We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem of place. Dont stay anywhere else if you are in this vicinity!!!”
Review of Historic Requa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Historic Requa Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Klamath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2010

This hotel in under new management. I loved their witty comments in their guest information booklets. Also their enthusiasm and and energy they have put into the place. It is in a cul de sac road with just a few other houses up the road. We were serenaded to sleep with frogs. The scenery is fantastic, the views stunning. The whole ambience of the place is extremely helpful. We were greeted well, everything was explained, shown to our rooms. Asked about what we were thinking of doing, given very helpful tips on what to see and where to go. Told to make ourselves at home. The large sitting room, common room has comfy chairs, a fire place, a covered veranda with rocking chairs. There is free tea and coffee on the go all day. Free WiFi. The sitting room is bulging with books on local flora and fauna, guide books, games and books. The new owners are now cooking evening melas for guestsand these were delicious. The breakfasts have lots of choice and again, the staff are charming. The rooms are large, very comfortable with "to die for" huge beds with deep new mattresses and loads of nice touchesin the rooms. Large fluffy towels and fresh flowers. It is very good value for money as the price inclues the large and lavish breakfast. It has good wines. An absolure must and well done to Jan and her family for making this such a wonderful enjoyable stay. PLEASE GO THERE

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kootenaylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 419 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2010

Built in 1914, this B&B is one mile west of U.S. 101 and is on the north bank of the Klamath River. The room that we occupied, #10, was clean, modern and had a nice view of the river. Breakfast is substantial and several choices are available. The two generation family that took over its operation earlier this year do a wonderful job and are very nice. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohio_1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

it was like being in an Agatha Christie novel.... ten visitors from around the world spend their days hiking in the redwood forrest, but in the afternoons head back to a creaky, cozy old building by the side of a river. No cell service, no TVs in the bedrooms. Everyone naturally gathers in the living room around the fire or does puzzles or uses the binoculars to watch birds on the river. Some people open bottles of local wine, which they sell. At dinner time most guests head into the dining room for a meal... there is one item on the menu, different every night. The inn keepers are a three-generation team including two members of the local native tribe and one New Zealand Māori. They're incredibly sweet people.

This either sounds wonderful to you, or horrible. If you're like us, it's a world you thought you missed and can't believe still exists. We worry they will fix it up too much, or that it will become too popular. But we absolutely loved it.

Be warned: there is nothing much around the Requa Inn. They quite honestly tell you in their welcome book that you will not find fine dining in the area, and that's an understatement. But the Inn itself serves wonderful full breakfasts and that simple, single-dish dinner, and that's refreshing in a way too.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honda350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I wanted to be in the redwoods for a big birthday. There was no obvious choice, but Requa seemed like the best that was available. To our amazement, it was one of the most charming and friendly places we have stayed. And we travel a lot. There is little left of Klamath after a flood in the 60's. The Historic Requa Inn is nearing 100 - and probably never looked better. Each room is unique. Ours faced the raging Klamath River, had a king sized bed and a seating area. The price was $149 and included the biggest breakfast you'd ever want to eat, and fresh baked pastries or cookies available all day.
The curmudgeon mentioned in some of the reviews is GONE. The new owner, Jan, grew up in the area and is half Yurok Indian. She is full of stories and is an amazing hostess.
All in all a most memorable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Requa Inn. It was very charming and unique. Very down to earth and unpretentious owners. It's an old hotel and has the kind of quirks that are associated with a building that old but the owners make every effort to provide a comfortable, personal and quiet stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skivler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Everything was wonderful! Awesome view of the Klamath River, near where it meets the Ocean. Excellent hicking. We saw whales. Spent the first night of our trip there. Didn't plan to, but drove an extra hour on the way back to spend the last night there. Best bread & breakfast I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casablanca098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

This past May my husband and I stayed at the Requa Inn for five nights while participating in "Walking the Redwood Coast" a Nature Conservancy sanctioned tour. Although we were thrilled to see the Coastal Redwoods, the Inn turned into the highlight of our vacation with friendly owners, wildlife in clear view from the many windows facing the Klamath River, delicious food, and comfortable rooms. What more could one ask? Well, help finding trails, walls lined with art and books to read, terrific blackberry jam, and I could go on and on. My future travel plans include taking our daughter back to the Historic Requa Inn so she can experience this hidden gem located on Yurok tribal grounds in the center of Redwood National Park.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marilyn000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klamath
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
15.6 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
471 reviews
15.6 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
15.0 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 19 in Crescent City
315 reviews
15.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Requa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Requa Inn

Address: 451 Requa Rd, Klamath, CA 95548-9373
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Klamath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Klamath
Price Range: $127 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Requa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the mouth of Northern California's Klamath River, where the Redwoods meet the sea, the Requa Inn has been a home away from home for over a century. Built from old growth redwood, the 13 room inn features private bathrooms in every guestroom and a sumptuous breakfast cooked to order every morning. Guests also enjoy the best of local organic food in the Inn's restaurant every evening with a fine selection of regional wines and beer. Featuring wi-fi throughout the property, the Historic Requa Inn is the perfect basecamp for a redwood adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Historic Requa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Requa Hotel Klamath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing