We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveler rating
4
7
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
7
2
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 13 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2015

This budget hotel is a real find to experience a hotel so evocative of old China. We loved everything about the totally chinese interior of our room which had a very large bed with a very thin mattress. I found it a bit hard though my husband said he slept fantastically on it. The bathroom was clean and although there was no safe or fridge in the room there was a TV. The walls are quite thin and we could hear other hotel guests talking in the morning but it added to the atmosphere (they were all Chinese). There was no English spoken here but people were friendly and our paperwork was all in order for our stay. No food is served at the hotel but there are places to eat around the town which is an easy stroll from the hotel.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Holidayqueen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Value for money budget accommodation. Rooms quite large and bathrooms slightly dated but quite clean. Heating was average however adequate (visited during winter). Staff at the hotel can't speak english however would call another staff member at their sister hotel to help with translation - this staff member was extremely helpful. Breakfast was very basic but adequate - stops service at 8:30 am therefore unable to have a sleep in.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

No glamorous lobby and swiming pool but this was one memorable experience of a chinese tavern in old China, very fitting for stay in the Pinyao Ancient city.

We came in a group and the different rooms allocated had different sizes so you could made a request in advance for the bigger rooms if you prefer. Me wife and I were allocated a smaller double-bed size room. Although the bathroom was really simple (shower without curtain) but we loved the the wooden door entrance and the bed which was a good replica of those used in ancient times and comfortable enough.

I think the tavern's name Chengjia (meaning Chen Family) has a few branches so you may want to enquire clearly upfront for the location that suits you better. By make no mistake that this branch (i.e. Hotel 2nd) was a great experience.

If you visit Pinyao Ancient yourself, the city restricts public vehicle transportation to only scooter-vehicle which is quite convenient and this hotel is about a 15min walk from the main
commercial street.

Date of stay: March 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank GaryY633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We rented two rooms for our family of four. Hotel arranged to pick us up and drop us off at the train station for free. This is a huge relief especially if you are not familiar with the area the first time or at night. They also bought the train tickets for us while we were sightseeing at a nearby town. This is all done through a few phone calls back and forth, in Chinese, of course, and the tickets were awaiting for us when we got back to the hotel at night. For this part of China, one cannot be too picky with the living conditions. As long as you can get pass that, and you can converse a bit in Chinese, this is a fine place to stay, and with excellent service!

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_and_Learn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews