We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have the time to fit this site into your holiday, do so as the carvings are amazing!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dazu Rock Carvings

The Dazu Rock Carvings
Book In Advance
More Info
$156.00*
and up
Custom Day Tour: Dazu Rock Carvings
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Dazu County
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: More than 50,000 Buddhist stone carvings date from the 9th to 13th centuries.
Cookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
430 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“If you have the time to fit this site into your holiday, do so as the carvings are amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Especially considering their age and the fact that some continue to proudly demonstrate some of their original paint. These absolutely huge rock carvings - Buddhist, Taoist and Confucianist - are amazing (in complexity (of carving) and of number).
Be aware, the site has many steep steps and uneven corridors so it's not ideal for the unfit or infirm. Enjoy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank H1CAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    68
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Buddhist art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Wonderful grotto carvings--i thought more evocative with stories of taming the buffalo etc compared to Datong. This is 2 1/2 hours from Chongqing and so best to leave very early and allow time to recover and wander around the two main sites and soak up the beauty of the grottos. You could also stay in Dazu Ramada or elsewhere to break up the drive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MDTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dazu Rock Carvings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I had an incredible time visiting the Dazu Rock carvings. It is a UNESCO World heritage sight and the details are incredible. A must see for anyone who loves the Chinese (or Asian) culture. You will not be disappointed!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank faziok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dazu Buddhist Caves”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had originally planned to visit Chongqing to do the Yangtze river cruise, but ended up not having enough time but had already booked hostels.

We set off early in the morning as we had a flight to catch at 9pm that evening (Would not recommend doing this. Although we fine in the end we did constantly have that hanging over us for the entire day).

Buses leave from the main Chongqing bus station from about 7am onwards. The journey there took about 3 hours. Upon reaching Chongqing's old bus station, you have to go to the new bus station. Not too difficult, but make sure you have the Chinese for this written down. We took a rickshaw for Y5. Upon reaching the old bus station we then had to wait for another bus. This bus then drove us to another bus, and which finally took us up the moutain to Baodangshan. Once there, the bus parks near all the standard souvenir shops and from there its about a ten minute walk to the site (don't bother getting a shuttle or rickshaw).

Once there we paid Y170 (no student discount), which was by far the priciest attraction we did in China.

The carvings themselves were stunning. Carved entirely out of the rock face, and painted over the subsequent centuries they are really unique. Unfortunately the thousand had boddhavistta was being restored a the time we went. We managed to avoid most of the large local crowds as it was a weekday which definitely improved the visit. The forest setting was absolutely beautiful too.

I would only recommend doing this if you have time spare in Chongqing for any reason. Although they are truly amazing, the difficulty and time we spent getting there (along with the evening flight constantly hanging over us) kind of tainted it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Raashad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dazu Rock Carvings-History, Religion and Art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I had the chance to visit the Dazu Rock Carvings with a large group of people from two universities, one int the U.S and the other in China. It is a a UNESCO World Heritage site and truly remarkable. The works are very beautiful, all carved out of the mountain sides. Individuals worked on these carvings from the 7th century A.D. until the end of the nineteenth century. Our group marveled at the figures we saw though we did not see the 50,000 reported to be on the site. The depiction of Buddhist, Confucian and Taoist beliefs was also very impressive. There was a fair amount of climbing and a long bus ride from Chongqing, but this was really worth seeing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dazu Rock Carvings also viewed

Dazu County, Chongqing Region
Dazu County, Chongqing Region
 

Been to The Dazu Rock Carvings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing