We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$71
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sokha Beach Resort(Sihanoukville)
$152
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chez Paou(Sihanoukville)(Great Value!)
$11
$9
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Beach Club Resort(Sihanoukville)
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queenco Hotel & Casino(Sihanoukville)
$122
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otres Lodge(Sihanoukville)(Great Value!)
$15
$12
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamu Hotel(Sihanoukville)
$65
$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sahaa Beach Resort(Sihanoukville)
$58
$47
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $59/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Don Bosco Hotel School(Sihanoukville)
$21
$19
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (761)
Filter reviews
761 results
Traveler rating
272
276
136
43
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
276
136
43
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingsunset restaurantprivate beachjackie kennedyglass elevatortuk tukfree shuttleinfinity poolshower curtainping pongsihanoukville towngolf buggysea viewrelaxing stayclean beachwelcome drinkbeach towels
Filter
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 761 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We spent three days in this old hotel that has been retrofitted with some newer appliances. The rooms were quite nice but the sea view is only possible from the top floor due to the big trees. However, I like trees so that isn't a negative thing for me. The television was undersized unless they were trying to keep the sixties theme in the room. We went out the first morning to find men's underpants on hangers all along the public balcony railing. The swimming pool was stagnant and about the same temperature as the air. I felt like I was in a big square bowl of soup. The private beach is a huge plus and the grounds are to die for. The breakfast was quite nice.
Truthfully, I think the Ministry of Tourism has been generous with the stars.

Room Tip: Top floor has sea view
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Our first time to Independance Hotel is very enjoyable. There are many ways to enjoy this hotel: beautiful private beach with soft white sand (little wawes, great warm water in mid-April), great swimming pool with separate section for little kids, spa, gym, long scenic walk by the sea, magnificient big trees surround the hotel and bungalows, excellent buffet at breakfast. The staff is very welcoming and make you feel important. As soon as we arrived they offered us wet towels to wipe ourselves followed by a fresh orange juice and believe us, with the heat in that country, we really needed it. Tuk-tuk is always available in front of the hotel.
Security is great as we went out to a club one night and came back to the hotel at 2 am to see at least 3 security gards well alert and that made us feel really secure that early in the morning.
We had a big modern room in the bungalow area near the beach. The washroom had bathtub and shower separatly and ceiling with skylight (amazing). There is an area at the beach where you can do some fishing and if you are lucky enough to catch a good size fish, the cook at the kitchen will be glad to cook it for you ( well that is service ).
We will come back with our daughter who would enjoy observing the nature from sea (crabs and fish are observable from the bridge) and land (birds, many many monkeys, many plants, trees).
Enjoy your holidays at the Independance in Cambodia!

Room Tip: Go to a bungalow if you like long walks, be close to nature. Choose the hotel section at the highest floor if you like sea view and don`t want to walk much. You are then centrally located to all services.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MmeCroisiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The private beach is superb - clean, beautiful white sand, warm sea, almost empty, secure and hassle-free. For this and the sunsets, I would love to stay at the Independence again.

We were on the 5th floor of the main building - this gives a sea view and convenience for the hotel amenities, and is worth paying a little extra for. The room was spacious and the furnishing very tasteful - it retained the 1960's stylishness but is modern in function.

The electrics would benefit from an upgrade; the central control panel is a little eccentric - most of our lights fused, and the electrician was unable to get the lights on and the room safe working simultaneously.

The hotel is quite isolated (partly, though not entirely due to the wonderful spacious grounds), so expect to take a tuk tuk to reach tourist activities away from the resort.

Room Tip: The main building is convenient for beach, pool and restaurant. Choose a high floor if the sea view matters to you.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NotLostUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel trades on the fact that it was the 1st large one in Cambodia, and that Jacqueline Kennedy stayed there in 1967. They deliberately keep things quiet which makes the beach atmosphere superb if you like it that way which we do. If you want jet skis et al, go elsewhere.

The beach is stunning, with the softest, whitest sand I've ever experienced, and lovely, shallow, clear water.

However, they seem to be concentrating on building up their new building stock of modern villas, and the main building is starting to need a bit of TLC.

Food in restaurant is excellent, but we warned, you're at least a 10 minute drive from the main town if you want to see anything else.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea, but the higher (and more expensive) the better. If you are on a lower room, ask for one at the far wend from the lifts.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rivbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We had a month at the Independence over Christmas and new year. This was our second visit and we'll be booking 2012/13 when we get back from our current trip to Florida.

Sihanoukville has maybe five or ten years before it goes the way of Karon and Kata beaches in Phuket. That is to say, wall to wall Marriott, Hilton, Merillion etc. Book it while it is still quirky, friendly and lovely.

Since last year the (now Khmer) management have spent money on their jewel. Their private beach.They have put in a walk-way along the shore from the bungalow section to the beach and when we were there a local artist was carving a huge lion out of the cliff rock. I look forward to seeing it finished.

They are also making the best of their other jewel in the crown. Their huge private gardens and jungle which the big boys who are moving into the area cannot hope to emulate. There are now walkways through the woods and jungles in the private grounds and it is a delight to walk and watch monkeys and birds.

The Independence is a lovely friendly place. We stay in the main hotel which is classic 1960's architecture with well appointed clean rooms. We have now stayed there a total of eight weeks and have never seen a bug in our room, never come back to our room to find it anything less than spotless and never had to complain about any aspect of the service.

Bits of the place could do with a lick of paint and it is not Sofitel, our bench mark for five star in Asia. But a boutique hotel at its best is quirky and it tries hard to please. The Independence Hotel scores top marks for this and is the reason we love it.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view but the upper floors of the main building have truly spectacular sea views. Especially at sunset
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pauleaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews