We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
On the ticket

This is part of the day ticket you pay for. It has some cool artifacts and some signs in English... read more

Reviewed June 12, 2017
Harding2096
,
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
via mobile
Incredible exhibits-poor translations

I'm bilingual in Mandarin and had Chinese relatives with me, so I didn't find it as difficult to... read more

Reviewed February 24, 2017
Lady_Snowhawk
,
England, United Kingdom
Read all 27 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Pingyao County
from $77.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
from $118.00
More Info
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveler rating
7
8
9
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
8
9
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 27 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2016

The Armed Escort Museum could be the best museum in Pingyao. The premise is so interesting, it's history so fascinating and the exhibits so unusual, that a good curator could do a lot with it. Unfortunately, it is chaotic (as in, there is no theme or focus), exhibits are poorly maintained and there is almost no explanation other than in Chinese. We were fortunate to have a local guide who helped us make sense of this precursor to Brinks. Definitely worth a visit, together with the Rishengchang Bank, to understand the recent history of Pingyao - but only if you read Chinese or have a local guide.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Ashok-Seenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2015

I like it.I i enjoyed you service . i will come next for enjoying . i will say to your friends also.

Date of experience: September 2015
4  Thank mariyadelhicallgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2015

The story of how businessmen/merchants moved their money is a good one and was the basis for future security operations. Without an informed guide, this would have been a real dud. With a guide, it was just average.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2015 via mobile

With the entry ticket to Old City you get access to all of the ancient buildings. Apart from a brief introduction at the front door, there are no other signs in English in this particular one again unable to see how different from the others in the city

1  Thank JustJessPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2015

The translation given to us was that there are two 'Armed Escorts Museums' in Pingyao (why two wan't explained), which conveys the meaning rather better than the title 'China Escort Agency'.

These were groups of highly trained men who guarded bullion, cash and valuables in transport. It is because Pingyao was where the Chinese banking system developed that the museums are here.

We only visited this of the two museums, which was very interesting and contained some informative material. Entry is gained by the 120 yuan ticket covering all Pingyao's attractions.

Date of experience: April 2015
1  Thank Sarum_Castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews