We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (822)
Filter reviews
822 results
Traveler rating
285
298
148
47
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
285
298
148
47
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset restaurant main building private beach premier villa glass elevator ocean pool jacqueline kennedy tuk tuk original building free shuttle floor to ceiling windows shower curtain table tennis sihanoukville town large hotel phnom penh beach bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 822 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2016 via mobile

What a lovely place to visit. We had a week here at this beautiful resort in a sea pavilion with the water lapping up just outside our windows. The room was very well fitted out and gave us plenty of space to spread out. It had a very 60s feel and was very comfortable. My wife and I had a couple of spa treatments and got great value for money given the great discounts they were offering. The staff were fantastic and tried so hard to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. I would particularly like to thank all of the guys who ran us up and down from our room and especially Meas who served us coffee ☕ every morning with a beautiful smile ☺. There are some building works going on near the beach but it is only a small inconvenience. A great experience and great value for money. A fantastic place to stay.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jeff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile

Firstly note that Cambodians are the nicest people so you will get friendly

Accommodation was a beach villa. Excellent room great shower very good AC
There is plenty of security
Lots of VIPs still role in as evident by the twin Rolls Royce cars parked nearby
They do have probably the best spa in country. Massages are awesome

Restaurant was very good. Private beach with fantastic sunsets.

Couldn't ask for more

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank brucect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights. Went with my wife looking for a private clean beach and we found it. Isolated from noisy Serendipity beach but close enough to go and visit the restaurants (free shuttle to anf from town). Yes the hotel is aold and you can see it but still a great experience if you want to be away for some days. Great sunsets

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank diegomahecha1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a villa for 3 days, and it was superb, esp. the en suite bathroom - modern and fab! Had to go out for a meal, though, as the food was a bit pricey; thumbs up for the free breakfast though, there were a lot of food to choose from. Prompt and good service from staff as well. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank supergirlmarsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

Staff was very rude and doesn't speak very much English. We came to enjoy the beautiful beach (that's why I am giving 2 stars not 1), but were offended by the staff.

Staff repeatedly made unreasonable requests and repeatedly asked us to move around while we were trying to enjoy our holiday. For a four star hotel, the Independence hotel left much to be desired.

It is also currently under construction. The loud construction noises bothered us to no end!

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank deweys22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boun Kean E, General Manager at Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2016

Soursdey dear Guests “Deweys22”,

We would like to apology about your disappointing stay with us and thank you for your precious comments.

All our residents can access to any hotel facilities. We do feel very sorry that you were offended by our staff who asked you rudely to move around the beach without reason.

We admit that most of our staff speaks with low English level and we do our best to training them the most used words and we do hope your understanding.

For the construction disturbance, we try to minimize the noise and accommodate our guests far away during the renovation period.

Again, we greatly value your patronage and hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the type of hospitality and service you expect.

Please contact me in person for your next holiday at gm@independencehotel.net.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and thank you for your support.

Yours truly,
EAP Boun Kean

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews