We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably priced Hot Spring hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mahoroba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mahoroba
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
288 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced Hot Spring hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

There are several ot spring hotels in Noboribetsu. Chose Mahoroba because of: 1. convenient location (accessible to shopping street), 2. Japanese styled rooms came with attached bathrooms 3. availability of outdoor hot springs. We booked two Japanese styled rooms for our group of 7. Paid 8,300 yen per pax per night (inclusive of breakfast and eat-all-you-can dinner with crabs). Quality of the food is reasonable. The hotel also provided us with complimentary bus service to Sapporo (just remember to inform the staff at the time of reservation). Overall it's a good deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kwoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    274
    62
    14
    8
See reviews for
272
100
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Lovely hotel with natural hot springs in the "Hell Valley" area in Hokkaido. It was the rainy season when we were there but we still took a good soak in the hot springs of the hotel. We enjoyed the outdoor one very much and regret that we only had one night there. Our subsequent night at the pools of Yubari Mount Racey Resort were not as enjoyable. As mentioned by another reviewer, they alternate the pools between men and women so that everyone can experience the different outdoor/indoor pools. The dressing area is very large and have all the amenities - hair dryers,moisturisers/shampoos/etc/etc. We had fun wearing the provided yukata out to the nearby shopping street. Our beddings in the traditional japanese room were laid out for us when we were having dinner. Dinner was buffet style with lots of variety, but the much touted Hokkaido crabs were disappointingly over-boiled and tasteless. Overall we enjoyed the hot springs the most.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed in a tatami room for one night over there. The room was ok but the service to setup the mattresses was slow. Altogether we requested the service twice before the job was done. For the hot springs, we enjoyed the outdoor pools very much! It would be a waste if staying there and not taking time to try the hot springs. The only thing which I think they should improve is the quality of the food. We are Japanese food lover but found that both the buffet dinner and breakfast did not taste good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CKP02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed for a week in the end of May, 2012. Arrived from the Shin-Chitose airport (we rented a car there): 1,5 hours by the highway. The hotel is located in a very famous hot spring town called Noboribetsu adjacent to the terrific volcanic valley "Jugokudani" (means "The Hell Valley"), the source of the hotel's geothermal hot water. The area has a lot of attractions, both for adults and kids as well - The Hell Valley itself, the Historical Village, The Bear Farm with terrific view of the Kuttara lake, The Aquarium in Noboribetsu village, etc. Worth to rent a car to get to more distant places like the Toya lake with its famous Usuzan volcano, Muroran port with its Swan bridge or Orofure pass.
We stayed in two standard western style rooms on the 10th floor with a view of the town. The rooms were clean (a little bit worn, but not an issue at all) and well maintained, equipped with LCD TV. Unfortunately, no wi-fi in the rooms, you need to go to the first floor,near the sitting area in the lobby. The food (breakfast&dinner included) was very good, specially seafood (crabs, sashimi, etc.). You can choose from both Japanese & European cuisine. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The main attraction of the place is its hot springs, specially the outdoor pools. They claim it to be the biggest in Japan. Unforgettable experience of getting up earlier (opens up at 4 a.m.) and be the only one in the outdoor pool enjoying the sky just before the sunrise!
Highly recommend this hotel, if you want to experience the Japanese-style relaxation.
Iryna & Anatoli

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anatoli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed a night as part of our Hokkaido trip. We were in luck as it was summer and the town would have a Ghost firework on a Friday as part of their festivities. So that was a bonus.

After coming from the Jozankei area, with the small old Onsen hotel, this was actually a step up.

THe area has sulphuric geothermal activity in the surrounding mountain, so this was something different from the other Onsen hotels we've been to till this point, so it was an experience. The onsen would have hotspring water that has sulphur content, thus be prepared for the smell.

It was with that that I would recommend heading straight for the outdoor onsen as soon as possible to get a better mix of fresh air and sulphur smell. On the onse, as mentioned by other reviewers, they switch the men's and women's (ie mornings and afternoons), and you have to try both, as one outdoor onsen kind of stares into boulders and hotel pillars, the other gives you a mountain slope view that is quite breath-taking.

I read here from a previous reviewer that you should choose a room on the higher floor to avoid as much of the sulphur smell as possible, and I agree with that recommendation.

Pros:
- Great onsen.
- Buffet dinner we were served was OK. Plenty of varieties, but don't be late to dinner.
- Opportunistic to see the Ghost Festival (only Fridays during summer I am told)

Cons:
- None really, except perhaps the sulphur smell, but that's a given considering its a sulphur onsen.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors to avoid the sulphur smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k.lo44w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

On the first night of our seven day tour in Hokkaido, we stayed at the onsen resort in Noboribetsu, a small onsen (hot spring) town. The resort is know for its onsen if I'm not wrong.

Check-in was literally within under a second. They had prepared keys for the entire group so we simply took it and leave. I'm not sure if this is applicable for those not partaking in a tour group, but nonetheless this was the only hotel (so far) to provide this service during our trip.

Our room is a tatami style room, a traditional Japanese-style room with a table and mattresses. They did not prepare the mattresses in our room so we had to take the liberty to set it up ourselves (apparently they did set up the beds in my aunts room). The electrical outlets were located in a distant corner while the pillows, filled with beans, were like Siamese twins. Two bean-filled pillows with one pillow casing. It was a smart idea though; we could choose a low or high pillow.

The star feature of the hotel is the onsen, located in the basement. They provided the outfits to wear to enter the onsen in our rooms. There are four types of hot springs: sulfur (iron mineral), acidic (or something), another sulfur pool and another one that I had forgotten. In reality, there are more than fifteen pools, both indoors and outdoors. There were very hot ones (which I enjoyed), cold ones to provide contrast, jaccuzis, natural and even sloped ones. The selection was wonderful and we felt refreshed from the experience. Sleeping was much comfier despite the low-lying mattresses. The sulfur smells were not really present p, likely because we slept on the top floors.

Dinner did not really suit my taste. It was Japanese, which I naturally enjoyed, but it seemed to filling and I was too lethargic at the moment after an hour of sleep from the onsen. Breakfast was much more appetizing and delicious, even a nutrition table was provided.

Wifi is free but you may have to get a code from the reception. Overall, the experience was fantastic. Not sure about price though, but I think it was in the hundreds range.

Room Tip: If you are not fond of the smell from the nearby sulfur spring or onsen, get a room in the higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

We had reserved the Western & Japanese room with private onsen. It was great, large, new especially the outdoor private onsen which the view is good. For the public onsen, it is large and great for the outdoor one. However, do not expect too much of food provided.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Noboribetsu hotels
Noboribetsu Onsen
Noboribetsu Grand Hotel
Noboribetsu Grand Hotel
#2 of 20 in Noboribetsu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Noboribetsu Onsen
Dai-ichi Takimotokan
Dai-ichi Takimotokan
#4 of 20 in Noboribetsu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Noboribetsu Onsen
Noboribetsu Sekisuitei
Noboribetsu Sekisuitei
#9 of 20 in Noboribetsu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Noboribetsu Onsen
Kashotei HANAYA
Kashotei HANAYA
#5 of 20 in Noboribetsu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Noboribetsu Onsen
Hanayura
Hanayura
#6 of 20 in Noboribetsu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Noboribetsu Onsen
Oyado Kiyomizu-ya
Oyado Kiyomizu-ya
#7 of 20 in Noboribetsu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mahoroba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mahoroba

Property: Hotel Mahoroba
Address: 65 Noboribetsu Onsen, Noboribetsu 059-0551 , Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Noboribetsu > Noboribetsu Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Noboribetsu
#3 Family Hotel in Noboribetsu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mahoroba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mahoroba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahoroba Hotel Noboribetsu
Hotel Mahoroba Noboribetsu, Hokkaido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing