We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Amazing!”
Review of Historic Requa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Historic Requa Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Klamath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I don't want to repeat what previous reviewers have said already, just confirm the great reviews. This place is wonderful. Off the main road, overlooking the river, good room, amazing breakfast. But the best part are the inn keepers who are so helpful, excited to see you and full of information about the area. Wish we would have stayed longer.

A few tips: don't get your hopes up about the hot tub, it sits in the back of the inn next to the kitchen, so you smell kitchen exhaust. Kind of unpleasant. And ask for a room away from the kitchen, those rooms are noisier. We had a room on the northwest corner, couldn't see the river, but the it was very peaceful, away from the street. have dinner at the inn, excellent California kitchen. We drove up the road from the inn and hiked to the beach, very nice!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ocean35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for Historic Requa Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 419 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the inn along with a few friends. What a wonderful place! It's located on a small hill overlooking the Klamath River. The inn is in an old historic building with the original hardwood floors, great views, and comfy chairs, books, games, etc. in the common area. We signed up for dinner which was really tasty and everything was made from local fresh ingredients including the corn soup and salmon. Our room was just beautiful and super clean. The bed was very comfortable and the down comforter was perfect for the cool evening. The inn is fairly small and was sold-out the night we were there but it did not feel at all crowded. We will return again when we have time to stay longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a claw foot tub.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BPPEREZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is a great B&B as can be inferred by how long in advance you need to book to get a room. It's a very old building that has been restored and updated quite well while still leaving it's heritage intact. The staff are very charming and helpful. There is a main room/lobby with views of the bay/river, card/game tables, couches and a fireplace where many people tend to congregate in the evenings. The room we had was quite large with a queen bed that was quite high off the ground (keepping with higher end B&B custom) and also had a sitting area. No TV, No Radio, No Clock - but then again in this sort of place who needs one. The bathroom was a bit small as the building was built before indoor plumbing and they had to shoe in bathrooms into space that had been designed for other purposes. In our case, they walled off the end of the main building hallway to make a private bathroom for our room. I'm sure other rooms used closets or somesuch.

We booked late (only a month in advance) and the only room they had faced the hillside. However at least half the rooms face the river and are a bit more expensive. Requa, the ex-town where this inn is located is a mile or two off of US-101 so not hard to get to. However, there is no longer a town there as it has succumbed to various floods and fires over the years. The Inn serves dinner if you let them know in advance but if you go off to find a restaurant on your own, expect to go quite a ways into Klamath to find one. We were arriving late so did not partake of the dinner in the Inn. Ohter guests who had dinned there said it was great.

The included full breakfast was a sit down, waiter service, order off a small menu affair in a lovely dinning room with morning views of the river. The food was very good and well prepared. Don't expect a vast choice of items but they did have a reasonable selection.

They have a hot tub in the back.

Very good value indeed if you want to get away from it all for a day or two and just relax.

PS: If you're new to the area and want to see great Redwoods, ask them about the Stout Grove in Jedediah Smith Sate Park. They'll tell you how to enter via Howland Hill Rd Which is an incredible drive on a well maintained dirt road through a thick redwood forest - one of the best we've been to (couple of photos attached)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Califdan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We had a group of fifteen people. Some of us stayed at the bed & breakfast and some of camped down the road. The dinner was the best I had in eight days, the salmon and salad was excellent. The owners were warm, friendly and the staff were all so kind.

I would highly recommend staying at this Bed and Breakfast and make a weeks vacation out of it. The bike trails are unbelievable, spectacular view of the Klamath River, central location to see the redwoods and one mile to the ocean.

Loved the place and the people!!!

JW

Room Tip: beautiful rooms
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selldelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

If you want to stay somewhere totally relaxing, offering you a great breakfast to set you up for the day and the opportunity to watch King Salmon and seals as you eat dinner then this is the place for you.

We arrived after a huge drive, very tired and were immediately wrapped up in a tranquil 'blanket' at Requa. Beautiful room, peace, quiet, abundant nature, hot tub you could book for a private session, they seem to have forgotten nothing here. absolutely loved it!

Thank you to the owners and staff for a very special stay, room 10 is amazing by the way.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polli396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

awesome B&B! The family that owns it threw together a nice booklet telling you all about the history, things to do, places to eat, and hints about staying there (like the walls are a little thin, so don't share any secrets!) They were very accomodating when we said we might have to check in late (we didn't have to, but it's good to know we could have). They have an outdoor hot tub and you can schedule a time to use it...they even provide the beach towels. The food was fabulous, and my fiance even discovered, or should I say "devoured" the evening-snacks that they put out in the common room. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We loved this place! We stayed here two nights in two different rooms and loved them both. The rooms were clean (and I'm picky) and the beds were super comfy. The owners are welcoming and breakfast and dinner were amazing. I would definitely come back here again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luvs2travel5123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klamath
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Klamath Redwood Nt'l Park Area
15.6 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 19 in Crescent City
461 reviews
15.6 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 19 in Crescent City
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
15.0 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 19 in Crescent City
311 reviews
15.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Requa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Requa Inn

Address: 451 Requa Rd, Klamath, CA 95548-9373
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Klamath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Klamath
Price Range: $127 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Requa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the mouth of Northern California's Klamath River, where the Redwoods meet the sea, the Requa Inn has been a home away from home for over a century. Built from old growth redwood, the 13 room inn features private bathrooms in every guestroom and a sumptuous breakfast cooked to order every morning. Guests also enjoy the best of local organic food in the Inn's restaurant every evening with a fine selection of regional wines and beer. Featuring wi-fi throughout the property, the Historic Requa Inn is the perfect basecamp for a redwood adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Historic Requa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Requa Hotel Klamath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing