We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of Historic Requa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Historic Requa Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Klamath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We pulled into the driveway of the Requa House and my usually jaded teen-aged daughter ran around the wraparound porch yelling and screaming with joy. THAT by itself made this delightful property 5 stars even before we opened the door and entered the house.

The Requa Inn is your typical historic bed and breakfast right by the Klamath River. It has been there for about 100 years and recently changed hands a couple of years ago. The Requa House was a private home that recently was made available for rent through the Inn. It has 3 bedrooms (Q/Q/2T) and is up on the top of a hill with views of the mouth of the Klamath River and the Pacific Ocean for as far as the eye can see.

Some random thoughts from our 3 night stay:

1. It's a beautiful home with great views from the living room and master bedroom.
2. No washer/dryer so don't expect to do laundry
3. Although the kitchen is fully furnished, we were requested not to use the stove. However, we could use the microwave to heat up food or use the utensils to make our salad. The Inn has dinner during the weekends for $45 per person.
4. Hot tub is available for use.
5. If you have trouble with driving up hills, skip this property as the driveway is steep and narrow with a gate you need to navigate through.
6. We didn't expect this, but there is daily housekeeping included.
7. Breakfast was also included and it was cooked to order and delicious. The granola must be excellent because they always seem to be out of it. My daughter has food allergies and they were very happy to accommodate her.
8. One of the rooms has a skylight so put the morning person in that room as the sun (and any lightning) shines right through
9. There's a small TV/DVD player with a selection of movies for use. Games, puzzles (with some pieces missing) and books are also stocked for use.
10. Nice touches like wine glasses and pre-stocked wine ($30/bottle) and soda ($1/can) in the honor bar.
11. Toiletries were nice -- we ended up buying some bottles of shampoo as gifts
12. If you have young kids, keep an eye on them as the hillside is steep and can be dangerous
13. No wifi or cell coverage. No phone service. Great for getting away from it all! But for emergencies, you need to drive 2 minutes to the Inn to use the house phone or free wifi service.
14. Owners are from the Yurok tribe and are hospitable and very gracious.
15. If you want dinner at the Inn, you need to make reservations the day before. It's served family style so it allows you to meet fellow guests from all over the US and the world.
16. Location is right in the middle of Redwood National and State Parks and very close to the National Park attractions like the Klamath Overlook and Coastal Drive. Also close to other commercial attractions like the "Trees of Mystery".

One final note: The house itself is for sale. So you should hurry up and book this property before it's gone!

Room Tip: The Inn has 10 normal B&B rooms but you need to request the Requa House to get the property we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALTippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 419 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

Spent one wonderful night at the Historic Requa Inn on our way from San Francisco to Portland. Our room (#6) was lovely, with a fantastic river view. Breakfast was delicious & plentiful. Sadly, we missed the dinner because the chefs were off that night. We sat on the porch and watched the moon rise over the Klamath... only to see a black bear across the same river the next morning! And the hosts were friendly, knowledgeable and went that extra mile to make sure we had a great stay. Genevieve recommended the great Klamath River Overlook trail when we arrived and then very generously allowed us to hike the wonderful 4mile Coastal Trail by helping us drive our car to the end point... truly above & beyond! Wished we had another night at the Requa Inn...

Room Tip: Room 6 was on a corner and overlooked the river... lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GleniseNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights.
We would love to return.
The place is relaxed and peaceful however the icing on the cake is a fantastic meal offered 5 times a week by the gastranaught team. .....wonderful and fantastic.
Local ingredients served with complementary wines make this a perfect stopover,
I can't speak highly enough of the food and service here.
Thank you for restoring my faith in the hotel trade !!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redhorsegoggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I've seen this hotel from 101 dozens of times as I drove to and from the Bay Area. It is a little better than halfway from the Columbia Gorge to the Bay Area. A perfect place to stop and put up your feet.
It's off the highway on the Klamath River near it's mouth and it's another cool old hotel. I stayed there last summer for one night. The rooms are small, but comfortable with a bathroom. Great sitting room with a view out over the river. I heard grey whales have been seen in the river. Very scenic. Dining room is adjoining the sitting room. Good food. The owners are very nice and hospitable. A definite do again for maybe longer!

Room Tip: Book early enough for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cerce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The best thing about this hotel are the views of the Klamath River just across the street. I will remember the friendly staff, hearty breakfasts, and watching the river go by from the rocking chairs on the front porch. Our room faced the road and I worried it would be noisy, but it wasn't. They do have ear plugs as the historic Inn has thin walls and they warn you not to spill your secrets lest the guy in the room next door will hear. The lobby is comfy and not fussy or pretentious. We enjoyed a private hot tub--you can sign up in half hour segments. Breakfast is served in the roomy breakfast room and we enjoy steel oats, fresh fruits, scrambled eggs, and toast. A hearty start to our morning drive through the redwoods. Dinner was closed, unfortunately, so we found a steak place not too far away. There are casinos, too...not far away if you like to gamble. A short drive up the hill from the inn is a fabulous scenic vista of the coast line where the river meets the ocean. Our room was spacious, the bed comfy, and the bathroom clean--and I'm very fussy about that.

Room Tip: Rooms on the River side overlook the Klamath, but also the road. Traffic was very light, but you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripTalkHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed for one night with two children. The rooms are beautifully furnished and the sitting room by the fireplace and the dining areas are wonderful spaces to relax in. The innkeepers are warm and gracious. We had two adjoining rooms, sharing one bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were very clean. Breakfast, which was a la carte, was delicious. Have the organic eggs and the smoothie. The inn exudes history and character and is simply a wonderful place to unwind. The scenery is fantastic and you are within half an hour of many hikes in the redwood forests.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mags5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We traveled from San Franciso up the coast - took advice from Trip advisor to stay at this inn and wer are sure glad we did. The location can't be beat - so near the Redwood National parks. Great lookout at the top of the hill for whale watching and coastal hiking. The folks at the inn are truly gracious and friendly. The dinner is not to be missed. We felt like very special guests and the food was fantastic.

Room Tip: The river view rooms would be my choice again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjh789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klamath
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
15.6 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#1 of 19 in Crescent City
469 reviews
15.6 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#16 of 19 in Crescent City
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
15.0 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#7 of 19 in Crescent City
315 reviews
15.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Requa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Requa Inn

Address: 451 Requa Rd, Klamath, CA 95548-9373
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Klamath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Klamath
Price Range: $127 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Requa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the mouth of Northern California's Klamath River, where the Redwoods meet the sea, the Requa Inn has been a home away from home for over a century. Built from old growth redwood, the 13 room inn features private bathrooms in every guestroom and a sumptuous breakfast cooked to order every morning. Guests also enjoy the best of local organic food in the Inn's restaurant every evening with a fine selection of regional wines and beer. Featuring wi-fi throughout the property, the Historic Requa Inn is the perfect basecamp for a redwood adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Historic Requa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Requa Hotel Klamath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing