We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Overlook for whale watching, plus challenging hike for those so inclined” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Requa Road

Requa Road
Ranked #5 of 14 things to do in Klamath
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Beautiful Overlook for whale watching, plus challenging hike for those so inclined”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Requa Road leads to an overlook where you can see the mouth of the mighty Klamath River. It's also a place where you're likely to see migrating whales (assuming you are not fogged in). There are no facilities at the overlook so if you need to, you can stop by the Requa Inn along the way for a bathroom break.

There's also a trail down to another observation point where you can have a better view. My 70 year old mother disappeared on that trail and I had to send my teenager after her. An hour later, they both returned and she had the best time of her life -- though she had to be pushed up the steep trail at some point. The observation point looks so small (see photo) but the trail is doable.

Bring binoculars!! And beware, whale watching is addicting. Before you know it -- you would have spent an hour at the overlook.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ALTippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    24
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We got lucky and there was a Ranger there to answer questions. We didn't see any whales. He told us that they had been seen most days, but not the day we were there. He said to measure how far out to look by holding your hand with your fingers together thumb pointing up. If your pinky touches the coast, the whales will be within the coast and your pointer finger. Basically, they are pretty close to shore. He also told us a lot about the salmon fishing going on in the mouth of the river. Great stop.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank xtianh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Requa Road is a good overlook spot, but if you want to see seals and sea lions, Drive down on the Klamath Beach Road and walk on the beach to the Mouth of the Klamath.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasSnowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonewall, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“No whales but a clear evening to view the ocean.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We hear that 90 percent of the time the clouds are so thick you can see the ocean. Our day seemed pretty sunny so we decided to take our chances and were rewarded with a wonderful view of the coast. We looked for the resident whales but they weren't showing themselves when we were there.

Helpful?
Thank LKStonewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Make the time for this beautiful view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Not a fan of winding high roads but travel them anyway to see the beauty. Saying this in case people get scared it might be too much-it is not. This is so beautiful that you will not want to miss if in the area. It is close to the main road so just a small detour worth taking. You will not regret it. You might see sea lions or whales. Even if you do not the view is spectacular. Please do not pass it up.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YosemiteTraveler603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Requa Road also viewed

 

Been to Requa Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing