We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
FindHotel
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
Destinia.com
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveler rating
217
68
14
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
217
68
14
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor private onsen luxury ryokan japanese suite kaiseki dinner private room dining area onsen water soy sauce superb choice open air onsen hot springs type room two nights kids running guest rooms western beds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 314 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Very nice modern-style Japanese spa resort ryokan with private tube at the balcony. The public spa (on-sen) at the basement of the hotel comprises a number of hot springs of different temp and minerals. The public spa is also great.
We stayed in a Japanese style suite with in door onset.... should try the one with an outdoor private onsen but at a price though.
Great service but the resort provides no shuttle services and you have to call you own taxi to and from the Noboribesu JR station if you are not driving.

Room tip: should try the suite with outdoor onset
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKG_Traveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is one of my favorite ryokan to stay. The room, public space, garden are so stylish- perfect mixture of traditional Japanese style and minimalistic modern style. Ther are only 30 rooms so they know you by faces and names. We never nneded to say our room number nor names. They have 2 beautiful Onsen-hot spring; one on the ground floor with two different source of water w. different mineral contents, over looking the garden and there is also Roten Buro-outside hot spring in which you can enjoy sounds of water and birds, while enjoying beautiful nature. They also have outside bath on the 5th floor from which you can overlook beautiful garden, steep hill with trees, even water falls. For those of whom who have reservation on taking off clothes in public bath, they have luxurios private bath in their own room complete with garden views from floor to ceiling glass walls on 2 sides. What is most amazing, however, are the staff at Takinoya. We stayed more than3 years ago, and they remembered us. The same person served meals for us. My mother has special dietary restrictions and cannot eat any animal protein. Chef took time for her and created beautiful Kaiseki meals, just like regular ones for my mother. This kind of attention to detail is what really set this place part. Of course non vegetarian meals were also delicious and beautifully presented and included different kind of crabs for different night we stayed. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank BrownMatisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is the only hotspring hotel we have stayed in Noboribetsu but it is a great one. The moment you step into the hotel you got nothing but great service. The hotel staffs help you with your parking, luggage, shoes and guided you to your room after some tea and snacks. The room is big and with a great view of the mountain.The city is small so everything is within walking distance. The hotspring is to die for. The top floor open air hotspring is gorgeous and the bottom floor big public bath gives you excellent choice of different types of hotspring water to soak in. The food is great. Dinner and breakfast were fantastic. Good choice of local ingredients and great service. When we speak with the locals that we stay at Takinoya, they told us that it is a great choice so we know we made the right choice. If you can afford it, you should stay here rather than those cheaper hotels around it that offers cheap service and average food.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jesse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The service is immaculate. The food, prepared by the 60+ years old chef, who has been working in Takinoya without interruptions since he was 14, is amazing. Definitely the nicest place in Nboribetsu.

The bar (both the bartender and the selection) are not good at all, but this is a minor inconvenience, compared to the fantastic atmosphere.

The lounge has a set of audiophile grade sound equipment (McKintosh amp, Wadia CD player), but the music selection is small, so do bring your own CDs with you.

Room tip: Ryokan offers both Japanese and Western style rooms. The large suites have their own private onsen. The Japanese suites also have their own small garden.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The hotel is just excellent in any aspect!
It maybe true that the room rate is expensive (especially when the exchange rate of yen is high), but I bet you would say it is value for for money!

During my 10 days of stay in Hokkaido, I had the best meal in this hotel (not even in the fish market).
I'd recommend you to spend your last day of trip here, otherwise, you will be disappointed on the food that you have in other parts of japan ;p

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jarrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews