We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most delightful time we had in Cambodia”
Review of Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Reef Resort
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Reviewed October 18, 2009

I stayed at the Reef Resort twice in October during three weeks in Cambodia,and I was thrilled with the hotel.The rooms are very pleasant and beautifully clean,the pool a gift after a sticky day out and the restaurant from our experience in Sihanoukville probably the best for choice,quality and price.What makes this place special is the service the guests recieve from the staff and especially the manageress Vivi who creates a very special 'villiage'atmosphere and makes all guests feel special and the guests are very eclectic,families,couples,singles and friends of all ages.

Great taxi service from hotel back to Phnom Penh for $50,but the bus journey from Phnom Penh was almost as enjoyable at $7.00 each.Best beach around was Otres beach,lovely and quiet and only a few hawkers.Vivi suggested a Tuk Tuk driver who took us here there and everywhere and no hassle.

We spent 3 nights a Sokha Beach,which was a stunning beach and being quiet was very sterile $170 a night during the rainy season too much.
Hence we elected to return to reef Resort for our last 2 nights before heading north.All in all in its price range v quality,this place was a real find;big thanks to Vivi and the girls

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garywilcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 458 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2009

To name this a "resort" is a great exaggeration as the hotel is quite small and does not have a lot of facilities except a pool and a restaurant. The hotel is very nice though, with a really good restaurat that serves delicious mexican food, the happy hour offers are of great value! The rooms are ok, both in standard and size. The hotel has free wifi and breakfast included in the roomrate. The staff is very friendly, especially the female manager! Unfortunately we arrived Sihanoukville in the rainy season and it rained nonstop during our 2 nights stay. If it hadn't been for all the rain we would definetly have stayed longer at Reefs Resort.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Ok hotel, standard rooms with airco, tv with a lot of channels, minibar and balcony with poolview, nice pool, breakfast included. Booked 1 day in advance through internet and got a very quick response. Rooms are 25 to 30 usd. About 5-10 min walk to the beach (take very good care of your belongings when at the beach!!). At the first night of our stay, our airco was leaking - a lot - and staff apologised next morning but also said it was a common problem in this room... Felt a litte akward to have a security/policemen walking around on the premises all the time at dark. Music from the bar opposite the hotel was quite loud at night. During the second night of our stay, there was no electricity during the entire night.
Like often is the case in hotels in this part of Asia, there's no showercurtain and the shower is located in the middle of the bathroom so everything in the bathroom gets wet when showering.
Overall, the place was ok but we'd expected a litte more from the no. 1 rated place on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtistheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Reef Resort offers spotless well equipped rooms (although some may find the beds a little firm and the bathrooms slightly sparse) in a convenient corner of Sihanoukville (copy and paste N 10 36 35.48 E 103 31 20.35 into Google Earth/Maps). It’s a couple of minutes walk to Serendipity Beach, has a lively, upmarket backpacker’s bar/restaurant (Monkey Republic) a couple of doors up, an ATM at the front gate and a 24 hour mini-mart next door that sells everything from vegetables to Viagra. If you want to sleep in late you may want to choose other than a poolside room as they are literally right next to the pool and early pool activity may wake light sleepers. The free Wi-Fi in the restaurant is a bonus.
The staff that we dealt with (Vivi and Russel) couldn’t have been more helpful and made sure we enjoyed our stay. Vivi organised a car/driver to pick us up from Phnom Penh Airport (3.5 hours on surprisingly good roads for USD50) then rang the driver’s phone after we’d left the airport to confirm with us that we were happy with everything. I’d choose Reef Resort’s location over anywhere in the town center; you can either walk into the CBD in about 15 minutes, or hire one of the various motorised contraptions available on the street for a dollar or two. If gambling takes your fancy there's a casino just up the road.
For an authentic Khmer feed try La Or restaurant (they advertise in the local rag) about 200m away. We wandered past one afternoon and noticed they were setting up a pig-on-a-spit (they do it a couple of nights a week) so went back in the evening to find the place packed with locals and had an excellent dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 330driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Modest but comfortable hotel in an ok spot - 10 mins walk to the beach. Great, friendly staff - especially Vivi - she really has a great rapport with her customers :)
Nice pool - breakfast ok but Mexican restaurant very ordinary.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights - and we loved it! The rooms are clean, nicely decorated and they all have a nice balcony facing the pool. The staff are great and helpful, and the cosy mexican restaurant are serving excelent food. I would highly recomend this hotel - we will stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laos_traveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Wasn't really sure what to make of this place - sure, it's no 1 but there's not a great choice in Sihanoukville (if you're looking for more than the bare basics) and the reviews here are a little mixed. Was so pleased to find it very chilled and really pleasant.

We booked a poolside room which was great - large, very clean, fully equipped with safe, fridge, cable etc (certainly didn't expect to be watching live Wimbledon at the beach in Cambodia). Only (minor) downside is that they are very close to the pool, so close that sitting outside the room you're sort of on display to everyone in the pool. We were there in low-season so it wasn't too busy.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious - great coffee, pancakes, french toast - didn't try the Mexican food as the restaurant was very quiet every night and we wanted a bit of atmosphere. We did, however, make good use of the 2-4-1 happy hour...the frozen margaritas are very good and very strong!

A passing comment - the main beach Occheuteal is a bit dirty and not very relaxing due to the constantly passing stream of hawkers and beggars. Hop on a motorbike to Otres Beach instead. Only costs $1-2 USD each way, takes about 10 mins and is much quieter, with lovely sand and almost lovely sea! Well worth it. Great Khmer food for lunch at the 'I don't know' bar right on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HitherGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.5 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#8 of 78 in Sihanoukville
1,623 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#14 of 78 in Sihanoukville
140 reviews
1.9 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 78 in Sihanoukville
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#24 of 78 in Sihanoukville
372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 78 in Sihanoukville
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thaiyang Chhen Hotel
Thaiyang Chhen Hotel
#57 of 78 in Sihanoukville
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Resort

Address: Serendipity Beach Road | Near the Golden Lions, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $35 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Resort is in the heart of Sihanoukvilles beach district. With 15 En-Suite Rooms surrounding a large open top swimming pool. With 24 hour security, Live Seafood restaurant open from 7am to midnight, pool table and bar and daily cleaning of rooms. We are the perfect option for those who want a little luxury whilst travelling through south east Asia! Visit us online or F.B for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing