We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bang for your buck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ferrari's Crown Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kings Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Ferrari's Crown Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 260 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

"Ferrari's Crown Resort" is actually Crown Motel. It is on the beach. If you have children, it's perfect. If you are an older couple, as we are, I would recommend staying elsewhere. We stayed a week in room 248. Maid staff excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review us. It is true that during the summer at the Crown, there are generally a number of families here --- like any summer beach town right on the water. We do have a number of senior regulars in the summer that don’t come with children but greatly enjoy the Crown. I will say for those who want a more tranquil visit, after August 12 when school is in session the Crown is a different place. We are coming into one of the best times of year to visit the Crown.

Whether we are anything special is a matter of opinion that we leave to others. I know for the many families, couples and individuals that return year to year of as many as 50 years, most would feel we are something unique.

Nice to hear the compliment about our housekeepers. The housekeeper that did this room for 5-6 of the days has been with us for over 35 years and only missed one day’s work – and that is something special!!

Thanks again for staying at the Crown,

Dave Ferrari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We wanted to spend a night in North Lake Tahoe, but did not book a room in advance. We were pleasantly surprised in that the hotel had one room left when we called. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, and the shower had good water pressure. Location was great within walking distance to several restaurants as well as fast food places. Their was a rite aide across the beach for forgotten items. Traffic noise was a bit loud in that the only room left was facing the road. And the wifi did not work well at all.

The front staff were friendly and helpful. They had direct access to the beach behind them which was nice. They had chairs set out so one could go from room to view the sunset. Breakfast consisted of coffee, bagels, bread, and yogurt. Breakfast room was a bit small, but it worked. Most of the guest took breakfast to their rooms, ate on an outdoor patio or the beach.

Would definitely stay again, but would book ahead and ask for a room on the beach side.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thanks for the taking the time to review the Crown. We really try to be a clean, comfortable place. We make sure that our resort/motel that has seen four generations of great guests and Ferrari family management continues to provide a positive experience for all that pass through.

Dave Ferrari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is not a 5 star resort, but if you're looking for a great place to stay on Lake Tahoe this is it. Many rooms face the lake and the prices go down after summer. The room are clean and many have fireplaces, kitchens, etc. The continental breakfast is filling although you won't find anything fancy. They have bagels, great cinnamon bread, oatmeal, juice, cereal, etc. After breakfast you can walk on Kings Beach, there's sometimes a Farmers Market just down the road. Great restaurants within walking distance. The hotel was quiet, beds okay, just don't get room 106 unless they've shoved the washing machine off the wall, we woke up twice to it banging our wall, rude awakening for sure. We're returning (not to room 106) because the September prices are great and the place has a wonderful beach to walk. Also, two swimming pools, and indoor/outdoor hot tubs.

Room Tip: Try for lake front, do NOT take room 106 unless they've moved the washing machine or you like to...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventurer_Librarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We certainly are not a 5 star property but as you described we are in a great location and as close to Lake Tahoe as one can get. (the deck on 240 building is right at high water mark!)

We have informed staff and family not to use washer in the early mornings or evening by #6. Interesting that it hasn't been a problem and we have had a washer there for over 50 years but you aren't first to complain this summer. We have a call in to get the washer checked.

Thanks again and we think your description of our continental breakfast is right on the mark. We are are doing what we can with a very small kitchen area to work in. We expanded the room by 1/3 this summer and have added as much fridge space as we can.

Dave Ferrari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Kings Beach is an unusual place. It is often described as "rustic" in travel guides which is a nice way of saying old. The motels look like they are right out of the 1950s, including this motel. It is actually two motels that are now under one ownership. Here are the pros: Excellent location right on the lake, great for kids with a sand beach, kept very clean, two swimming pools and hot tubs, several lake-front decks, friendly atmosphere. One thing we especially loved is that the motel has rules that they actually enforce. For example, the pools close down at 10:00 and no loud noises (i.e. parties) on the decks after 10:00. Cons: the bathroom in our unit was the size of a small closet and there was no hook on the back of the door, even though the unit was very clean, the tables on the deck were not cleaned very often (we would see the same spilled food day after day), the wifi would not work on the decks. As long as your prepared for a vintage vacation, you will love this place. If you are expecting a modern motel, you might be disappointed. It is an especially great place for children. We are empty nesters and we enjoyed watching the children have a blast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

This is an ”on point” review. We do close pools early and guests almost always respect the quiet time after 10. Our bad for not cleaning the tables on the decks. Will inform staff on that as they should be done every morning. I see lots of people outside on their mobile devices so not sure on this issue. We have worked hard on our wifi this year including adding a 4th router/antennae and our capacity twice. It does seem that when we are full, at certain times of day, some people can’t get on. We continue to work on this. We can say that we have had a number of families that can get on with one or two of their devices and not another device so are not sure if that is our problem or the external internet.

Will agree that some of our bathrooms are pretty small. We did some work in the 100s to enlarge them by 2 feet but still pretty small. Rooms on the lakeside have bigger bathrooms and some including extra sink outside bathroom.

Thanks again for the review. It is true that many of the hotels/motels at Lake Tahoe are pre 1970. (our newest building was 1967 oldest 1955) Much of this comes from tough building restrictions at the Lake, cost of new construction, and lower year round occupancy. Most new construction has taken out old lodging places like ours and been replaced with new, much larger rooms/houses that have some element of ownership if not outright condos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This property sits in somewhat dowdy Kings Beach on GORGEOUS Lake Tahoe. Open to serve the 1960 Olympics it is simple, but lovingly maintained by caring staff. Very family friendly and a great value. Beware though, the Cellular phone signal strength is Kings Beach is not great to start with, and the motel is built of brick, so mobile device service can be poor to horrible (I used AT&T and Sprint). The hotel has WiFi, but I could only get it to work well when I stood outside in front of the linen closet. For a family there to play in and around the lake, perhaps not a big deal, but on this my second visit I found it frustrating. I'll go back again, but be advised about the connectivity... This is the kind of property folks return to again and again and it is a very good value.

Room Tip: There is a huge variation in the rooms and the website and the staff are very helpful. The second t...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Agree we have lots of types of rooms. It is a result of being part of what were originally three lodging establishments built at different times. It is a good problem to have as we can accommodate just about any size group and/or budget. There are not many places that have the access to the Lake that we do. Cell phone can be tough for some providers in Kings Beach. ATT works well as I get on most anywhere and some others not so well. Not nearly as bad as it used to be, but not as good as in metropolitan areas. Again, we continue to work on our wifi. I does seem to be a bit like Cell phone service in that some devices work better than others. We did add another router on the lakeside and have had better success in the brick building.

Thanks for taking the time to review us.

Dave Ferrari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

When I made reservations, I was told we were getting a queen bed, A/C, and a view of Lake Tahoe. What we got: a 12ft X 12ft box with NO A/C...a room with NO View except of the parking lot...a twin and full size bed: the bed was just springs and killed my back, neck and head...a broken bathroom faucet, a small shower...an old RCA TV that came in fuzzy, and a guy at the front desk who didn't care. We had the tiny bathroom window and window by the door open ALL NIGHT and the place never cooled down. We were sweltering and very uncomfortable on such a small, uncomfortable bed. Even though our reservations were paid for two nights, we left after the first night. I would rather drive all night and go home than stay in that room again.
The private beach was nice, though. "Private" meaning: tons of people out! :)

This place hasn't been updated (beds, TV, ANYTHING) since the 80s. FYI. No restaurant within walking distance. If you want a really good restaurant, drive about 10 minutes West to Carnelian Bay to Gar Woods! EXCELLENT FOOD!

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you check in. Seriously. They'll give you the crappiest room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Without a room # it is hard to look back at this reservation. In the 21 rooms we have with AC, only two have a single queen and the price difference is 70-80 dollars so sometimes that influences what room people ultimately choose in booking a room. We do know the area of the room descibed and will check the faucets and TVs. Since we have been full nearly every night this summer, most people have found these standard rooms OK. I will say that when it is warmer up here, rooms are more uncomfortable. There is very little AC in the North Tahoe area. We are fortunate that my folks had the foresight in 1967 to put it in during our last construction phase. Given the lack of use of those AC units, most are still working to this day. We have been here 58 years and have guests returning for nearly that long. Also, we do have a great beach and unless the Lake is completely full, there is more than enough room for anyone to find good space. Summer in Tahoe – not too many better places to be at the beach.

Dave Ferrari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kings Beach
0.5 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
302 reviews
20.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,076 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
1.3 mi away
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
244 reviews
1.1 mi away
Firelite Lodge
Firelite Lodge
#5 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrari's Crown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrari's Crown Resort

Address: 8200 N. Lake Blvd., Kings Beach, CA 96143 (Formerly the Gold Crest Resort)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Kings Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kings Beach
Price Range: $89 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ferrari's Crown Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ferrari's Crown Resort, proud to be your "Home Away From Home" for over half a century. We have been family owned and operated since 1957. Centrally located in North Lake Tahoe, we have a private beach, continental breakfast, hot tubs, pools, discount lift tickets and more. Ferrari's Crown is located minutes away from skiing and snowboarding, kayaking, hiking, biking, horseback riding, golfing, casinos and all that North Lake Tahoe has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ferrari's Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferrari`s Crown Hotel Kings Beach
Ferraris Crown Hotel
Ferraris Crown Kings Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing