We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility by name, Tranquility by nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tranquility Guesthouse
Ranked #72 of 237 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We are staying here for 4 months in total & are really happy with our accommodation. Tranquility is on Serendipity beach, just a short walk from all the party bars but we never hear a thing. Our room is kept clean & has its own bathroom. The staff are really friendly & Ian goes out of his way to be helpful. Perhaps the best part though is that the restaurant is right beside the beach & the food is very good.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaMark1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 77 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2010

It sounds cliche, but Tranquility lived up to its name.

Great location close to the nightlife, but not so close to keep you awake with noise all night. Also on the less busy side of the pier, which meant less hassle from kids selling bracelets, etc and beggars.

(Side note on the kids selling on the beach - guides request you don't buy anything from them, since it promotes them to stay out of school. Also an innocent friendly conversation the kids may use to pick up cheeky ways to sell better, which doesn't help either.)

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. If you are there on Sunday, then check out the roast which comes with yorkshire pudding and the works. Yum!

A big plus is that they take visa, which has been a rarity so far on our 5 weeks in SE Asia.

The only downside during our stay was that we weren't able to connect to the WiFi, but we got onto one available next door so no dramas.

All in all a great place to let the days slip by while enjoying comforts of home in a great setting.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katwithpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Did not really know what to expect prior to arriving at Tranquility Guesthouse due to the mixed reviews that I’ve read on Tripadvisor however Tranquility turned out to be quite a gem when you’re staying at Serendipity Beach that’s filled with beach bars and kids trying to sell you stuff constantly.

Rooms are clean and comfortable with A/C and hot water, though the toilets could use a little refurbishment but not a big problem at all. Price is reasonable and best of all, rooms are on the beach (probably 20 steps away) and it was at the quieter side of the beach which equates to less kids trying to sell you bracelets, food, massages etc. Pick-up service from the bus station is provided for free as well.

The restaurant serves really good food and prices are affordable, beer is cheap and if you’re into partying into the nite, the nightspots are all within walking distance (i.e Utopia, JJ’s Playground which is two doors away) and even if it’s too far to walk, there’s always a tuk tuk around.

All in all, it’s the place to go to escape from the craziness of Sihanoukville but not too far off from the party

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

It was my 2nd time at Sihanoukville just to unwind but this time im with my hubby,2nd time around in Tranquility guest house.i'ts quite great there and value for money.Its on the beachfront so you dont have any hassle of picking up your things and going back on bed for a little rest after strolling on the sands.even it rained during our stay,the next day the sun smiled for us and we did enjoy,,hope i have a long holiday this yearend to come back at sihanoukville,and be back at tranquility.Have plans to go on Ostres ,Sokha and Bamboo Island too..and next to Phuket of course with my hubby :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabiG25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Well what a way to finish my holiday, i turned up at Tranquility in a little bit of trepidation, due to mixed reviews on Trip Advisor, but i need not have worried about my choice of accommodation (I think some people just like to moan). Anyway i was greeted by the owners in a very friendly manner and after checking in, all the staff made me feel at home.
The bungalows are nicely decorated, clean and well maintained. The food in the restaurant is very good, especially the whole Red Snapper and the Fish Amok, but the best thing about Tranquility must be the location, right on the beach, so in the morning you step out of your bungalow and walk straight into the sea.
I was only going to stay 4 nights and then move onto Kampot and Kep, but I ended up staying 9 nights as everything at Tranquility was so perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankieontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

I stopped here for a week in April and thought it was a perfect location on the beach. Away from some of the noisier bars. The bungalows themselves are nicely decorated and were pretty clean.

I thought the selection of food was excellent with both western and Khmer catered for and the local staff were very attentive. Ian and Sue (the owners) were also very friendly and helped to arrange transport and accommodation for other parts of my trip through Cambodia.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macsc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Was recommended by some friends who have stayed, found the staff friendly and helpful especially Ian and Susan. The location is beautiful and peaceful, for Cambodia we found the lodges to be good quality. Will be staying longer next year.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nags100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.0 mi away
8 Elemento
8 Elemento
#60 of 150 in Sihanoukville
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cloud9 Bungalows
Cloud9 Bungalows
#113 of 237 in Sihanoukville
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chochi Garden Guest House
Chochi Garden Guest House
#8 of 237 in Sihanoukville
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows
Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalow...
#23 of 237 in Sihanoukville
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mick and Craig's Guesthouse
Mick and Craig's Guesthouse
#25 of 237 in Sihanoukville
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zana Beach Guesthouse
Zana Beach Guesthouse
#24 of 237 in Sihanoukville
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Guesthouse

Address: Serendipity Beach | Serendipity Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $12 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tranquility Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility is a beachfront property that has different rooms to meet all your needs! We have dorm rooms, rooms with fans only, family rooms, and rooms with AC. Recently added brand new rooms with your own oceanview balconies! Take your pick!! Restaurant has Khmer and western food. Come sit, relax at our full bar overlooking our own beachfront! Look forward to seeing you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Tranquility Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Guesthouse Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing