We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very popular sweets”
Review of Kasanoya

Kasanoya
Ranked #1 of 294 Restaurants in Dazaifu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $9
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Reviewed February 8, 2019 via mobile

If you visit to Dazaifu 太宰府,
You can find many 梅ヶ枝餅 shop in the street.
It’s typical Sweets in this area.
Kasanoya かさの屋 is very popular.
So many people are waiting to buy it.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Hiroaosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 203 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2018

you have to stand in line for that specific treasure and it is worth it completely....
don't pass that umegae mochi and don't think to take just one....

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank advisorylehavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017

We were very lucky to get table during lunch. The restaurant itself is very peaceful. Around us, there were only Japanese people who were sitting and relaxing while enjoying Mochi filled with Japanese bean paste. Other foods are also very good.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SavetS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017

My Japanese friend knew where to stop on the busy, touristy road to Dazaifu for the famous local delicacy, Umegae-mochi. The stylish, minimalist interior complemented the fine looking mochi, which we enjoyed with green tea. Delicious! If you want to try this local snack, then I think this is the place to taste it!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2016

This shop sells umegae-mochi, a rice cake filled with red beans, a very popular local snack. This seems to be the most popular shop with rather long queues. I noticed the queue moves pretty fast and hence decided to join in. After 10 minutes, I found myself purchasing 6 of these umegae-mochi at ¥120 each. They are generous with the fillings and the mochi very soft. It makes a very tasty snack, but I won't be eating too many of these at one go during to its sweetness and it is best eaten hot. A must try in Dazaifu. I was told all the snacks has an imprint of the apricot flower on it.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kasanoya also viewed

Dazaifu, Fukuoka Prefecture
 
Dazaifu, Fukuoka Prefecture
 
Dazaifu, Fukuoka Prefecture
Dazaifu, Fukuoka Prefecture
 

Been to Kasanoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing