We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Stay Here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ferrari's Crown Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ferrari's Crown Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kings Beach
Certificate of Excellence
arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stay Here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great family stay right on the beach with a 2 bedroom suite, fireplace, comfortable beds, patio with umbrella table and chairs, 2 hot tubs with view of lake, 2 heated pools, kayak rentals next door, restaurants you can walk to, breakfast, free wifi and QUIET. The rooms with lake views have full length windows to enjoy the incredible view of the lake. If you can afford the extra $, get a lake front room. All the front desk staff go over and beyond. My husband had a bad toothache and we were given a few recommendations of dentists in the area, within walking distance. Thank you ! Everything worked out great! Keep up the outstanding customer service and this includes the maid services and maintenance workers. You all obviously love your job and I would have to think you have an excellent management team. This was our first experience and we hope to make it to Tahoe again. We will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: End room, lake view, first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank septwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks for the great review and recognition of our employees!

In 58 summers, Ferrari's Crown has always had a member of our family living here. From my parents to my brother, to me and then my sister, we have always lived on the property. As we have gotten to know families over sevaral generations, much of the summer is like "old home" week. Some of my very best friends in the world I met playing on the beach here with them as kids.

See you next time!

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    100
    48
    11
    9
See reviews for
93
76
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for a family reunion and it was very cold and windy in June. We didn't expect the weather to be that cold. The hotel was built in the 50's (or maybe the 40's), but it was very clean and completely updated. We had 2 double beds, mini fridge and microwave in our room. The view is outstanding as we were lake front. Pool was heated which was nice.

Room Tip: Get a lake front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcsaw203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks for the nice review. This very nice family group caught the worst weather week of the Spring. It wasn't as cold as it could be but windy nearly every day. Our newest rooms were built in 1965 and oldest ones started in 1956 so pretty good on age estimate. We are an old place. Furniture is older, beds only a year old in over half the property and we try to assure that everthing works as it should.

You can't get closer to the Lake than the Crown, and we endeavor to give guests a clean, comfortable, affordable place to enjoy this great Lake.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
279 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a family run motel right on Lake Tahoe's north shore. It is in a convenient location for both ski areas during the winter and lake activities during the summer. Truckee, Squaw, Sand Harbor, Northstar and Mt Rose are less than 30 min drive. This area of Lake Tahoe does not have the large resorts and chain restaurants (like the South Shore), but has several nice "mom & pop" restaurants and motels. Ferrari offers clean, efficient and reasonably priced accommodations and in great location. Don't expect Hyatt or Marriot resort accommodations. Spend a few extra dollars and get a lake view room. There is a free continental breakfast, free parking and discounted lift passes. The motel front the lake and a nice beach. Kayaks and paddle boards can be rented next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for staying with us! The North Shore is a special place and you have outlined exactly what makes it that way.

Hope to see you soon,

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We love this place. The location is perfect, 12 minutes from North Star! Clean rooms, nice continental breakfast. We have only stayed here during winter months for skiing, so we have not used the pools. They have 2 hot tubs, one indoors and one outside. The indoor hut tub is one you need to reserve in 1/2 hour increments, perfect after a long day skiing. Prices are just right. Affordable, clean and comfortable. Oh, and its right on the lake!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmur575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We hope you can come during the summer. This is our most popular time as Kings Beach is a great summer town with jet skiing, parasailing and kayaking right next door, music on the beach once a week, a great old time mini golf, and more restaurants open. And, being in the winter "banana built" our local golf course opened up 5 holes today!! We have lots of repeat guests in the summer -- some over 50 years into 4 generations. . . . and you don't have to drive even 12 miles to fill your day with fun.

Thanks again for for choosing Ferrari's Crown.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is the 4th year we are returning to Ferrari's Crown. Very clean, very friendly, very nicely located... very... very... very... And Jacuzzi is a bonus!
Our room had a kitchenette with a stove and all necessary pots/ pans. You can prepare a quick breakfast or full dinner. Also the hotel is a walking distance from restaurants, in case you prefer not to cook. The suite has 2 rooms divided by a door- great for privacy.
Over all - nice easy experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ViktoriaS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Location was perfect. Lake view room worth every cent. Service was amazing. Room very clean. Nice balcony. Nice hot tub. Bed very comfortable. Beach at your door step. Restaurants and shops very short walk

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for the nice review and hope we will see you again. We now have some regular families that have visited us for over 50 years so we strive to cultivate return guests that appreciate the Crown.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

There was not much available during the Christmas at the ski resorts , so we booked a room at FERRARI'S CROWN.
The room had partial lake view, it had kitchenette and 1 king bed.

When I booked the room I assumed that “King Lake View” would face a lake.
Turned out that is called “King Lake Front”.

There is breakfast area – I’d suggest bringing peanut butter and maybe cream cheese with you. There is a Safeway nearby where you can buy groceries.

The only complain is very noisy thermostat. It kept turning on and off and making very loud clicking sound.


Overall nice place, fairly close to Northstar. Nicely located on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BOPOHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Sorry for the mix up on the room types. We have worked to make our room descriptions accurate. We have some of the few true "lakefront" rooms on the North Shore to try to make that differentiation. We do provide cream cheese and yogurt in the breakfast room but no peanut butter. In terms of sleep quality, all beds in the lakefront or lakeview rooms are either 1 or 2 years old and are a high quality Serta bed. They are a firm bed. We do understand how a faulty heater can upset a night's sleep. These types of problems are difficult for us to know we have unless a guest makes us aware. I do occasionally sleep in our rooms to look for issues such as this but didn't catch this one. If you would like, provide us which room number you were in and we will make sure the problem is corrected. We will also offer you a discount on a future stay.

Thanks again for staying with us and I hope you will give us another try.

Dave Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kings Beach
0.5 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
20.4 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
10.5 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
1.1 mi away
Firelite Lodge
Firelite Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrari's Crown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrari's Crown Resort

Property: Ferrari's Crown Resort
Address: 8200 N. Lake Blvd., Kings Beach, CA 96143 (Formerly the Gold Crest Resort)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Kings Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kings Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ferrari's Crown Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ferrari's Crown Resort, proud to be your "Home Away From Home" for over half a century. We have been family owned and operated since 1957. Centrally located in North Lake Tahoe, we have a private beach, continental breakfast, hot tubs, pools, discount lift tickets and more. Ferrari's Crown is located minutes away from skiing and snowboarding, kayaking, hiking, biking, horseback riding, golfing, casinos and all that North Lake Tahoe has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ferrari's Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferrari`s Crown Hotel Kings Beach
Ferraris Crown Hotel
Ferraris Crown Kings Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing