We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly excellent stay at the historic Independence Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2010

We were warmly welcomed by the charming staff at the Independence, a hotel with an intriguing history, and shown to our impeccably clean and beautiful room. Tastefully decorated, extremely comfortable, and with huge windows, it also had a great bathroom. We enjoyed the fact that the hotel has a garden as well as a good beach, giving us the chance to walk a bit. Perhaps what we enjoyed most was the dining ~ a huge and delicious breakfast buffet each morning, and lunch and dinner at the Sunset Bar and Restaurant. We sat just above the lapping waves and enjoyed some of the best food we've tasted in our entire 3 month long trip to SE Asia. Some evenings there is also the sumptuous seafood BBQ. Arrive hungry! The menu, by the way, is very reasonably priced. We highly recommend the Independence Hotel, and know guests will appreciate the extremely kind and competent service from the staff. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phnompenh, General Manager at Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2010

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Independence Hotel, Sihanouk Ville.

Thank you for recent stay at our beach resort , On behalf of the hotel management team , We are so glad to hear that your stay was pleasant and that our room accommodations, hotel service standard meet your expectation! Please let us know if there is any negative feedback that we might need to improve . Once again thank you for your comment.

In the meantime , We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Regards


PHILLIP TOH
General Manager
gm@independencehotel.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 659 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2010

Victor Hugo questioned whether History is “an echo of the past in the future, or a reflex from the future in the past”. The Independence Hotel manages to be both an echo of Cambodia's glamorous colonial past whilst hinting at the country's sophisticated future.
The hotel is beautifully restored, refined and tasteful. The furnishings, and decor, are plush and stylish. The longest drive of any hotel winds through plush tropical forest to this beautifully kept hotel.

The rooms are very tasteful, not overly specced, but with beautiful curtains / blinds. There's plentiful hotwater, good minibar, and very comfortable beds.

The free breakfast had a good selection of Western and Asian Foods. Service was very helpful, friendly and efficient.

The hotel has a 'private beach' which is cleaned, and is much quieter than many of the other Sihanoukville beaches. The solitude could be a potential drawback as the hotel is a little further away from the busy beaches of Sihanoukville.

This hotel is ideal for a quiet, relaxing and luxurious break by the sea. The glamour, taste and style of the hotel will provide you with a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco_PoloHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Independence Hotel in front of Independence Beach, an amazing beach! The restaurant is to die for, with a fantastic view. After lunch, definitely go swimming in the ocean! It's so much fun! Great waves, and on the beach there are little palm tree umbrellas, perfect sand and great shells. I just loved it.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank daniellekweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phnompenh, General Manager at Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2009

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Independence Hotel, Sihanouk Ville Cambodia

On behalf of hotel managment and staffs, I take this opportunity to express our sincerest appreciation for your contribution comment on our beach resort property.. We are deeply grateful for your support and generosity.. It is through the support of all travelers around the world that we are able to continue to strengthen our good service to our value customers. We are the new management team here will continue to lead the charge in providing specialized services quality to our customers in our resort.

Once again, Thank you for your interest and patronage to our independence beach resort!

With best regards,

PHILLIP TOH
General Manager
gm@independencehotel.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 20, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed September 30, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed August 20, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

More charming and more quiet than Sokha Beach, but lacks some of the professionality you get at Sokha. Beautiful private beach!

The restaurant is a minus, but the breakfast buffet is ok.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.4 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 75 in Sihanoukville
1,514 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#1 of 75 in Sihanoukville
501 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#2 of 75 in Sihanoukville
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 75 in Sihanoukville
386 reviews
5.7 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#8 of 75 in Sihanoukville
190 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 75 in Sihanoukville
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa

Address: Street 2 Thnou, Sangkat No: 03 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville 855, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sihanoukville
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sihanoukville
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $79 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independence Hotel Resort & Spa is an oasis of calm and luxury in Sihanouk Ville, Kingdom of Cambodia - one of the finest locations in South East Asia. Unspoiled sands backed by lush vegetation encircle the hotel. The full delights of the resort, spa and private beach are ready for you to enjoy. Set in the charming tropical beauty of Cambodia's premier beach destination, with 35 hectares landscape and 300 meters of private beach, Independence Hotel Resort & Spa provides you a luxurious refuge that opens out onto breath taking panoramas. Provided 8 differences categories of 128 units, with 3 function rooms, 2 Restaurants and 2 bars. The Volley ball, sunset cruises and kids play-ground are available on the beach. Home of Jouvence Spa: Cambodia's Premier Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Independence Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing