We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sushi!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hiro Sushi

Hiro Sushi
Ranked #13 of 26 Restaurants in Kings Beach
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Gardiner, Montana
Level Contributor
189 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We have been coming here for years and the sushi is great! The hamachi and salmon are the best I have ever had. The albacore is terrific. The Hawaiian is also great. No question about it.
If you want a deal, then sit at the bar and order all you can eat for 1 hour. Happy hour is also a good deal. Otherwise, it is expensive, but worth it. The service can be spotty if you sit at a table.
I look forward to returning again some day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YBIInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If you want sushi get closer to the ocean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Went here for sushi after reading some of the positive tripadvisor posts. The sushi is ok, not great. Had a Hawaiian roll, maybe yielded 5 pieces, real skimpy on the Ahi, cost was about $12 for none roll. What followed was equally unimpressive and costly. Sushi is not cheap and I am well aware of it. We eat sushi fairly often back in Southern Cal, but for me this place is not worth it. They also have a confusing system where by "happy hour" has certain rolls at 40% off then they have of course sushi bar and they have all u can eat within one hour for $30 each and a more confusing explanation of the choices than i can write. I wanted a meal not a record setting fish swallowing contest....The staff wasn't overly friendly even though we tried to blend in, I mean it's a sushi bar it's suppose to be friendly and open and fun. Not this place, at least not this day. We stopped earlier in the day to do lunch, they were closed, no sign with their operating hours. Just one sign that said "happy hour 5:00". we asked about their hours and the answer was yea we open at 5:00. Odd way to do business, aloof and over priced. You have been warned.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good local place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Local eatery in kings beach
Service was ok food was good
but Hiro was a Interesting guy..
Overall 4stars..........

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frankd1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Beach, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great all you can eat deal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you go here, do the all you can eat!! They are very generous with the servings and the amount of time you have to eat. Hiro gave us some great stuff not listed as part of the all you can eat menu, that was amazing. The fish was top notch!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bsm1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hiro ROCKS!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

All you can eat and he actually makes a point of giving all you can eat, it's the real deal, no fooling around, in/out, next, they fill you up and send you home happy!!!! I'm a sushi snob, Hiro is awesome and...legen.....wait a second, wait, wait...darrrrrrry!!!!! (Barney)

Hiro is legendary and I will always come back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiro Sushi also viewed

Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
Kings Beach, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Hiro Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing