We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is it going downhill or making its way back?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Klamath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kamp Klamath RV Park
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The office building burned to the ground in 2011 and all that is left is the stone chimney. As of 2012, the office and gift store are in a makeshift room and the washer/dryer is out in the open. Looks very bad. Nothing has been rebuilt yet -- something about "no insurance".

It feels like Kamp Klamath is at the crossroads. We stayed here 2 years ago and loved it. Now, we don't know -- hence the 3 stars. The rest of the property still looks lovely and the location still can't be beat (in Redwood National Park very close to the Klamath River). It's a campground so it's rustic and they do cater a lot to fishermen here for the salmon. But it earned its stars on Tripadvisor.

So I can't decide. Has the fire created a downward spiral and the place becomes a dump? Or should we continue to support this gem of a campground so that it will rebuild and come back as strong as before?

But would I recommend it now? With reservations. The guy in the office who helped us had liquor on his breath. The office is now a desk with reservation cards out in the open. If the fire happened last month, I can understand. But it has been one year. And the awesome Saturday BBQ during the summer? Cancelled when I was there because of lack of participation (in the middle of July).

I'm hoping they recover from this fire and rebuild. But until then, know that this is not the same place it was before the fire.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank ALTippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 121 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

RV sites: Dirt with tufts of grass.
Bathrooms & Showers: FILTHY and no hot water.
Cafe and store: Burned to the ground a year ago.
Laundry: washer and dryer sitting on the ground outside a small office and store.
Klamath river: Not anywhere you can see it. A mile and a half away.
Campfires: $15 for a small pile of wood.
Hosts: Very courteous and welcoming. The best thing about this place.
I think the reason why people have rated this place so high, is that there doesn't seem to be many rules, lots of freedom with dogs, noise, cleaning up after yourself, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KathyV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We discovered that Kamp Klamath is protected from the wind and fog that plague other RV parks in the area. Yet it's near the mouth of the Klamath River where there were gray whales and sea lions. The river is within walking distance, and the chinook salmon run is supposed to be huge this summer. The campground staff members were very friendly and helpful, directing us to places where we could see overlook the ocean, see the redwood forests, and view elk herds.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank june_ocala_fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

It's like camping in the forest with amenities. Love the setting, tall trees and grass, away from the main highway. Yeah, it can use some improvement but for camping not a 5 star hotel accomodation, it is a 5 star. So if you don't like the untidiness of the outdoor, stay in a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beccabeck44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Kamp Klamath is the best. Quiet, off the highway... and the Saturday night dinner with live music (local) is the best. Salmon and Chicken and marshmallows around a campfire for the kids.

Thank SalemCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Family was traveling across North West, staying at camp sites and motels. Stopped at park and found it away from noise, very few insects. Great grass for camping on. Was great location for sightseeing on the coast. Found that many whales are near shore and at entrance to River. Located local indians who were more than willing to sell fresh Salmon at about $1.00 per pound. Be ready to barbeque 15 + pounds of fish, or have away to store it.
Ended up staying for a week. Was a great place and can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

This RV park was delightful - the staff were extremely helpful. Douglas, the manager, set us up for satellite TV reception so we could watch a football game we didn't want to miss; Teresa and Mike of the Park staff treated us to homemade brownies, a great time conversing around the campfire, and even fresh-laid chicken eggs for breakfast. Located right at the mouth of the Klamath River it is centrally located to the attractions of beaches, fishing, and hiking in Redwood National Park. Douglas even gave us a free lift up to the Flint Ridge hiking trail nearby so we wouldn't have to leave our vehicle there. If you are a fisherman, the park even has its own smoker to prepare your catch.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fulltimer3256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kamp Klamath RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamp Klamath RV Park

Address: 1661 West Klamath Beach Road, P. O. Box 99, Klamath, CA 95548
Location: United States > California > Klamath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Klamath
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Kamp Klamath Rv Park Hotel Klamath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing