We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Can breakfast really rate 5 stars?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Log Cabin Cafe & Ice Cream

Log Cabin Cafe & Ice Cream
8692 N Lake Blvd, Kings Beach, CA 96143
(530) 546-7109
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Kings Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
317 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Can breakfast really rate 5 stars?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place comes close to five stars. The menu is extensive and creative. The service is fast and friendly and the food is hot and fresh. I had the wheat pancakes with cooked fresh apples and walnuts. Our table ordered a side of custard cream which appears to be French cream often used to fill cream puffs.
This is a favorite atop for our friends who brought us here and they had nothing but positive things to say.
The space is tight and our round table was tucked into a small corner.
There is one toilet upstairs so the wait was long.
The waiting area is upstairs and includes sofa and a tv/video for the kids.
The prices are higher than you will find in a chain, but the quality is much higher.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    66
    26
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great place to eat breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were visiting Lake Tahoe for 3 days and 2 of the days we had breakfast at the Log Cabin Cafe. The food was great and more than we could eat. No problem for 2 people to share a plate. I would highly recommend this as a great place to eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HartlandWisMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This may be our favorite breakfast place ever! We tried numerous things on the menu, lobster scramble, chorizo scramble, blueberry pancakes, the breakfast burrito and the crab Benedict. The crab Benedict on a croissant is to die for! The service is wonderful...all the servers were very friendly and very knowledgable. The food is fast and fresh! We will definitely return again when we are in the area. A MUST GO!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tami0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Can't miss!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The food the food the food. OMG the breakfast is a do not miss. Coffee fresh and strong. The food was so tasty! Had pancakes for the kiddies and they were awesome. Egg scrambles were wonderful and choose ingredients from a long list of yummies. The French Toast Tower is to die for. Cinnamon Roll cut in half and covered in the most wonderful homemade cream. Wow. The breakfast potatoes and the house made muffins were so tasty. Can't say enough. Only drawback was service was a bit slow and place is packed so you are sitting with other people basically since tables are so close but the food is worth it. Don't miss it. We will be back. Happy Travels.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
155 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Huge Portions, Quaint Setting and an unbelievable menu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a cute and great little place for a family breakfast. It took forever for our order to be taken. That is the only reason I didn't give it a 5. The adult and children's portions are huge! The blueberry pancakes and waffles were especially delicious.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flarbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Log Cabin Cafe & Ice Cream also viewed

Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Log Cabin Cafe & Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing