We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$178
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/30/21
Hotels.com
$178
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/30/21
Agoda.com
$164
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/21
Booking.com$254
Trip.com$178
Destinia.com$299
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (714)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveler rating
210
373
91
24
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
210
373
91
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crab buffet dinner outdoor onsen hot springs japanese style room walking distance free flow convenience store horse oil hot spring hotel adults and kids set dinner love this hotel types pools tatami sapporo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 714 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed one night here as part of a packaged tour. The tatami room was adequete albeit rather small, but the onsen was really great. When we first went to the onsen, thought it smelled, but later realized its just the sulphur pool. The pools at basement 1 and 2 alternate for men and women. The night we were there, the B2 pools were for women and it was fantastic. The outdoor pools were really nice (even though it was a freezing -10 degrees C outside) and there was even slides for adults and children. They switch pools at 4am in the morning, and my sis in law went to check out the B1 pool to find it way smaller, and not as fun. If you only have one night there, and did not get the chance to check out the pools at B2, suggest that you wake up earlier the next day to try out the pools there. The dinner buffet was nice with a good variety, but not particularly wow'ed. A must try is the noodles.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHAA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

There are several ot spring hotels in Noboribetsu. Chose Mahoroba because of: 1. convenient location (accessible to shopping street), 2. Japanese styled rooms came with attached bathrooms 3. availability of outdoor hot springs. We booked two Japanese styled rooms for our group of 7. Paid 8,300 yen per pax per night (inclusive of breakfast and eat-all-you-can dinner with crabs). Quality of the food is reasonable. The hotel also provided us with complimentary bus service to Sapporo (just remember to inform the staff at the time of reservation). Overall it's a good deal.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kwoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Lovely hotel with natural hot springs in the "Hell Valley" area in Hokkaido. It was the rainy season when we were there but we still took a good soak in the hot springs of the hotel. We enjoyed the outdoor one very much and regret that we only had one night there. Our subsequent night at the pools of Yubari Mount Racey Resort were not as enjoyable. As mentioned by another reviewer, they alternate the pools between men and women so that everyone can experience the different outdoor/indoor pools. The dressing area is very large and have all the amenities - hair dryers,moisturisers/shampoos/etc/etc. We had fun wearing the provided yukata out to the nearby shopping street. Our beddings in the traditional japanese room were laid out for us when we were having dinner. Dinner was buffet style with lots of variety, but the much touted Hokkaido crabs were disappointingly over-boiled and tasteless. Overall we enjoyed the hot springs the most.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed in a tatami room for one night over there. The room was ok but the service to setup the mattresses was slow. Altogether we requested the service twice before the job was done. For the hot springs, we enjoyed the outdoor pools very much! It would be a waste if staying there and not taking time to try the hot springs. The only thing which I think they should improve is the quality of the food. We are Japanese food lover but found that both the buffet dinner and breakfast did not taste good.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CKP02
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed for a week in the end of May, 2012. Arrived from the Shin-Chitose airport (we rented a car there): 1,5 hours by the highway. The hotel is located in a very famous hot spring town called Noboribetsu adjacent to the terrific volcanic valley "Jugokudani" (means "The Hell Valley"), the source of the hotel's geothermal hot water. The area has a lot of attractions, both for adults and kids as well - The Hell Valley itself, the Historical Village, The Bear Farm with terrific view of the Kuttara lake, The Aquarium in Noboribetsu village, etc. Worth to rent a car to get to more distant places like the Toya lake with its famous Usuzan volcano, Muroran port with its Swan bridge or Orofure pass.
We stayed in two standard western style rooms on the 10th floor with a view of the town. The rooms were clean (a little bit worn, but not an issue at all) and well maintained, equipped with LCD TV. Unfortunately, no wi-fi in the rooms, you need to go to the first floor,near the sitting area in the lobby. The food (breakfast&dinner included) was very good, specially seafood (crabs, sashimi, etc.). You can choose from both Japanese & European cuisine. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The main attraction of the place is its hot springs, specially the outdoor pools. They claim it to be the biggest in Japan. Unforgettable experience of getting up earlier (opens up at 4 a.m.) and be the only one in the outdoor pool enjoying the sky just before the sunrise!
Highly recommend this hotel, if you want to experience the Japanese-style relaxation.
Iryna & Anatoli

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anatoli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews