We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are you kidding?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Club at Kirkwood Mountain Resort
Reviewed March 18, 2007

I can't believe how good these reviews are! This place was a dump-- for $350 a night. Location, awesome, and I love Kirkwood, but I've never stayed in a room with a more uncomfortable/ unacceptable bed/ sheets/ pillows/ shower pressure/ etc. Absolutely one/ two star accomodations. So...very...uncomfortable.

I think the prior reviews have to be from property/ timeshare owners trying to promote their property. We got locked out of our room three times because the keys don't work; spent 2 hours waiting in a 36 hour period. Response from nice (but not overly hospitable) kids working there was "this happens all the time, we keep asking them to change all the locks." Finally they made us 5 keys, including a Master key-- are you kidding me? Good thing we're honest.

We asked if housekeeping was coming-- couldn't get in because of the lock issue-- front desk response-- "Well, what do you need?" $350 a night and they make you feel bad for requesting fresh towels and a bed freshning? Jeez. They came and din't even replace the dirty water glasses, towels, etc, but we were just over being cranky and said oh well.

The bed was a squeaky, uncomfortable Murphy bed; we thought it was bad until we heard people in the lobby complaining they paid $350/ night for a trundle bed. (I'm not talking spare/ kids bed, I'm talking ONLY bed). And you couldn't see the TV from bed-- not a big deal, but weird, right?

So I see reviews all the time that are hard on the Sheratons/ institutions and I think they are harsh. I can say every Sheraton/Mariott/ even Best Western I've ever stayed at blows the water out of these accomodations.

So I highly recommend skiing Kirkwood, and as a fan of the resort feel a liitle bad knocking this place, but It blows me away that Mountain Club can get a steep rate for such cheap accomodations. I almost hope they get bought by one of the big guys, because this hotel has no quality control in place.

It would be one star, but the location was incredible. I do love the ski in/ ski out, for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DDR94523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 40 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2007

A nice place considering how small and remote Kirkwood is. We got a studio and it was really nice and clean with nice new furniture. The location is great because your right next to the main lifts and can easily get to the front or back side of the mountain for skiing. The resort can be a bit deserted and doesn't have much nightlife so be sure to get out early. We missed last call for dinner in the one restaurant open and it was only 8pm! Kirkwood isn't as deluxe as squaw or heavenly so if your looking for super deluxe accommodations then go elsewhere. But if your into skiing it's the way to go. Its a really nice place to stay and I stay here again in a second.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chuckaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2005

My Husband and I stayed 2 nights in the Mountain Club @ Kirkwood for our 1 year anniversary...So Quiet and Peaceful...Room was on the lift side, mountain view and 2nd level...great accommodations...with a full kitchen...excellent getaway for Summer...away from the crowds of Tahoe.

We did an 8-mile hike, rode the ski lift (operates on weekends), there was mountainbiking, general store, limited restaurants...but fantastic service at the Bar/Grill and plenty of food...

They were hosting a wedding and the group service set-up looked lovely and organized...group seemed to be about 100 guests for the meadow ceremony. Beautiful wildflowers !!!

The pool area was clean and the fitness center & outdoor spa was private...loved the steam room!!!

As avid skiers, we've never been to Kirkwood...but will definetly return this year when the snow falls...

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ktrmeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
326
Reviewed December 8, 2004

I stayed at the Mountain Club with my wife and two little daughters (4&6). We stayed Sunday and Monday right before thanksgiving. The snow turned out to be great. We stayed in the smallest room (hotel style) with two queen beds with a fridge and a microwave. The building in only a year or two old. They have larger rooms up to 3 bedroom. The building was right at the bottom of the lifts. There is a place to store skis on the first floor with a door that opens right out to the bottom of the lifts. Literally the lift line was about 30 feet from the door. It was so convenient to be so close to the lifts. We were able to take ski breaks with our kids in our room since it was so convenient. However, the restaurant choices at night were limited. There was a kid friendly sports bar accross the street and the Kirkwood Inn about 2 miles away. On the weekends another restaurant ("Off the wall") is open. All in all it was a very nice place to stay with incredibly convenient access to the lifts.

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
Thank Carolina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones que dan a la montaña en los pisos de arriba obviamente se aprecia mas la vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank claudiocasal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Delfisav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Club at Kirkwood Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Club at Kirkwood Mountain Resort

Address: Kirkwood, CA
Location: United States > California > Amador County > Kirkwood
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kirkwood
Price Range: $212 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Club at Kirkwood Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain Club at Kirkwood Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Club At Kirkwood Mountain Resort Hotel Kirkwood
Mountain Hotel Kirkwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing