We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
832 results
Traveler rating
291
299
150
47
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
291
299
150
47
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset restaurant main building private beach premier villa glass elevator ocean pool tuk tuk original building free shuttle floor to ceiling windows shower curtain table tennis sihanoukville town large hotel phnom penh beach bar welcome drink
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 832 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2019

Stayed in this hotel for 10 days, absolutely stunning.
The private beach and the pool area were very clean and the views were amazing.
All the staff were very helpful.
Room was so lovely, I stayed in a hut in the grounds, only 5 minute walk from the hotel.
My only fault is, and it's a selfish one is that there wasn't many vegan options in the restaurants, however apart from that it's a fabulous hotel.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amanda66492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunnang M, Guest Relations Manager at Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guests, thank you for your positive comments. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stayed with us! We hope your next stay is just around the corner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019

這家酒店是我人身中遇到最差的酒店,前臺夜晚沒有人接應電話 打了5分鐘都無人接.最後要打去room serice才有人接聽. 另外, 他們的tuk tuk車服務更加差. 我們雙方答應了$5 到市區. 去到中途, 有大車壞了, 有少少擠塞但我們眼見其他車甚至tuk tuk 車都可以係壞車旁繼續前進,唯獨是我們tuk tuk 司機說不行,還倒頭說行另一條路但多收$3,或者你們行上去我駕車上來接你們,當然我們有說我們不去了, 請回酒店吧! 他又不接受, 最後我們便落車行上去等佢駕車上來, 如我們所料, 他自己行上來並說車上不了來, 叫我們比$3了事! 人生路不熟, 附近什麼也沒有, 只有車行駛! 我只好說你找倒另一架tuk tuk 車我就比$3 你, 因為並不易找, 係未找到前, 不停叫我們比$3, 又叫我們行前一定有. 我們沒有理會他直至他找倒車. 還有他們酒店內的buggy 車服務都令人不滿意 等了35分鐘才有接送. 本來好期待的一間酒店, 請我都不會再來呀!!!
Poor front desk service. No one pick up the phone at night for about 5 mins. Then, we called the room service for help. Super poor tuk tuk driver provided by the hotel. On the way to the destination, there's a truck clogged the road but cars even tuk tuk can still go straight. Our tuk tuk driver stopped and U turn due to this. He asked for extra $3 more by drriving us another way to the destination. We rejected and he asked us to walk and paid him $5. Poor buggy car service. We called for asking the buggy car and finally we amost wait for 35 mins. Can't imagine if we are rush to catch up the flight!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank sophialok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunnang M, Guest Relations Manager at Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

亲爱的客人,
感谢您抽出宝贵时间給予反饋。 我们期待着您再次的光临

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019

The Sea Pavilion accommodation cost me $140 USD and I had a noisy old air conditioner that made me wear earplugs at night. On the final night and morning it did not work. I sweated while packing to leave. The internet kept constantly dropping out and they blamed the provider although they did not even have a transmission box (router) on my building. I also noticed plates with Asian food stacked against the side wall of the entrance of my building over a two day period. On the second afternoon I surprised a cat who was tucking into the food. I found all of this a total disgrace for the price. The manager, who is a super attentive person is being let down by management who continue with aging infrastructure at a high level resort as well as his staff. For example, the night reception guy is not meant for hospitality but a back desk in a government department.
Sihanoukville is now a man-made disaster site. The Sino influence has meant it is a vast dusty construction site with torn up dusty roads right up to the end of Otres beach, approximately 12 km away. Budget airlines are flying in from about 6-8 Chinese cities with patrons for 27 casinos (at present and more to come). You will be coming across plenty of bogans from these cities for almost all of your holiday time.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prstork2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunnang M, Guest Relations Manager at Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Independence hotel. We appreciate your feedback we will work on improving better service. We look forward to welcoming you and your valued guests again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2019

Stayed in a new building of the right wing of the hotel. Room size, cleanliness, amenities, and the complimentary continental breakfast are all great. Enjoyed a dinner at their Dining Terrace next to the sea. A memorable experience! Great place for family weekend holiday in Sihanouk ville.

Room tip: Great to pick up their new wing room
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank punkavai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Team T, Marketing & Communications Manager at Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2019

Dear punkavi,

I am delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us here!
Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience and your compliments about our hotel. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2019

Our stay in a studio apartment attached to one of the villas along the beachfront was really delightful. The room was well furnished and the service excellent.
We had breakfast and dinner at the Sunset Restaurant and both times the food was well prepared and we were served by well trained, friendly staff.
One of the pleasures we experienced at the resort was the walk along the sea on the promenade.
Our visit to the spa and gym proved these to be well equipped and quite good value for a weary visitor to the resort.
Both pools of the resort were really very good, one along the beachfront and the other near the main building, but the pool next to the beach was a little crowded with day visitors, especially after three in the afternoons.
A well worth visit even it was a little pricy.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wouterfouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Team T, Marketing Manager at Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2019

Dear wouterfouche,
Warm Greeting from Independence Hotel by DARA!
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking your valuable time to write us a great review on TripAdvisor community. I am very pleased to read you have been well taken care of by our team, I am always thrill to read that our guest enjoy their stay and bring along a good memory. More appreciate on your compliment of our facility and employee, your lovely comment will certainly pass to them serving as motivation Thank you so much for your patronage and a wait for your return.
Yours Sincerely,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews