We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel, friendly service”
Review of Hongshanyi Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hongshanyi Inn
Ranked #54 of 412 Pingyao County B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 29, 2013

--- Rooms ---
The rooms are small and the bathroom is only okay, with the shower flooding the room a bit. Electric heating / aircon about which we had the impression that it didn't really heat the room but just generate noise. However, everything was clean and consistent with the charming courtyard atmosphere of the hotel.

There is in-room WiFi, though you have to ask for a password at the reception.

Needless to say that the beds are hard, as this is the default in China. Personally, I slept very well.

--- Staff ---
The reception staff is friendly and trying to do their best to be at your service. Their English can be basic, though they do their best to help you nonetheless. We had an issue with the toilet in our room and managed to explain it to them, it was fixed within a couple of hours.

--- Restaurant ---
The breakfast is just average, both concerning the Chinese and the Western options. For dinner, there are better and less expensive options in town. Though if you are feeling lazy, it is also fine to dine in the hotel restaurant, the food is good enough.

--- Atmosphere ---
The charming courtyard atmosphere makes your stay in the already very beautiful city of Ping Yao feel even more authentic. If you are into a calm and relaxing time warp, than the peaceful courtyard with Chinese music and faux-antique furniture should be your cup of tea. We came from Beijing and the atmosphere created by this hotel was the sea of tranquillity that helped us relax from the previous big city excitement.

A minus point though for the portrait of Stalin hanging in the hotel lobby, next to Lenin, Marx and Engels. Reverence for communist figures may still exist in China and does not generally bother me, but Stalin killed millions of people, which was even acknowledged by the communist leadership of the USSR after his death. These days, he clearly shouldn't be portrayed in a romanticised way any more!

--- Location ---
Traditional Ping Yao is a really small town and as any hotel within the city walls, this hotel is really close to all the attractions. So it's well located!

Overall I can recommend this hotel, if small rooms and average breakfast don't bother you. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anselm_randomtoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 60 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel has a lovely Chinese atmosphere and I really enjoyed my stay here. It is right in the middle of the town and so central for wandering the picturesque streets of Pingyao. Our room was in a courtyard where Chinese music played and had lanterns hanging up. It was such a refreshing change from the big skyscraper type hotels we had previously stayed in.
Our bed was hard but most Chinese beds are hard and the room was small but provided everything we needed.
The people were very friendly and helpful but did not speak a lot of English.
Don't expect a Western style breakfast. There wasn't any cereal, but this is a Chinese Inn style hotel, and there is no need to go hungry.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a traditional courtyard hotel with charm and character. It's stone court yards and walls create a distinct atmosphere. Unfortunately the rooms were in need of an upgrade and refresh. Their maintenance programme also needs to improve. We had to move rooms as in the first one the heat pump didn't work properly. The staff were friendly and helpful. I also suggest have your meals in some of the many better eating places on the main streets in Pingyao.

Room Tip: Specify if you want a room on the ground level if you want to avoid carrying y0ur bags up the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel has grat potential; it has been well restored on the whole, it has good copies of Ming furniture and is close to the center of the old walled city. Unfortunately, it is vastly overpriced for the service it provides. The room is small, there is no space for a suitcase. The bed is extremely uncomfortable, shower (cold!) floods the rest of the bathroom/toilet. Watch out for traps such as teabags or refreshing towels in your room that will cost you extra money. The city map you receive at the reception may be in Chinese only. The dining room staff are surly, and if you have mislaid your breakfast voucher, even showing your room key will not help you to get any breakfast. ...
So far, in 14 days around China, this is the only disappointment; everywhere else both hotels and staff were above expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marijana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Perhaps it just fits a Western fantasy of traditional Chinese elegance, but this hotel is beautifully and charmingly decorated in its common areas -- like a movie set, really. The room was fine, on the smaller side, shower was more of a trickle, no floor divider from rest of bathroom -- but the decor was nothing special.

The hotel restaurant serves very good food, beautifully presented -- certainly the most artistic presentation I found on my trip to China.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank formershrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a beautiful looking hotel from the outside and as you walk through the courtyards to the rooms. However, the room itself was pretty average with a very hard bed (pretty standard in China but this was exceptionally hard). I think the biggest disappointment though was the staff. We spent 28 days in China and stayed in a huge range of accommodation from very basic dorm rooms in hostels to lovely bedrooms in traditional Chinese hotels to a very modern aparthotel style rooms. The one aspect which was pretty consistent across all these hotels was the lovely helpful staff. This hotel was the exception to that rule unfortunately. They were just very disinterested and unhelpful. We also felt it was a shame they insisted upon lighting the hotel courtyards up with garish neon lights all over the place instead of just the beautiful red lanterns. Just looked a bit tacky.

In summary the hotel was ok but for my money there were places which looked far more welcoming, were even more central and cheaper. We ate in Tian Yuan Kui which seemed really nice with great tables overlooking the busy street, nice food and helpful staff. Looked a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hughesy_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 1 night. This hotel is fully restored to the Ming/Qing period complete with exterior courtyards, gateways, passage ways and interior finishes that make you feel that you just step back in time to 600-900 years ago. The guesthouse is a series of interconnected buildings and courtyards all surrounded by a high wall and located inside the ancient city of Pingyao. Our selected room had an entry from the courtyard into a common sitting room shared by two separate bedrooms that was furnished in period furniture. The bedroom was decorated in period classical motif with a king bed, soft mattress, silk pillows and duvet, a large closet, flat screen TV & heat/air conditioning controls. The separate modern bathroom was complete with a large shower and complimentary combs, toothpaste, brushes and toiletries. The room was very quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: Persons with mobility difficulties will require a room at courtyard (ground) level and if staying mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tedmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pingyao County hotels
0 mi away
Jing's Residence
Jing's Residence
#1 of 128 in Pingyao County
268 reviews
0 mi away
Pingyao Cheng Jia Hotel
Pingyao Cheng Jia Hotel
#3 of 128 in Pingyao County
143 reviews
0 mi away
Pingyao Yide Hotel
Pingyao Yide Hotel
#1 of 412 in Pingyao County
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
Tai He Men Roadhouse
#20 of 412 in Pingyao County
1 reviews
0 mi away
Yu Feng Heng Hotel
Yu Feng Heng Hotel
#14 of 128 in Pingyao County
26 reviews
0 mi away
Hong Hu Hotel
Hong Hu Hotel
#17 of 128 in Pingyao County
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hongshanyi Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hongshanyi Inn

Address: No.18 Maquan Alley_the west of yamen scenic spot,200m from mingqin street_, Pingyao County 031100, China
Location: China > Shanxi > Pingyao County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 412 B&Bs / Inns in Pingyao County
Price Range: $73 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hongshanyi Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pingyao Hongshanyi hotle have many different kinds of rooms,70 luxurious quest-rooms,including family suits,business big bed,deluxe suite etc,for 150 people living and have a meeting at the same time.The JinZhong local food culture in addition,the characteristics dishes and variety pasta attracted many famous people from home and abroad to teste it.As time goes on, Our hotel inherited the latter historical context making the city tourism card. Based on hundred years of post culture,with unique style,top grade service, features dihes and approachable price attracts lot of guests at home and abroad:Former international Olympic committee president Jacques Rogge,the father of the Euro Robert Mundell,Taiwan KMT honerary chairman Lian Zhan,The famous actor Zhangguoli,Duyuan,The famous singer Guolanying,Yanweiwen,Liyugang,Hou Hwo’s Family Hwozhengting,Hwoqigan.Olympic champion Guojinjin.The space hero Zhaizhigang,Liuboming.Jinhaipen etc,all these politicians starts had been staying at our hotle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hongshanyi Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing