We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
ZenHotels.com
$993
View deal
Trip.com
StayForLong
Destinia.com
FindHotel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveler rating
217
68
14
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
217
68
14
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor private onsen luxury ryokan japanese suite kaiseki dinner private room dining area onsen water soy sauce superb choice open air onsen hot springs type room two nights kids running guest rooms western beds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 314 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is one of my favorite ryokan to stay. The room, public space, garden are so stylish- perfect mixture of traditional Japanese style and minimalistic modern style. Ther are only 30 rooms so they know you by faces and names. We never nneded to say our room number nor names. They have 2 beautiful Onsen-hot spring; one on the ground floor with two different source of water w. different mineral contents, over looking the garden and there is also Roten Buro-outside hot spring in which you can enjoy sounds of water and birds, while enjoying beautiful nature. They also have outside bath on the 5th floor from which you can overlook beautiful garden, steep hill with trees, even water falls. For those of whom who have reservation on taking off clothes in public bath, they have luxurios private bath in their own room complete with garden views from floor to ceiling glass walls on 2 sides. What is most amazing, however, are the staff at Takinoya. We stayed more than3 years ago, and they remembered us. The same person served meals for us. My mother has special dietary restrictions and cannot eat any animal protein. Chef took time for her and created beautiful Kaiseki meals, just like regular ones for my mother. This kind of attention to detail is what really set this place part. Of course non vegetarian meals were also delicious and beautifully presented and included different kind of crabs for different night we stayed. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank BrownMatisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is the only hotspring hotel we have stayed in Noboribetsu but it is a great one. The moment you step into the hotel you got nothing but great service. The hotel staffs help you with your parking, luggage, shoes and guided you to your room after some tea and snacks. The room is big and with a great view of the mountain.The city is small so everything is within walking distance. The hotspring is to die for. The top floor open air hotspring is gorgeous and the bottom floor big public bath gives you excellent choice of different types of hotspring water to soak in. The food is great. Dinner and breakfast were fantastic. Good choice of local ingredients and great service. When we speak with the locals that we stay at Takinoya, they told us that it is a great choice so we know we made the right choice. If you can afford it, you should stay here rather than those cheaper hotels around it that offers cheap service and average food.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jesse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The service is immaculate. The food, prepared by the 60+ years old chef, who has been working in Takinoya without interruptions since he was 14, is amazing. Definitely the nicest place in Nboribetsu.

The bar (both the bartender and the selection) are not good at all, but this is a minor inconvenience, compared to the fantastic atmosphere.

The lounge has a set of audiophile grade sound equipment (McKintosh amp, Wadia CD player), but the music selection is small, so do bring your own CDs with you.

Room tip: Ryokan offers both Japanese and Western style rooms. The large suites have their own private onsen. The Japanese suites also have their own small garden.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The hotel is just excellent in any aspect!
It maybe true that the room rate is expensive (especially when the exchange rate of yen is high), but I bet you would say it is value for for money!

During my 10 days of stay in Hokkaido, I had the best meal in this hotel (not even in the fish market).
I'd recommend you to spend your last day of trip here, otherwise, you will be disappointed on the food that you have in other parts of japan ;p

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jarrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Takinoya belongs to the luxury ryokan collection, from where we made our room reservation. This being not our first experience at such a luxurious onsen ryokan, I could give a more objective review of Takinoya - and it still came out stellar.

Located in the famous onsen area of Noboribetsu in Southern Hokkaido, Takinoya is easy to locate when driving (use an English GPS and input its telephone number). It is a very handsome looking building when driving into Noboribetsu, and if you recognise the Japanese/Chinese characters of its name, you can't miss it. Parking is free.

The mistress of the ryokan was elegant, graceful, and most importantly, warm. She could speak good English. Upon stepping into the ryokan (you need to remove your shoes - which they will keep for you), we were treated to an amazing view through a large glass window of its Japanese garden, complete with a red bridge and pond, all snow covered. We were served matcha and red bean dessert, enjoying the lounge area (which had free tea, etc).

The room we had was the Japanese Style Room AW. There was a sleeping/living area (during dinner, the staff will set out the futon bed for you), with a sitting area + TV, a balcony with a view of the same Japanese courtyard (which is completely surrounded by a hill of trees - very private), and a large bathroom with a wooden bath (a luxury!). This is not an outdoor bath (a pity) - but there are rooms with private onsens (which would cost a lot more). As the hotel was renovated only a few years ago, the rooms looked new, and very clean and beautiful. The bathroom was a separate door away.

I enjoyed the room, as it was a treat to have so much space in a hotel room in Japan, and the I always enjoy wooden baths, but the treat was the onsen itself. There are two - one is the outdoors one on the 5th floor, and the other at the basement. Noboribetsu is famous for its sulfurous hot spring water, and so the women outdoor onsen was smokey white - and it over looks the forested hill. The experience of stepping into the hot, sulfurous water (after a quick rinse/shower in the shower area) when the air is at a sub zero Celsius, with snow falling gently on you, is truly, amazingly magical, and one of the most intensely pleasurable, memorable, experience I ever had.

Of course it would be best if there was nobody else using the bath with you (not about being shy, but having it to yourself makes it more amazing in some ways), but as the ryokan is not large, and if you select the time you head to the bath carefully, you can get the bath to yourself. Also, as we stayed there on a weekday offpeak night, I hardly ran into anybody in all the times I used both baths.

The basement onsen had similar sulfurous water (there were three or four different 'types' of water I believe), and all very good, but an outdoor onsen like that on the 5th level is unbeatable.

Dinner was at the dining area (we had a private room to ourselves, overlooking the Japanese courtyard - what a treat - large glass window while snow fell in the garden outside), and was a very good kaiseki style dinner. Using local produce as much as possible (Hokkaido rice, Hokkaido vegetables, Hokkaido seafood), the highlight was huge, huge! (steamed) Hokkaido pincher of a king crab, served with a little yuzu sauce on the side. The other dishes were equally stunning and good. That said, there was no English menu, and the wait staff, while friendly and warm, could only speak limited English.

Breakfast was also at the same place, and the Japanese breakfast was just as good. While I could easily tuck into good Japanese steamed rice for breakfast, my partner wasn't that keen - that said, there was grilled fish and miso soup, etc, so there was more than enough for breakfast.

Hell's valley (an area of sulfurous fumes) was just a 5 minutes uphill walk from Takinoya. Noboribetsu town is small, with many other large onsen hotels clustered around (and those are a different type of hotel altogether from Takinoya - chocked full of Chinese tourists, huge onsens which make bathing in one a very different experience), and makes for a pleasant walk around, but no more than a day. We stayed for only a night.

Do note that a night's stay in Takinoya is not inexpensive, but that is the standard price for luxurious onsen ryokans in Japan. I find it very worth its price given the full kaiseki dinner and sumptuous breakfast, the large room, and gorgeous onsen, and always make it a point to stay a night at such a ryokan at every trip to Japan. That said, it would probably be better to stay at Takinoya when it is low season, on a weekday (if possible), such that it would be possible to use their onsen alone! Prices are also more reasonable then. While the food was amazing, some other luxury ryokan's food was slightly more sumptuous than that at Takinoya. That said, it was faultless, and I truly enjoyed my stay here.

Would definitely return if I am heading to Noboribetsu ever again!

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank areisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews