We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Tahoe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kings Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel Tahoe
Save
You added Hostel Tahoe to your Saves list
GreenLeadersBronze level
Girdwood, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We recently stayed in "The Wave" room for two nights in early June and were very satisfied customers! This hostel is VERY clean and well managed with lots of little extras. For example, how many hostels have a bamboo steamer in the kitchen? None that we've stayed in! Devon (and Wilbur) were the perfect hosts and gave us the gouge on where to find a quiet beach (Buck's) or a good place to eat in Tahoe City (Tahoe House Bakery). At the risk of being redundant, we won't repeat everything that the other five-star reviewers had to say, other than it's all true! Like the others, we are a little reluctant to share this rare find, lest there be no vacancy next time we want to stay. However, since we wish these folks nothing but success in their venture, we feel obligated to spread the word. You will not be disappointed in a stay at Hostel Tahoe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
16
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

You should come here just for this hostel! It is certainly up there in my best hostels list. Clean, friendly, cosy, welcoming, you name it, it is it. I stayed in a female room which had two single beds, and a double bed with a single bunk on top. The room has its own bathroom and a wardrobe area for hanging clothes and storing luggage. The room was spotless and tastefully decorated, although it may get a little crowded if fully occupied. The kitchen facillities included everything you could want, including decent cookware, not just crappy pots n pans, was always clean and has basic foodstuffs for your use for a small donation. On weekends, there is a free brekky of homemade granola, breads etc which was yummy. The whole hostel has a warm, homely feel and is also in a great location for exploring the district. I love this place and so will you. Oh and also, the wifi is free and works brilliantly. Never had any probs with it. I hope to come back oneday in winter so I can sit around the cosy fire and enjoy the company.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wahine61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We decided to stay here based on Trip Advisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. Cleanest hostel we've stayed at, the nicest staff we've encountered, and the least $$ we've ever paid for a private room (w/ private bath!) at a hostel. Devon and Syd each made us feel welcome and at ease. The room, grounds, and common areas were neat and tidy. Homemade granola and baked goods for breakfast, included in the price. (Sat/ Sun morning). Tip - Look at the reviews for Kings Beach Motels, compare them to Hostel Tahoe's reviews, book your reservation at Hostel Tahoe, enjoy your time there, go home and feel like a freakin' genius due to your brilliant decision making. That's what I did! Don't know when we'll be back to North Tahoe, but I know where we'll be staying!

Room Tip: A private room that sleeps 4 can be had for less than the cost of 3 dorm beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sillynsurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for about 5 weeks this winter. Andrew, Christine, Devon & Syd were so accommodating and became like friends. We stayed in the private room & dorms and they were incredibly clean and so cosy. We made so many friends here and have many amazing memories from our time in Kings Beach. The location of the hostel cant be beat and the facilities are above and beyond what you would expect from a hostel. This is one of, if not the best hostel we have both ever stayed in.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. As a couple we couldnt always have the private room as it was booked so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GretchenW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We used this hostel as a base to ski at Alpine Meadows and Squaw Valley. This hostel is clean. We stayed in a queen room with private bath. The furnishings are simple but tasteful. We used the kitchen and common areas to prepare meals and enjoyed talking with the younger crowd. (We are in our 50s so we were the "parents.") The international guests were very considerate of each other in the use of the well-equipped kitchen and in honoring the quiet hours. The shower was hot. The room has a gas-fired heating unit that turns on and off but that didn't bother us. Sid, the manager, was very friendly and helpful with details of our stay. There is no television on the property but we didn't miss it since the internet connection was very good. We would definitely return--hopefully to explore Tahoe in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillbPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HT_Owners, Owner at Hostel Tahoe, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay and yes come back in the summer! All the flowers are starting to pop up.

We regularly have guests of all ages; including solo travelers and families with children.

Hope to see you soon!
HT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This maginificent little gem, on the edge of town, is everything one could want around this beautiful body of water.

Whether you're off hiking, wandering or running the woods above the lake, off for a stroll on the beach, or walking over the shops and restaurants, this is a great base for your adventures.

The price is more than fair IMO, and the kicker is the absolutely wonderufl staff, always happy to give advice about what and where to do, the town itself, or just carry a pleasent conversation.

The only very slight shortcoming is it's location on the edge of town, but once you're in the groove, that walk will seem no trouble at all, and just adds to the experience of strolling along the beach, wood or town.

So if you're a North shore kinda person, go here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsraeliTourits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Me and my friends stayed at Hostel Tahoe for 2 and half months.We have been working there and we were looking for cheap and clean accomodation. Hostel should have been just temporary option, however they offered us long-term stay for decent price. Soon we got used to it and we didn´t hasitate this decision. Staff is very helpful, everything is clean and feels like home :) I would like to point out especially kitchen,that was excellently equiped,spacious. I strongly recommend this Hostel to everyone coming to Kings Beach and nearby areas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lubos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kings Beach
1.2 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
20.0 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 607 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
1.8 mi away
Firelite Lodge
Firelite Lodge
#3 of 7 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ferrari's Crown Resort
Ferrari's Crown Resort
#1 of 5 in Kings Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Tahoe

Property: Hostel Tahoe
Address: 8931 N. Lake Blvd, Kings Beach, CA 96143
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Kings Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Kings Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Lake Tahoe's Best Hostel. Hostel Tahoe offers comfortable, safe and affordable accommodations for individual and group travelers visiting North Lake Tahoe and the Sierra Nevada Mountain Ranges. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing