We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$178
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/30/21
Hotels.com
$178
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/30/21
Agoda.com
$164
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/21
Booking.com$254
eDreams$254
Destinia.com$299
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (714)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveler rating
210
373
91
24
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
210
373
91
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crab buffet dinner outdoor onsen hot springs japanese style room walking distance free flow convenience store horse oil hot spring hotel adults and kids set dinner love this hotel types pools tatami sapporo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 714 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed in a tatami room for one night over there. The room was ok but the service to setup the mattresses was slow. Altogether we requested the service twice before the job was done. For the hot springs, we enjoyed the outdoor pools very much! It would be a waste if staying there and not taking time to try the hot springs. The only thing which I think they should improve is the quality of the food. We are Japanese food lover but found that both the buffet dinner and breakfast did not taste good.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CKP02
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed for a week in the end of May, 2012. Arrived from the Shin-Chitose airport (we rented a car there): 1,5 hours by the highway. The hotel is located in a very famous hot spring town called Noboribetsu adjacent to the terrific volcanic valley "Jugokudani" (means "The Hell Valley"), the source of the hotel's geothermal hot water. The area has a lot of attractions, both for adults and kids as well - The Hell Valley itself, the Historical Village, The Bear Farm with terrific view of the Kuttara lake, The Aquarium in Noboribetsu village, etc. Worth to rent a car to get to more distant places like the Toya lake with its famous Usuzan volcano, Muroran port with its Swan bridge or Orofure pass.
We stayed in two standard western style rooms on the 10th floor with a view of the town. The rooms were clean (a little bit worn, but not an issue at all) and well maintained, equipped with LCD TV. Unfortunately, no wi-fi in the rooms, you need to go to the first floor,near the sitting area in the lobby. The food (breakfast&dinner included) was very good, specially seafood (crabs, sashimi, etc.). You can choose from both Japanese & European cuisine. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The main attraction of the place is its hot springs, specially the outdoor pools. They claim it to be the biggest in Japan. Unforgettable experience of getting up earlier (opens up at 4 a.m.) and be the only one in the outdoor pool enjoying the sky just before the sunrise!
Highly recommend this hotel, if you want to experience the Japanese-style relaxation.
Iryna & Anatoli

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anatoli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed a night as part of our Hokkaido trip. We were in luck as it was summer and the town would have a Ghost firework on a Friday as part of their festivities. So that was a bonus.

After coming from the Jozankei area, with the small old Onsen hotel, this was actually a step up.

THe area has sulphuric geothermal activity in the surrounding mountain, so this was something different from the other Onsen hotels we've been to till this point, so it was an experience. The onsen would have hotspring water that has sulphur content, thus be prepared for the smell.

It was with that that I would recommend heading straight for the outdoor onsen as soon as possible to get a better mix of fresh air and sulphur smell. On the onse, as mentioned by other reviewers, they switch the men's and women's (ie mornings and afternoons), and you have to try both, as one outdoor onsen kind of stares into boulders and hotel pillars, the other gives you a mountain slope view that is quite breath-taking.

I read here from a previous reviewer that you should choose a room on the higher floor to avoid as much of the sulphur smell as possible, and I agree with that recommendation.

Pros:
- Great onsen.
- Buffet dinner we were served was OK. Plenty of varieties, but don't be late to dinner.
- Opportunistic to see the Ghost Festival (only Fridays during summer I am told)

Cons:
- None really, except perhaps the sulphur smell, but that's a given considering its a sulphur onsen.

Room tip: Choose higher floors to avoid the sulphur smell.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

On the first night of our seven day tour in Hokkaido, we stayed at the onsen resort in Noboribetsu, a small onsen (hot spring) town. The resort is know for its onsen if I'm not wrong.

Check-in was literally within under a second. They had prepared keys for the entire group so we simply took it and leave. I'm not sure if this is applicable for those not partaking in a tour group, but nonetheless this was the only hotel (so far) to provide this service during our trip.

Our room is a tatami style room, a traditional Japanese-style room with a table and mattresses. They did not prepare the mattresses in our room so we had to take the liberty to set it up ourselves (apparently they did set up the beds in my aunts room). The electrical outlets were located in a distant corner while the pillows, filled with beans, were like Siamese twins. Two bean-filled pillows with one pillow casing. It was a smart idea though; we could choose a low or high pillow.

The star feature of the hotel is the onsen, located in the basement. They provided the outfits to wear to enter the onsen in our rooms. There are four types of hot springs: sulfur (iron mineral), acidic (or something), another sulfur pool and another one that I had forgotten. In reality, there are more than fifteen pools, both indoors and outdoors. There were very hot ones (which I enjoyed), cold ones to provide contrast, jaccuzis, natural and even sloped ones. The selection was wonderful and we felt refreshed from the experience. Sleeping was much comfier despite the low-lying mattresses. The sulfur smells were not really present p, likely because we slept on the top floors.

Dinner did not really suit my taste. It was Japanese, which I naturally enjoyed, but it seemed to filling and I was too lethargic at the moment after an hour of sleep from the onsen. Breakfast was much more appetizing and delicious, even a nutrition table was provided.

Wifi is free but you may have to get a code from the reception. Overall, the experience was fantastic. Not sure about price though, but I think it was in the hundreds range.

Room tip: If you are not fond of the smell from the nearby sulfur spring or onsen, get a room in the higher floors.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alejandroeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We had reserved the Western & Japanese room with private onsen. It was great, large, new especially the outdoor private onsen which the view is good. For the public onsen, it is large and great for the outdoor one. However, do not expect too much of food provided.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews