We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best places in town”
Review of The Gypsies - CLOSED

The Gypsies
Price range: $2 - $3
Cuisines: European, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Nothing to say bad here!

The food is homemade and really great :)

The couple owning the place really friend ly and helpfull

Beaware they close in the afternoon to go for the market

We eat there twice and both times just really good

1  Thank Boje P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco R, Owner at The Gypsies, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Hello Boje P,

Thank you for your nice comment, we are happy that you enjoy our place and our food. It s true we do a break between 15:30 to 17:00 to go to the market and buy what is missing. This is the only way to don't storage the food and serve daily freshly made dishes. We are now working on a new evening menu to complete our offer. We hope to see you soon by the Gypsies to share it with you!

Take care!

Vasco & Daga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 113 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from dinner at The Gypsies. Good food - we had spaghetti and onion soup which satisfied our desire to have other cuisines other than local Cambodian food which we had for the past few days. The other table had a sandwich & burger which looks delicious!

The restaurant is clean and cozily set up. What's best is the owner, Vasco's warmth and hospitality!

Take note that you may need to wait a bit to get your food. I think Vasco has only his girlfriend in the kitchen. But it was ok for us as we can relax and enjoy the evening breeze.

Don't miss this restaurant! It's just a few meters from the Serendipity Beach.

1  Thank satinchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco R, Owner at The Gypsies, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Hello Satinchris,

Thank you for your kind word and pictures. We are really happy that your desires to try our food satisfied you both and bring you to write so nice review. We are working now on a new evening menu and delicious cocktails to complete our offer.
We hope to see you soon by the Gypsies to share some nice time with you!
Take care!

Vasco & Daga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

The owners are passionate about their new little restaurant and the attention to detail, and their desire to ensure you enjoy the experience, shines through, along with their warm smiles. Food is beautiful and very fresh and I would definitely recommend to pay a visit. Wishing you both every success going forward.

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Suzxq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco R, Owner at The Gypsies, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Hello Suzxq,

Thank you very much for your kind words! It s true we are really happy to run our small place and take care good about all our guests. We working now on a new evening menu and some delicious cocktails to complete our offer. We hope to see you again soon by the Gypsies to share nice time with you!

Take care!

Vasco & Daga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My girlfriend and I felt very welcome here! The owners are very friendly and the food is among the best in Sihanoukville.

Date of visit: July 2014
1  Thank JohnoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco R, Owner at The Gypsies, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Hello John,

We are happy that you enjoy our place and our food!
Step by step the Gypsies will be always better place to be, we working now on a new evening menu and delicious cocktails. We will be glad to see you and your girlfriend again here.
Take care!

Vasco & Daga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great food, everything we tried was excellent. The owner is very friendly, the atmosphere is nice.
One of the best sandwiches I've ever tried! I really really recommend this place! The only restaurant I ate at multiple times in Sihanoukville!
Everything is cooked fresh as you order it, for an extremely affordable price considering what you get!

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jessica444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco R, Owner at The Gypsies, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Hello Jessica,

Thank you for your nice words, we are happy that you enjoy our place and our food. We are now working on a new evening menu and delicious cocktails.
We hope to see you again soon by the Gypsies to share that with you!
Take care!
Vasco & Daga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gypsies also viewed

Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing