We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ferrari's Crown Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kings Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great family stay right on the beach with a 2 bedroom suite, fireplace, comfortable beds, patio with umbrella table and chairs, 2 hot tubs with view of lake, 2 heated pools, kayak rentals next door, restaurants you can walk to, breakfast, free wifi and QUIET. The rooms with lake views have full length windows to enjoy the incredible view of the lake. If you can afford the extra $, get a lake front room. All the front desk staff go over and beyond. My husband had a bad toothache and we were given a few recommendations of dentists in the area, within walking distance. Thank you ! Everything worked out great! Keep up the outstanding customer service and this includes the maid services and maintenance workers. You all obviously love your job and I would have to think you have an excellent management team. This was our first experience and we hope to make it to Tahoe again. We will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: End room, lake view, first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank septwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thanks for the great review and recognition of our employees!

In 58 summers, Ferrari's Crown has always had a member of our family living here. From my parents to my brother, to me and then my sister, we have always lived on the property. As we have gotten to know families over sevaral generations, much of the summer is like "old home" week. Some of my very best friends in the world I met playing on the beach here with them as kids.

See you next time!

Dave Ferrari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 262 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for a family reunion and it was very cold and windy in June. We didn't expect the weather to be that cold. The hotel was built in the 50's (or maybe the 40's), but it was very clean and completely updated. We had 2 double beds, mini fridge and microwave in our room. The view is outstanding as we were lake front. Pool was heated which was nice.

Room Tip: Get a lake front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcsaw203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thanks for the nice review. This very nice family group caught the worst weather week of the Spring. It wasn't as cold as it could be but windy nearly every day. Our newest rooms were built in 1965 and oldest ones started in 1956 so pretty good on age estimate. We are an old place. Furniture is older, beds only a year old in over half the property and we try to assure that everthing works as it should.

You can't get closer to the Lake than the Crown, and we endeavor to give guests a clean, comfortable, affordable place to enjoy this great Lake.

Dave Ferrari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a family run motel right on Lake Tahoe's north shore. It is in a convenient location for both ski areas during the winter and lake activities during the summer. Truckee, Squaw, Sand Harbor, Northstar and Mt Rose are less than 30 min drive. This area of Lake Tahoe does not have the large resorts and chain restaurants (like the South Shore), but has several nice "mom & pop" restaurants and motels. Ferrari offers clean, efficient and reasonably priced accommodations and in great location. Don't expect Hyatt or Marriot resort accommodations. Spend a few extra dollars and get a lake view room. There is a free continental breakfast, free parking and discounted lift passes. The motel front the lake and a nice beach. Kayaks and paddle boards can be rented next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SolarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for staying with us! The North Shore is a special place and you have outlined exactly what makes it that way.

Hope to see you soon,

Dave Ferrari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We love this place. The location is perfect, 12 minutes from North Star! Clean rooms, nice continental breakfast. We have only stayed here during winter months for skiing, so we have not used the pools. They have 2 hot tubs, one indoors and one outside. The indoor hut tub is one you need to reserve in 1/2 hour increments, perfect after a long day skiing. Prices are just right. Affordable, clean and comfortable. Oh, and its right on the lake!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmur575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We hope you can come during the summer. This is our most popular time as Kings Beach is a great summer town with jet skiing, parasailing and kayaking right next door, music on the beach once a week, a great old time mini golf, and more restaurants open. And, being in the winter "banana built" our local golf course opened up 5 holes today!! We have lots of repeat guests in the summer -- some over 50 years into 4 generations. . . . and you don't have to drive even 12 miles to fill your day with fun.

Thanks again for for choosing Ferrari's Crown.

Dave Ferrari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is the 4th year we are returning to Ferrari's Crown. Very clean, very friendly, very nicely located... very... very... very... And Jacuzzi is a bonus!
Our room had a kitchenette with a stove and all necessary pots/ pans. You can prepare a quick breakfast or full dinner. Also the hotel is a walking distance from restaurants, in case you prefer not to cook. The suite has 2 rooms divided by a door- great for privacy.
Over all - nice easy experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViktoriaS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Location was perfect. Lake view room worth every cent. Service was amazing. Room very clean. Nice balcony. Nice hot tub. Bed very comfortable. Beach at your door step. Restaurants and shops very short walk

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thanks for the nice review and hope we will see you again. We now have some regular families that have visited us for over 50 years so we strive to cultivate return guests that appreciate the Crown.

Dave Ferrari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

There was not much available during the Christmas at the ski resorts , so we booked a room at FERRARI'S CROWN.
The room had partial lake view, it had kitchenette and 1 king bed.

When I booked the room I assumed that “King Lake View” would face a lake.
Turned out that is called “King Lake Front”.

There is breakfast area – I’d suggest bringing peanut butter and maybe cream cheese with you. There is a Safeway nearby where you can buy groceries.

The only complain is very noisy thermostat. It kept turning on and off and making very loud clicking sound.


Overall nice place, fairly close to Northstar. Nicely located on the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOPOHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Sorry for the mix up on the room types. We have worked to make our room descriptions accurate. We have some of the few true "lakefront" rooms on the North Shore to try to make that differentiation. We do provide cream cheese and yogurt in the breakfast room but no peanut butter. In terms of sleep quality, all beds in the lakefront or lakeview rooms are either 1 or 2 years old and are a high quality Serta bed. They are a firm bed. We do understand how a faulty heater can upset a night's sleep. These types of problems are difficult for us to know we have unless a guest makes us aware. I do occasionally sleep in our rooms to look for issues such as this but didn't catch this one. If you would like, provide us which room number you were in and we will make sure the problem is corrected. We will also offer you a discount on a future stay.

Thanks again for staying with us and I hope you will give us another try.

Dave Ferrari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kings Beach
0.5 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
305 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
632 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#4 of 7 in Tahoe City
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
900 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
#3 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
246 reviews
4.9 mi away
Parkside Inn at Incline
Parkside Inn at Incline
#4 of 5 in Incline Village
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrari's Crown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrari's Crown Resort

Address: 8200 N. Lake Blvd., Kings Beach, CA 96143 (Formerly the Gold Crest Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Kings Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kings Beach
Price Range: $86 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ferrari's Crown Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ferrari's Crown Resort, proud to be your "Home Away From Home" for over half a century. We have been family owned and operated since 1957. Centrally located in North Lake Tahoe, we have a private beach, continental breakfast, hot tubs, pools, discount lift tickets and more. Ferrari's Crown is located minutes away from skiing and snowboarding, kayaking, hiking, biking, horseback riding, golfing, casinos and all that North Lake Tahoe has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Ferrari's Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferrari`s Crown Hotel Kings Beach
Ferraris Crown Hotel
Ferraris Crown Kings Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing