We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, nice and quiet, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kiroro, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Hokkaido
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days with family before moving on to Niseko. Choose the Piano over the Mountain Hotel and very glad I did as the Piano does seem that bit nicer, clamer and less manic. There is a frequent free shuttle bus that takes you from outside the Piano up to the Mountain resort to sort out ski hire, lift passes etc and also the slopes/lifts themselves so it really is very easy. Rooms were large and very clean and well serviced. Breakfast is a buffet with very good choice although the ballroom is somewhat lacking atmosphere and reminds me of a posh aircraft hanger!. The onsen was lovely and the kids enjoyed the swimming pool - both these were extra. Would certainly recommend this hotel and resort for a few days - lovely and peaceful skiing - mostly with Japanese, Great choice for a multi centre ski option!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxuryholidayqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 449 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our first trip to a winter resort and we do have high expectation!

Took a bus from Sapporo town and arrive at the hotel piano in usual Japanese clock work time. As it coincided with a public holiday in Japan, the check- in was very crowded and took a while. However the staff was very patient and explained in detail to all new guests the process of hiring ski gears, restaurant locations, etc...

As checked in time is at 3pm( earlier check in request will incur additional charge). So we put our luggage a in the free lockers and went up to Mountain hotel ( free shuttle bus ride every 10 mins)to register for the ski classes for the next days. There are many forms to fill but do approach the Annie school counter and the ski gear rental counter to ask for help. There are lockers to put your non ski gears as well.

Do remember that most skiing activities in Mountain hotel while most of the restaurants are in hotel piano ( also has a nice ski park for young children) . So choose the hotel carefully and anyway the 2 hotel is only a short ride away.

Room is good size but not as big ( and older) than our stay in Sapporo town. It is still a good hotel nevertheless. The price in the many restaurants is surprisingly affordable for a resort and quite reasonable. The onsen is also a nice place to go and an experience for the uninitiated!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liverpool4Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 night with my husband and a 4 years old. Is a good place for stay for vacation with kids but it is not a luxury hotel and please don't expect too much service.
We stayed in the Japanese Suite which is nice and big. Room is clean and comfy and the Tatami is really really soft which gave us so much difficulty to wake up in the morning. The hotel is part of the Kiroro resort and the location of this hotel is right next to Kiroro town, which is so convenient coz everything is at your door step. I will write a separate review regarding to Kiroro resort.
What I mean by no service eg. There is no staff to carry your luggage when arriving the hotel. So remember to drop the luggage first before parking the car as there is no lift from the Carpark to the lobby. Otherwise you need to take your luggage up the stairs.
As we stayed in the Japanese room, housekeeping needs to come in our room to prepare our bed everyday, they asked us when do we want our bed prepare everyday then I told them 2pm as my kid needs to have a afternoon nap, but everyday we went back at 230, no beds available, everyday we need to call the front desk and ask for it, also they hardly understand what I said and therefore it usually took us at least 30 mins with a few phone calls before we have the bed ready!
Breakfast is good, we usually have it in the ball room, not too much good choice but taste good, Mostly Japanese breakfast with some choice of western food.
Overall, this hotel is not bad and I recommend to stay there with family.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CookingFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My boy and us stay 2 night here, as we love to play with the snow. We went up the mountain and have lunch there, the resturant did not offer lots of food, but the view is great. The buffet in the hotel offer lot of seafood. The room are big and clean. The only problem is the internet connection, there is no internet at room and no wifi at public area, if you want to use your iphone, remember to bring a rounter there. Then you can use the wired internet at lobby , which is 24 hours and they offer you free coffee.

Room Tip: If you love to ski , you may try to room in Mountain Hotel which is 5 mins away with connection bus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2008

Piano Hotel was a strange experience. The immediate feeling on arrival is one of gloom as it is enormous, rears 14 storeys out of nowhere that feels completely wrong for the location & caters to large tour groups. On top the impersonal, robotic reception staff coupled with their limited english skills situated in a poorly lit, poorly designed lobby added to the negative impression. An impression hard to shake off as Hotel Piano is clearly seeking a theme but, despite its musical design attempts, the effect is discordant. The negatives were made worse by a truly awful meal in the 'Pop' coffee shop which was decorated in what can only be described as 'used classroom' style ( in my experience finding awful food in Japan is rare ).

Fortunately things improved mostly from there. The rooms are large ( huge in comparison to most Japanese hotel rooms ) with plenty of space for bulky skiwear & for 3 smaller children to race around. We were on the 10th floor so had great views out to the ski area & mountain.

Piano Hotel's facilities are diverse ranging from a tacky games room to an amusement arcade ( loved by the kids ) to an indoor pool / hot bath / sauna ( which you have to pay for ) & several good to very good Japanese speciality restaurants providing excellent choices for dinner - albeit these are hard to find & even harder to find information about in english & outside making the trip a freezing one in the winter. A decent public hot bath ( free ) & a large hotel shop selling everything one is likely to need were other positives.

However Piano Hotel's ability to offer a good diversity & quality in f&b choice in the evening was in contrast to the dull fusion breakfasts served in either the dreadful 'Pop' coffee shop or the japanese breakfasts.
as the other weary choice.

For non-japanese speakers Piano Hotel is distinctly non-user friendly with almost no information in english & staff unable to speak english - strange as it receives tour groups that use english as the main medium. As a result this author was unable to find the outdoor hot-spring bath whist his japanese reading wife could decipher the hidden code & found it ( this might be deliberate to limit the hot-spring to deserving locals free of the threat of gaijin.

The ski-ing at kiroro was excellent with plenty of runs from beginners ( although some green runs were too flat ) to black & lots of lifts with minimal crowding. The recently renovated & tastefully designed Mountain centre contains f&b outlets, an excellent ski rental section & a well equipped sports shop. To this author the lack of recognition of kiroro vs better known resorts is surprising given its quality & accessibility. The ski area is only 2 mins by free bus from the hotel & lockers are provided for ski kit at the mountain centre making logistics easy. Night ski-ing goes onto 8pm.

An alternative to Piano Hotel might be the Mountain View Hotel situated at the ski area adjacent to the Mountain Centre that is more in keeping with the location in design & appearance even if it lacks Piano's size or choice ( however it is only a 2 minute bus ride to the f&b at Piano anyway ).

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jk53jk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank jqnxt146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirorohotels, Manager at The Kiroro, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Hokkaido, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank 尚三信
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akaigawa-mura
Grand Park Otaru
#2 of 21 in Otaru
861 reviews
Hotel Nord Otaru
#4 of 21 in Otaru
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Asarigawa Onsen
Otaru Asari Classe Hotel
Smile Hotel Otaru
#11 of 21 in Otaru
163 reviews
Jouzankei Onsen
Jozankei View Hotel
Jozankei View Hotel
#73 of 171 in Sapporo
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kiroro, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Hokkaido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kiroro, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Hokkaido

Address: 128-1 Tokiwa, Akaigawa-mura, Yoichi-gun 046-0593, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Yoichi-gun > Akaigawa-mura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels / Ryokan in Akaigawa-mura
Price Range: $108 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kiroro, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Hokkaido 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kiroro, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Hokkaido features 282 spacious guest rooms and suites. On-site recreational facilities include gym, swimming pool and Japanese hot spring as well as Resort Market and both indoor and outdoor activities. In Kiroro Ski Resort,where both hotels are located, there is "Kiroro Snow World" well-known throughout the world for it's amazing powder snow, where you can enjoy ski life to the fullest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rakuten, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Kiroro, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Hokkaido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piano Hotel Akaigawa Mura
Piano Resort Akaigawa Mura
The Kiroro, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Hokkaido Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing