We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fresh Fish, Take Out vs. Eat In”

El Pescador Fish Market
Ranked #6 of 1,237 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
NJ-NY
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Fish, Take Out vs. Eat In”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This place is tiny and super informal. It couldn't have been bigger than 60' x 60'. But don't let that deter you - the fish variety is amazing, and it is super fresh. You come here for the food - great quality and everything from yellowfin, to blue fin, swordfish, fresh Idaho trout, Manilla clams, mussels, mahi, large eastern scallops, sashimi, ... Not one complaint about the food. They are known for their fish sandwiches, and their 'plates" include salad and rice. Virtually every plate was $12-$15. And the sandwiches were $10-$12. A true hidden gem.

We ate in. It was sort of like putting a few tables in front of the deli counter at the supermarket! There was a long table that seated 7, and two more that sat 4. It's the carefree type environment where you sit with strangers, and make new friends. There are no waiters, order at the counter and they call you when its ready. There was a steady stream of locals stopping in for the evening. We arrived at 6:30 and were able to get a seat.

Don't miss out on this fabulous market and chance to be "local".

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SayCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    171
    52
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Go Fish !”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

El Pescador Fish Market is a must do in La Jolla. This is a fish market with 3 tables inside and 2 tables outside. The approaching good news is that they are renovating the bldg across the street so they will have more room. These folks not only sell FRESH fish from their market but they also make chowder, salads, sandwiches tacos and fish platters. The prices are quite reasonable. We each had a fish sandwich - sea bass and halibut. WOW. Were they ever good. I wish we had a branch where we live. There is a small area next to the place with a few parking places perpendicular to the street; and there is plenty of on-street parking as well. If it's a nice day, sit outside and watch the locals

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bb0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, texas
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing really. Fresh, varied, great value.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Saw it on trip advisor rated #6 in La Jolla. A real find. Crowded, but worth the wait. Huge array of seafood that's so fresh you can't tell you are in a seafood market, which, actually, you are. Ice-filled, glassed-in counters with variety of mussels, clams, fresh and saltwater fish, smoked fish, sashimi, etc.

And they prepare them for you in a number of ways -- sandwiches, tacos, fabulous steamed mussels. I took 3 business associates last night -- had so many appetizers and entrees -- total price $90. No wine or beer (one reason for the low price). Excellent service. Very upscale seafood served in simplest of cafes, with small wooden tables inside and out on the street.

Don't let the crowd deter you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doctoryes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is fresh!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed in LaJolla to kick back for a couple of days. When returning from a walk to downtown, we saw this very busy restaurant. We stepped in to see what they served. We were surprised to find only several tables available filled with guests eating some very appetizing meals. There are several display counters with all varieties of fresh seafood. You select the seafood and they prepare it for you immediately. We also had claim chowder which was chocked with clams but could have used a bit more seasoning. I had Red Snapper fish tacos and hubby had grilled Sea Bass. They were both YUMMY. They are working on a larger location across the street. While they could use the space to accommodate the steady crowd, I hope bigger does not change this exceptional eatery.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindaGTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Could not have been better!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We ate there on my last night in La Jolla. Had I known had good the food was I would have eaten there at least once more. The fish was fresh and well-prepared and the quantities were plentiful. With a side of salad and rice, the meal was perfect.I also recommend the sandwiches.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJDCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pescador Fish Market also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to El Pescador Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing