We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of Tour-Through Tree

Tour-Through Tree
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Klamath
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This is something that you definitely have to appreciate the novelty of. Its really just a tree that you drive through - as the name states. But if the giant redwood trees fascinate you then, this would be interesting to you. Its privately owned, since it sits on someone's personal land, and costs $5 to enter. Its smaller than the famous Chandelier Tree, but from reading reviews about that one we decided to skip the Chandelier Tree and check out the Tour Thru Tree instead. There was virtually no wait to go through, and you can take as much time as you want to take pictures. So if you want to say that you drove through a Redwood tree then definitely check this out. If the idea of driving through a tree is of no interest to you, then this would probably bore you. The whole experience takes about 5 minutes. Maybe 10 if you take a lot of pictures. For me though, the novelty was worth it because it was the first time in my life I had ever seen a tree that huge!

The lady who owns the tree was incredibly nice, and nice people always make experiences more positive for me.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Brooklet425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    87
    70
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Anti-Climactic”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The $5 honor system thing is true, and we went early in the morning and only saw another car and two motorcycles. It was disappointing, and not what I expected, but we still stopped for pictures and drove thru it...at least we can say we did it, right?!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California
Level Contributor
345 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
“Less crowded than more "famous" tree.”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This drive-thru tree is one of at least three others along the Redwood Highway and it seems to be less crowded than the others. It is the farthest north of the tree "attractions". We were there in the off season and had the place to ourselves in the afternoon. Payment of $5 was on the honor system, drop it in the box and you're on your way. This isn't the most impressive of the three trees, but it serves its purpose as a roadside attraction. It is literally in someone's back yard, so don't expect too much. The drive up is a bit steep, but we managed to get through the tree in a Toyota RAV4 SUV with no problems. It takes just a few minutes to see it. It is just off the highway with a big sign pointing the way and easy to get to.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank davegidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
165 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“It is just what it says and nothing more”
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Five bucks, drive your car through a tree... It was fine but nothing fabilous

Helpful?
Thank Granolamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Living drive thru tree”
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Small cars only
Open all hours has an after hours box for entry fee

Helpful?
Thank RSB_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tour-Through Tree also viewed

 

Been to Tour-Through Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing