We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good Chinese food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Hong Kong Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sun Hong Kong Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 42 Restaurants in Kingsburg
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Hanford, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pretty good Chinese food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Everyone in Kingsburg seems to get the L9 lunch special. It's the orange chicken. It's the best thing on the menu and it's pretty cheap. They have lots to choose from and if you have the gold card,you get 10%off. The service isn't that great. They seem to be pretty unfriendly alot of the time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jjnlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsburg, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the first time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I both got sick after eating. The food was not hot. My son got sick there on a previous visit. We thought that we would try it one more time. (NO MORE)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyMendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Chinese -- For Kingsburg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Now I can not say that I would expect people to travel to Kingsburg CA for chinese food, but this little chinese cafe on the main street of Kingsburg was good. My dish was hot and fresh with very good flavor (had the lemon chicken lunch special). It was basically full for the lunch crowd, so I don't think I happened to hit a "good" day. If you are in Kingsburg and looking for some Chinese, I would highly recommend it. It was good -- not great. But I would also not make a special trip just to eat here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Chinese around.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

My favorite chinese restaurant in central california!! Asparagus chicken is outstanding. Kung pao chicken is my personal favorite. Mu shu dishes very good as well. Lunch and dinner special menu is a lot of food for the money. A surprise in the "little Swedish town" of Kingsburg.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbabwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathey's Valley, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“No taste, don't waste your time coming here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Stopped in here after trying to go to King's Buffet. Kings Buffet had a sign on the freeway, but couldn't find it and people told me it had been closed for years. They directed me here--bad move. Dark dingy restaurant, zero atmosphere, uninterested waitress, bathroom was filthy. Ordered Kung Pao Chicken, should have been called Kung Pao Onion--more onions than chicken. And the chicken that was in there was totally tasteless and Kung Pao is supposed to be spicy--NOT. This dish was very bland and tasteless and loaded with onions, peppers, etc. Hardly any peanuts either. It was filling with a nice sized portion, but there was ZERO taste. I wouldn't recommend anyone coming here.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ynp-CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Hong Kong Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sun Hong Kong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing