We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Breathtaking views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Beach State Recreation Area

Kings Beach State Recreation Area
Book In Advance
$230.00*
and up
Lake Tahoe Helicopter Tour
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Kings Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fair Oaks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great beach. Ice cold lake water. Beautiful views. Friendly local people. You can spend an entire day here, or just a few hours. Either way you'll leave feeling refreshed and renewed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    50
    10
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of few accsesses to a beach on Lake Tahoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very People-friendly with a variety of activities to participate in, kayak rentals, etc. A nice playground is there for children. The quality of the sand is questionable. It is within walking distance to eateries, coffee, souvenir shops. Evey year they host a fireworks display on July 3rd.,

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“The Secret Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This trail was amazing..... with snow falling and sierra redwoods everywhere.... If you want to find out what and where the secret hike is..... you have to stay at the Cedar Glen Lodge in Tahoe Vista.... lake Tahoe

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“perfect for fun and relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

i loooved this beach. i'm from sf and i went to tahoe two weekends in a row to enjoy their beaches. this was by far my favorite because the sand didn't hurt to walk on unless it was burning hot and the lake was perfect! i love fresh water so it was great playing in it without worrying about salt stinging my eyes or getting in my mouth. the only thing that sucked was that you had to pay $10 for parking... but i think all the beaches in tahoe cost to park...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank F1shst1kz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Water sports fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Easy access for parking, to the lake, small shops, and places to eat for reasonable prices. Plenty of room to move around without feeling crowded.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Beach State Recreation Area also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Kings Beach State Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing