We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“El Cholo” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe El Cholo

Cafe El Cholo
Ranked #2 of 147 Restaurants in La Habra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Brea, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“El Cholo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The chips and salsa have no favor,The food is just okay, years ago would go there often but not anymore, only went because of a birthday party in no hurry to return

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 714Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    36
    9
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
211 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good quality Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were a group of four that had an early dinner at El Cholo back in March. We used to frequent this restaurant some 25 years ago, so it was nice to see that they were still in business and serving good food. We picked an outdoor spot which was fine. The waiter was pleasant and professional. We all enjoyed our entrees and drinks. I would recommend that if you are in La Habra or the Whittier area, stop by and dine at El Cholo.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I practically grew up here, and I've seen almost every single one of my birthdays here. The staff is super friendly, the food is authentic and very, very tasty. I highly recommend the freshly made guacamole you can get as an appetizer, they make it right there at your table just for you! Everything is fresh, prices are great, and the brunch is just dang tasty!!!!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank d3vilkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“RECENTLY DISAPPOINTED”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have been a customer here for the past 20 years since I moved to Whittier, but recently I have been disappointed with their food. I have always loved this place, they actually have wonderful green corn tamales. They are my favorite. However, the last couple of times I have been there, the beans were cold, the service was bad and it just was not the same. I will still continue to eat here but they do need to do some improvements. Chicken fajitas are also fabulous and they do have great margaratias - at least in the past they didi.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great margaritas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Try the LA lemonade its a great top shelf margarita!
The filet mignon tacos are a hit as well as the cheese enchiladas and salsa.
This restaurant has been. Local fav for years and is always a stop on our list when we vist SoCal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SF_Bulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe El Cholo also viewed

La Habra, Orange County
La Habra, Orange County
 
La Habra, Orange County
La Habra, Orange County
 

Been to Cafe El Cholo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing