We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Pingyao Yide Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pingyao Yide Hotel
Ranked #1 of 387 Pingyao County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Beautiful courtyard hotel. Lovely rooms, very cozy and clean. The restorant is lovely and serves great food. The staff kind and very helpful. Would deffenetly recommend staying in this truly authentic courtyard hotel. Pingyao is an old beautiful walled city and worth the visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TatianaAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    135
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
80
208
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We chose this one based on Tripadvisor reviews and were very happy with it, as other people. Pingyao in itself was sort of a disappointment, as the old beautiful walled city is now a mass tourism destination for large Chinese groups with all the drawbacks of it.
The hotel is beautiful and feels authentic, roughness included, unlike other "courtyard homes" which have been badly restored with fake glitzy details. Rooms are very clean; some people found the traditional thin mattresses uncomfortable, but that wasn't a problem for us and we really enjoyed the pillows filled with some dried seeds rather than the usual poly filling. The owners are kind, helpful and efficient and we didn't fell pressured to eat at the hotel restaurant (which is OK, by the way, if slightly overpriced) and they organised our airport transfer in a excellent private car at the same price we would have paid for a cab.
One note: the hotel is very central but in a side road- pay attention if you arrive at night, and pay attention anyway as Pingyao is full of bicycles and electric scooters (silent, you don't hear them arrive) which will run into you before you know it.

Room Tip: we stayed in the superior room, which was only a few quids more on Agoda- it has a semi-private cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nena12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Great place and location. The staff were really helpful and spoke well English. Rooms are clean, we had a the smaller double room but this was sufficient for the 2 of us. There is nothing wrong with the bathroom. Would stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spikelutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the Yide hotel this summer with our 3 kids and it was amazing! When you arrive at the hotel, it feels like you are stepping back in time. The cobble stone walkways, the glowing red lanterns and the peaceful silence that welcomes you as you enter this 300 year-old courtyard residence is unforgettable. The rooms, adorned with beautiful antique furniture, are spacious, and the traditional beds are huge and comfy! There is also a wonderful restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Sometimes it's a little scary to just venture out to find a good place to eat in China, given the cleanliness factor, but this restaurant is very clean with an eclectic mix of Asian and Western fare. We had breakfast and dinner there every day. Lastly, the staff is wonderfully accommodating and everyone speaks English really well!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamblingRoseSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steenbergen
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in september 2012. The very best place to stay in Pingyao. Spotless clean rooms in authentic Chinese style with airconditioning, private bathroom, wifi and English CCTV. Very quiet. Beautiful courtyard architecture. Great atmosphere. Great staff that spoke English and was very helpfull. They can arrange pick up at the train station, and train tickets and taxi for you if you leave Pingyao. They did that for us. Everything was correct. If you leave late in the evening they have a spotless restroom with a toilet and shower you can use for free. Great location and great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyfromHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I had a wonderful experience staying at Yide Hotel. The hotel is centuries old and built in traditional Chinese courtyard style. My room was in the ancient style and yet comfortable. The service was wonderful and understated. By that I mean, for example, Julie went out of her way to hold a theatre seat for me and yet I wouldn't have noticed if I wasn't really paying attention. Also the hotel restaurant had the best food I tried in Pingyao, again with warm and friendly service. Also the hotel is located in a quite area away from the main tourist streets which I enjoyed and walking to those main streets only took a few minutes and I was able to go different ways and see some aspects of Pingyao I wouldn't have seen otherwise. Also Julie organised Mr Chen to drive me to Wang Family Courtyard, Zhangbi Castle & Zhangbi Village (and underground castle). Mr Chen was great - really friendly and helpful, had a nice car and was reasonably priced. Thank you again Julie and everyone for making my stay in Pingyao so wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seventy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Yide Hotel. It is a lovely traditional hotel full of character and atmosphere. The staff were very helpful and the location is great for exploring the city. The restaurant serves great food and we found it to be quite reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMSmillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pingyao County hotels
1.0 mi away
Pingyao Cheng Jia Hotel
Pingyao Cheng Jia Hotel
#2 of 115 in Pingyao County
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Wall Old House Ji's Residence
City Wall Old House Ji's Residen...
#3 of 115 in Pingyao County
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yunjincheng Mansion
Yunjincheng Mansion
#1 of 115 in Pingyao County
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Water Hotel, Pingyao
Water Hotel, Pingyao
#4 of 115 in Pingyao County
15 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yu Feng Heng Hotel
Yu Feng Heng Hotel
#14 of 115 in Pingyao County
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dejuyuan Folk-style Guesthouse
Dejuyuan Folk-style Guesthouse
#3 of 387 in Pingyao County
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pingyao Yide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pingyao Yide Hotel

Property: Pingyao Yide Hotel
Address: No.16 Shangxiang Street, Pingyao County 031100, China
Location: China > Shanxi > Pingyao County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 387 B&Bs / Inns in Pingyao County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pingyao Yide Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a beautifully renovated courtyard house built in 1736 by a wealthy merchant in Qing dynasty.Traditional,very elegant, clean rooms with a full range of amenities.Stay here,that could be the unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Pingyao Yide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing