We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
21
28
10
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
28
10
5
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 64 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2017

good first impressions: the outside and the reception they give just the idea of tradition and antiquity. The rooms are small, but they are old and dirty. I had the wrong idea to look under the bed and found food, toilet paper ... The bathroom is wet and old. The Windows of the bedrooms from the breakfast room. Breakfast is traditional Chinese only. only the location is good because it is at the entrance of the village.

Room Tip: avoid rooms on the ground floor
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mauro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2016

The location is just within the old city and as a plus a taxi or car can drive you there direct with your luggage.
We received an upgrade to an Executive suite with separate bedroom, lounge room, ensuite & powder room. The room was very clean and well maintained. We stayed in the middle of winter and the room and whole hotel was very warm. This does not always happen at some hotels in winter so we were pleasantly surprised.
The room came with breakfast included. Where they serve breakfast was a bit smokey and options limited but the congee was nice ( only a few English choices). Not complaining as it was complimentary and there are multiple breakfast choices to choose from in Pingyao. Jings Residence is a walk away and they do a lovely breakfast in a beautiful setting.
The staff were friendly and helpful. I speak some Chinese and it was enough for basic communication but you might find it difficult if you can't. I ran into a problem when I had to explain I needed something couriered to Beijing but they made a phone call and rustled up a manager who spoke English. They tried really hard to help me out.
Overall it was a nice stay in a good location, the room was great and the reception staff were efficient & friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank annieandhamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2016

Our first impression of the hotel was all good. The location was good, being a short walk from the East Gate of the City Wall and Pingyao Confucian Temple. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful but some spoke very little English.

However, the toilet was poorly lit. The carpet in the room was badly stained in various places. The hairdryer was broken. The room looks tired. And, we couldn't find any facial tissue in the room/toilet but a toilet roll (placed in a beautiful Chinese lacquer box) by the sink. And the breakfast spread was very very limited - save for the (freshly cooked) noodles and plain congee, the other Chinese items looked unappetizing and cold.

Overall, it is still a decent place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TnSoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2016 via mobile

Hotel is good service and good location at the old city surround by restaurant. Room is ok. If you love old Chinese style. i recommend. No swimming pool no other facility have only restaurant. Breakfast is the same other hotel not bad. For me i love this hotel

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank KornJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2016

It's interesting how you get to the hotel. I booked pickup service on Ctrip, the driver somehow couldn't locate the hotel precisely, I had to call the hotel for assistance, they sent a car to pick me up. If you are a non-Chinese speaker, you'd better to arrange an airport pick-up directly with the hotel, it's only RMB100 difference, but save you a lots of hassles. The hotel's location is very convenient, the old city is just on the right side. Room and facilities are very simple, can't be compared with 5-star hotels. The walls are really thin!!! I was waken up by the next door "working out" in the early morning; I couldn't sleep because the new neighbors were too noisy. No gym unfortunately. I only had the breakfast in the hotel, which was very Chinese, but okay. The staff was very nice and kind.

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ZhiyiQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews