We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Golden Sand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Sand Hotel
Ranked #56 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Haugesund, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Good location, Friendly staff, big and clean rooms, Safe, Wi Fi, swimming pool, ATM.
Good location, Friendly staff, big and clean rooms, Safe, Wi Fi, swimming pool, ATM.
Good location, Friendly staff, big and clean rooms, Safe, Wi Fi, swimming pool, ATM.

Room Tip: Forth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Hussein A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    120
    94
    45
    20
See reviews for
41
112
54
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Langwarrin, Victoria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the end of an extreme dirt bike rally around Cambodia. Golden Sands was recommended by the rally operator who has been 14 years in Cambodia. The room was excellent and nothing like the reviews I had read before booking. There was no noise, the rooms are large, bathrooms clean and modern, bed was large and mattress was perfect. Breakfast was not five star but then neither was the price! Location was perfect with a short stroll to the beach. The pool was very clean and certainly not utilized. If I come back, this will be my choice of hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MikeB1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. The hotel was clean and welcoming.Little dated in places but nevertheless good location and good pool. While we where there they were doing up the bar area around the pool so hopefully that will now be finished. It was just a shame that while we were relaxing by the pool at the time it wasn't possible to get a drink.

Breakfast was not the best experience for us, it was very much catered for the chinese community. Twice we had to complain about the service because food had ran out and there were no clean plates and cups available. They hotel staff were apologetic however, but not what you expect from this standard of hotel.

While in the resort of Sihanoukville we did visit Ream National Park which was beautiful but now at risk from development.

In relation to the beaches in and around Sihanoukville. I was disappointed to experience high levels of rubbish that were on the beaches. Sihananoukville does have the potential to be a great resort attracting a greater number of tourists (and not just backpackers) if the beach area was cleaner and more inviting.
Perhaps introdice a small tourist tax on non-cambodians staying in the beach resorts in which the money generated can be invested to keep the area clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ianriding78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed here 06/05/2013 for 3 nights. I was up staying in Siem Reap and last minute thought was to go to Sihanoukville. i chose the Golden Sand Hotel I stayed in suite room 316. Very large room... but dated... Great Bathroom.. . Deep Bath... Good shower. Seaview.... 2 Big Beds....... Sofa... arm chair.... Right in the middle of Entertainment Good Base for thet ( Walking distance ). Pool area for Sunbathing was FANTASTIC.... really good SUN trap. Pool for swimming... TERRIBLE.... not very deep at all... Waist height at the Deepest.......... Breakfast.......... DREADFUL.... Nothing short. STAFF FANTASTIC........... Would I stay again??????.... No !!!!!... But basic hotel and good location.

Room Tip: Get a SUITE room overlooking the Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinH001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We would like to come back to cambodia, we really enjoy it. Situation of hotel is great, close to beach and also close to restaurants. It is clean and service very good.
Beach is beautiful but a bit dirty. We totally advise you to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 959Aldina959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Golden sands hotel is one of the best accommodations in Sihanoukville. It is also located a 5-10 min walk from the vibrant part of the beach. Once you walk though a concrete pathway off the main road you hit the beach, which is filed with restaurants and bars. We were very peased with the location given that partying/ beach scene was were there for.

Hotel room was clean, and spacious. Take note that there is no safe in the room, but instead valuables are to be left in a locker room at the reception. THis seemed pretty secure and no valuables of ours.

They serve a decent breakfast, had a pool (that was quite dirty when we stayed) and have a new coffee shop that had just opened.

I would stay here if I was coming back for another visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mohit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We loved Cambodia so much that we think everything was excellent!) everything was ok exept some bad smell in bath, It was better if in room was balcony, and also near swimming pool, there was bar constructing, it was a little bit noise. and last bad thing- some times^ when we went for the breakfast in the early time, there were so much people, that we couldnt find place to sit, and food mostly was over. To say the trouth, cambodian people think this hotel is awesome, I cant say so, but it is rather good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Malinovajajul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
OC Boutique Hotel
OC Boutique Hotel
#28 of 74 in Sihanoukville
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#18 of 74 in Sihanoukville
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bao Mai Resort
Bao Mai Resort
#33 of 74 in Sihanoukville
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Miiya Hotel
Miiya Hotel
#22 of 74 in Sihanoukville
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
0.4 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#17 of 74 in Sihanoukville
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sand Hotel

Property: Golden Sand Hotel
Address: St. 23 Tola, Modol 4 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sand Hotel is located just a few minutes away from Ochheuteal Beach of Sihanoukville Cambodia. Recently awarded the status one of the "Most Beautiful Bays of the World." We have all of the facilities to make your stay memorable and comfortable. Our 134 elegantly appointed rooms and suites are beautifully furnished with wooden furniture and equipped with all amenities you would expect to find in a fine hotel. With a restaurant serving Khmer, Chinese and continental cuisines, a large swimming pool and function halls with the capacity to accommodate from 50 to 180 guests. Our helpful and friendly staff will pay special attention to details. We welcome you to come and spend your holidays with us and let us make your vacation a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sand Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing