We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY FUN DECOR -- but nothing else”

El Lugarcito Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 33 Restaurants in King City
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Sunnyvale, California
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“VERY FUN DECOR -- but nothing else”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Like others, I'm not sure where the positive reviews came from. There was no AC, just fans, and at the lunch hour it was too hot to enjoy the meal which was supposed to be a special visit with relatives passing thru town. Food was really overpriced for the area; ours wasn't horrible, but not worth what we paid for it. Limited options for food. It IS indeed very cute; King City temperatures drop dramatically in the evening, and as a place to stop in for a beer in a cheerful environment, it'd be great. But the chips and salsa were not good, either, so there'd be the bind of finding something to go with the beer. Really would not recommend eating here.

  • Visited September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The real deal”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a place for really fresh and authentic Mexican in a friendly, casual atmosphere. Great stop on the 101. You can tell a lot about a place by its salsa, and this is some of the very best!

Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Horrible food”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I don't know how this place can even be ranked #1.This place is absolutely horrible. Not only can you not get chicken, cheese, enchiladas or fajitas (crazy for a mexican restaurant right?!) but there is no flavor or sauces in any of the food. We ordered our food, took one bite, and walked out. The food was not even edible. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone looking at reviews and choosing to stop at this place. You are better off opting for fast food or remaining hungry.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DoubleTrouble1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“a hankering for good Mexican food ~ go here”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I'm a little confused about the french fries on the top of the garlic prawn taco meal but guess what? It was very tasty and filling. The ambiance is authentic too... we found this place after stopping on our motorcycles and asking a local where to go for best Mexican food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mackanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Chili Verde ever!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This was a very pleasant lunch. The atmosphere colorful and clean. The service was prompt and friendly. The chili verde was the best we have ever had anywhere the country. The tacos are typical taco truck tacos with just meat filling and tasty but nothing special.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oldtravelrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Lugarcito Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Lugarcito Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing