We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$178
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/21
Hotels.com
$178
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/21
FindHotel
$142
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/19/21
Booking.com$254
Priceline$254
Destinia.com$281
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (714)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveler rating
210
373
91
24
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
210
373
91
24
16
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 714 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The receptionist knew who we were since we were the last couple to arrive. He gave us two complimentary ramen in one of their late seving restaurant in compenstation of missing the buffet. In fact, we arrived late at aroound 9PM with the intention to skip the buffet which we'd rather to have some local food. Turned out there were not too many choices in town, and we had the buffet in the second evening. It was amazingly good in quality with lots of my favorite items there.

The Osen in B2 is better and larger than in B1, where men can only enjoy B2 in the morning session. Unlike the Japanese, we usually had our osen in the evening, so I could only took those at B1.

WiFi was something unacceptable in this age where you could only access it at the lobby... dunno if this is the standard for all the hotels in town, you are supposed to stay away the ineternet and enjoy your osen.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank domchanbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have stayed in Daiichi Takimotokan six years ago and this time I choose Mahobora.

Comparison:

Price -- Yen wise, I paid less for Mahoroba than I paid for Daiichi six years ago. But Mahoroba does not charge for hotel bus to and from Sapporo while Daiichi charges 500 Yen per trip.

Food -- Mahobora offers 3 kinds of crab leg: King, Snow and Hairy. The King Crab legs, though frozen, are fresher than those from Alaska. Daiichi offered less varieties.

Onsen -- Daiichi has an open onsen that faces the Hell Valley while Mahoroba does not. But Daiichi just has one waterfall-like onsen which can massage your back while Mahoroba has six.

Arrival time -- Mahoroba's bus arrives at the hotel at 3 pm while Daiichi arrives at 4 pm. I can use that extra hour to hike the Hell Valley (By 4 pm it is almost dark in winter in Noboribetsu).

So I prefer Mahoroba over Daiichi. The best bargain is book thru the JAPANESE webpage (English/Chinese webpage offers slightly higher rate) of the hotel. The rate can be as low as 7,850 Yen pp.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank ewakorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed one night here as part of a packaged tour. The tatami room was adequete albeit rather small, but the onsen was really great. When we first went to the onsen, thought it smelled, but later realized its just the sulphur pool. The pools at basement 1 and 2 alternate for men and women. The night we were there, the B2 pools were for women and it was fantastic. The outdoor pools were really nice (even though it was a freezing -10 degrees C outside) and there was even slides for adults and children. They switch pools at 4am in the morning, and my sis in law went to check out the B1 pool to find it way smaller, and not as fun. If you only have one night there, and did not get the chance to check out the pools at B2, suggest that you wake up earlier the next day to try out the pools there. The dinner buffet was nice with a good variety, but not particularly wow'ed. A must try is the noodles.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHAA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

There are several ot spring hotels in Noboribetsu. Chose Mahoroba because of: 1. convenient location (accessible to shopping street), 2. Japanese styled rooms came with attached bathrooms 3. availability of outdoor hot springs. We booked two Japanese styled rooms for our group of 7. Paid 8,300 yen per pax per night (inclusive of breakfast and eat-all-you-can dinner with crabs). Quality of the food is reasonable. The hotel also provided us with complimentary bus service to Sapporo (just remember to inform the staff at the time of reservation). Overall it's a good deal.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kwoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Lovely hotel with natural hot springs in the "Hell Valley" area in Hokkaido. It was the rainy season when we were there but we still took a good soak in the hot springs of the hotel. We enjoyed the outdoor one very much and regret that we only had one night there. Our subsequent night at the pools of Yubari Mount Racey Resort were not as enjoyable. As mentioned by another reviewer, they alternate the pools between men and women so that everyone can experience the different outdoor/indoor pools. The dressing area is very large and have all the amenities - hair dryers,moisturisers/shampoos/etc/etc. We had fun wearing the provided yukata out to the nearby shopping street. Our beddings in the traditional japanese room were laid out for us when we were having dinner. Dinner was buffet style with lots of variety, but the much touted Hokkaido crabs were disappointingly over-boiled and tasteless. Overall we enjoyed the hot springs the most.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews