We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yes, bring a towel AND...”

River Oyunuma Natural Footbath
Ranked #2 of 35 things to do in Noboribetsu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
148 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Yes, bring a towel AND...”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Every traveller will say the same thing, but I say, bring a plastic bag too. Why? Because you may get some tiny stones or sand stuck on your feet & between the toes, & these debris are BLACK in colour. After wiping your feet thoroughly, are you sure you want to put your black towel into your backpack??? Oh & I got to add this - your feet & socks will smell of sulphur after the footbath, so be sure to bring extra pair of socks for your holidays. Or you could try spraying some perfume. :)

Seats, well not quite, but little trunks placed by the side of the river, are limited in number. Each trunk sits 2 Asians comfortably. While soaking your feet, you could eat your snacks, just like what we did. This will give you much needed energy for the hike later.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Harumi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    104
    25
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Ashiyu in the forest!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

it's quite a walkin distance from Oyunuma but totally worth the walk, its setup in the forest, right by the river side where the onsen water flows from Oyunuma down to the onsen town below, since its very near the source so it's pretty hot & do note that its in the forest so do expect some insects as well & bring a small towel to dry your feet if u plan to try the ashiyu

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank meiyih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
291 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“An Interesting Experience”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

It was a new experience to us. The walk to River Oyunuma was relaxing and easy to find. Temperature of the water was not steaming hot, so you can try walk a short distance for fun or mild foot message. It was not crowded when we went and later we got the river to ourselves for some time. We enjoyed it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank bkpkwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Free natural foot spa”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Love this part of the tour at Noboribetsu. We parked our car at the Oyunuma Pond and walked up the steep slope. Why the walk cos you can't park anywhere in this tourist spot. We did not bring towels so we just dried our feet there and remove our socks for the walk back to the carpark.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank woodstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice break”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

A nice break in between the walking trails along the valley. Remember to bring a towel to dry your foot before continuing.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter-KualaLumpur-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Oyunuma Natural Footbath also viewed

 
Noboribetsu, Hokkaido
 

Been to River Oyunuma Natural Footbath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing