast was a few pastries, tea, oatmeal, and juice, which was tasty and sufficient. Also very close walk to museums. Gorgeous area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatureMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

Old walls - you can hear every move in the adjacent rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dugskil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2009

You can't beat the location, and our room was clean and spacious. Main drawback is there is not a sufficient breakfast. No healthy choices -- pastries and muffins are fat and sugar laden -- and no fresh hot coffee. Staff is friendly and helpful though and location just can't be beat.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swimmern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Jolla hotels
0.4 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Jolla Shores Hotel
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#10 of 24 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scripps Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scripps Inn

Property: Scripps Inn
Address: 555 Coast Blvd., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scripps Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the shores of Southern California's pristine beaches, Scripps Inn is a charming 14 room inn that offers up one of La Jolla's best kept secrets. A favorite hideaway for both relaxation and romance, we provide stunning ocean views, gentle sea breezes and the relaxing sounds of the rolling surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scripps Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scripps Hotel La Jolla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing