We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another relaxing stay . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ravenwood Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Klamath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ravenwood Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Klamath
los angeles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Another relaxing stay . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I don't know how you could review the proprietors as not-friendly, as they are nothing but. Everybody, including the people cleaning the rooms said good morning, the breakfast is adequate, and the rooms clean and the place is quiet.

This would be our second stay to see Redwood National & State Parks, and although there isn't any food in Klamath, Crescent City isn't far - and Klamath is the perfect spot to set up to see the Redwoods.

As always, can't wait to be back in the tall trees, and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hksjza70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    87
    30
    9
    11
See reviews for
75
121
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. The owner was pleasant and helpful. The rooms were somewhat worn, but very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was adequate and plentiful. Nice views of the ocean about 5 miles away. The motel is not very close to most of the redwood attractions, but we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MamaClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

OK, So I know this is not a 5 star hotel, but the place is wonderful. Nice rooms, great little quiet sitting areas outside and a great breakfast. As a business owner, can see the hard work that has gone into this place to make it special.

Highly recommend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrtonothorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Califonria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just my opinion folks, but I must agree with previous commenters, the folks who own this place are not customer friendly by any stretch of the meaning. We were made to feel so bad that if we had not arrived too late, to travel further down the road to another town we would have done so. I must say the place was very clean and nice but the folks who checked us in made us feel so bad it negated all the rest of the pluses. I do not know why these folks are in the business to start with and two) how they stay in business. If I have a choice I will never stay here again and would travel further down the road to Cresent City or further south to Arcata. As far as food goes and places to eat there are two, a smokey Bar across the street that has hamburgers (the folks here made us feel more at home than the motel did) and a fast food place inside a gas station just as you get off the freeway. Anyway folks if you have a choice I would recommend you bypass this place, up to you but don't say you weren't warned.

By the way there is a nice place to eat breakfast in Trinidad right on the ocean, a small place down by the huge rock outcroping where they launch the boats ask around it's kind of hard to find but we have ate breakfast there twice and the folks are very nice, the view and feeling super and food was just fine. I think it is called seascape or something like that.

Room Tip: Stay here at your own mental peril
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike8623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
200 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Didn't book in advance but we were fine getting a room in the off season. Rate for room was good value especially as breakfast was included. Breakfast was good - cereal, bagels, hard boiled eggs, fruit and yummy cakes! Available in a lovely room which you could go into all day and quite late (11pm I think it was) and have tea, coffee, oatmeal and fruit. Room was very clean and bed very comfortable particularly after long days walking amongst the redwoods. Cheap laundry facilities on site for guest laundry. There's little in the immediate area but great location for getting to the redwoods north and south of Klamath. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again if returned to the area. Hostess was lovely!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyly20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

The room was comfortable and the rate was good. We called from the road, about four hours out, and secured a room without making an official reservation. This was probably due to the fact that they had only one other couple staying there, but it was nice that we knew in advance that we had a place to stay.

There were two negatives about the room: (1) there was a strong disinfectant smell when we first entered the room (it went away after we left the door open for a while) and (2) the electric baseboard heater made an annoying buzzing sound when it was on. We checked with the proprietor and were told "that's what those units do." If you're a light sleeper I would not recommend staying there when the weather is cold.

The breakfast was "expanded continental" which was fresh and sufficient, with lots to choose from.

We only stayed one night but I can see that this would be a good base from which to explore the redwoods.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peltrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Situated in an Indian Reservation area, this small motel is very convenient for exploring the wonderful coast and the redwood forests. It is rather old-fashioned, and not elegant, but comfortable enough for a few days. A simple breakfast was included in the price, and WiFi was available in the rooms. There are not many facilities nearby: a store and good restaurant, a few doubtful-looking eateries, and the petrol station next door seems to double as store, cafe, casino, and bank!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main highway (higher-numbered rooms are nearer the highway).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jldawson45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klamath
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
17.2 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
16.6 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
16.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
17.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenwood Motel

Property: Ravenwood Motel
Address: 151 Klamath Boulevard, P.O. Box 1004, Klamath, CA 95548-1004
Location: United States > California > Klamath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Klamath
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ravenwood Motel Klamath
Ravenwood Hotel Klamath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing