We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pool.”
Review of Golden Sand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Sand Hotel
Ranked #58 of 76 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here previously and enjoyed our stay so we came back to see if anything had changed. An excellent hotel in good location. 10 mins walk to beach , 5 mins to restaurants. Hotel room clean and comfortable. Breakfast nothing special but adequate .Pool is excellent and necessary when the temperature rises.Staff are friendly and efficient and okay for booking onward travel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwl321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 329 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have stayed at Golden Sands several times. It is a great hotel, conveniently located a couple of blocks back from the noisy bars on the beach. It has the best pool in S'Ville, with out doubt. I always get a high room overlooking the pool and with a nice view of the sea as well. My rooms are always perfecty clean, quiet and well-maintained. Love the big bathtub with window overlooking the pool and sea. The free breakfast is also the best in town, with numerous choices for different nationalites and a special chef to make your free omelettes to order. Food and service at the new cafe on the other side of the pool are also excellent. You can't go wrong by choosing the Golden Sand.- Professor Paul Nugent Canada and Korea

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PAULNUGENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was our little splurge over Xmas whilst traveling even though it was only £22 a night. We booked in for Xmas eve, Xmas day and boxing day just to chill by a pool and have a comfortable room. The room was old fashioned but clean and lovely facilities. The pool was fantastic. The hotels in a great location, not far from the beach and lots of choices for eateries and bars. The best thing was the breakfast...so much choice from western to Asian, fruit to cakes, cereals and drinks. Even an egg bar so you can order eggs how ever you want. I thought this was fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after a terrible stay in indigo hostel Otris beach. We checked in at 9am given room straight away. Friendly receptionist. Room was spacious and nice. I would say attention to detail in cleaning could be higher we found some rubbish at the side of the locker and at the top of the bed. Other than that I cannot fault the hotel. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aoife B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandHotel, Front Office Manager at Golden Sand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Aoife B,

Thank you for your take time to share your real experience on TripAdvisor! and Thank you very much for your stay at Golden Sand Hotel! We are very disappointed to hear you have this problem with your room. This is staff's mistake, we promise we do not have this problem happen again.

We do hope you will have chance to stay at Golden Sand Hotel again and we might reserve you as well as.

Best Regards,
Mr. Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a very nice hotel that is efficiently run and well maintained. I did not book the hotel directly as we stayed here as a member of a tour group so I don't know anything about what was actually paid for the room but in checking the rate I found it normally books for under $30 US per night and includes breakfast. Our room did not include breakfast and the breakfast was approximately $5 extra per person. The rooms were clean and we found everything to be in good working order, including excellent air conditioning. The highlight of this location was that it was close to the beach and several excellent cafes and restaurants including Greek, Russian, and German specialties. The hotel's pool was beautiful and very large. All in all the Golden Sand was an excellent choice for us.

Room Tip: A room right off the stairway on one of the lower levels could save your having to wait for the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farout75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel has a worth for the money. Very good location not far from Ocheatel beach. Have swimming pool, big rooms with a view. Very kind and nice staff and good massage in the room too. I stayed with friends and all of us enjoyed the stay. I will recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Take a room in the front and book atleast a week ago.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sagheer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hotel is situated a stone's throw from Ochheuteal Beach so in a really good spot. Its pretty big and seems to deal with a lot of large Chinese tour groups (as with many hotels in the area). Reception were very friendly and helpful, theres free wifi. The lifts are small and very slow and dont serve the floors in the order the buttons have been selected so you might be in there for a while!!

My room was big and spacious, good choice on the telly, comfy beds. There are a lot of mossies around especially in the rooms so bring your DEET.

Hotel has a really nice, big pool thats great for cooling off in later in the day (though it does tend to be quite busy). Also many of the tour groups staying here seem to get up very very early with little regard for other people who may still be sleeping so request a room far away from Reception.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts to avoid an early wake-up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrepudtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Thaiyang Chhen Hotel
Thaiyang Chhen Hotel
#32 of 76 in Sihanoukville
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#17 of 76 in Sihanoukville
618 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#15 of 76 in Sihanoukville
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Miiya Hotel
Miiya Hotel
#22 of 76 in Sihanoukville
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
0.5 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#23 of 76 in Sihanoukville
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sand Hotel

Address: St. 23 Tola, Modol 4 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $44 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sand Hotel is located just a few minutes away from Ochheuteal Beach of Sihanoukville Cambodia. Recently awarded the status one of the "Most Beautiful Bays of the World." We have all of the facilities to make your stay memorable and comfortable. Our 134 elegantly appointed rooms and suites are beautifully furnished with wooden furniture and equipped with all amenities you would expect to find in a fine hotel. With a restaurant serving Khmer, Chinese and continental cuisines, a large swimming pool and function halls with the capacity to accommodate from 50 to 180 guests. Our helpful and friendly staff will pay special attention to details. We welcome you to come and spend your holidays with us and let us make your vacation a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golden Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sand Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing