We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome holiday”
Review of Golden Sand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golden Sand Hotel
Ranked #58 of 76 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Reviewed September 21, 2012

While staying at the Golden Sands Hotel our stay was wonderful, The staff where very helpful and nothing was to much effort for them.Mr Ket in the dinning room was very friendly and made our stay very enjoyable.Mrs Chantrea what a lovely lady to have sourced a nail tech to do my nails and sit with me. I would recommend this hotel to any travelers, The hotel had hot water close to all attractions and the staff are friendly and welcoming.Well done to all staff.

Room Tip: we had the back rooms as they where quiet and nothing flash but clean and beds really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyndar33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandHotel, Front Office Manager at Golden Sand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear lyndar33,

Warmest Greeting from Golden Sand Hotel, Sihanouk Province, Cambodia

Thank you for choosing golden Sand Hotel during your recent trip to Cambodia and for sharing your review here on Trip Advisor.

The whole teams are very happy to know you that you had an enjoyable stay on our Hotel.

It is always pleasing to know our valued guests enjoyed their Golden Sand Hotel which gives us the commitment and ambition to continually enhance our Hotel services and create lasting memories that our valued guests will cherish for many years ahead.

Our Staff, especially Mr. Ket are very happy to know that our value customer likes their services at Golden Sand Hotel and post on TirpAdvisor.

We do hope you will have chance to stay at Golden Sand Hotel again and have more experiences to post in TripAdvisor.

Your Sincerely,
Mr. Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 331 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

I've stayed at the Golden Sand a number of times. It is an affordable basic hotel with a nice location. I must agree with the previous reviewer that the management will not go out of their way for the guests, but rooms are clean and most have good showers with good water pressure. The Golden Sand often caters to groups coming down from Phnom Penh and tends to fill up on busy weekends. I have always called them directly and asked for my favorite room - thus far they have always had it ready for me when I arrived.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honney1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandHotel, Front Office Manager at Golden Sand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear honney1233,

Warmest Greeting from Golden Sand Hotel, Sihanouk Province, Cambodia

Thank you for choosing golden Sand Hotel during your recent trip to Cambodia and for sharing your review here on Trip Advisor.

The whole team are very happy to know you that you had an enjoyable stay on our Hotel.

It is always pleasing to know our valued guests enjoyed their Golden Sand Hotel which gives us the commitment and ambition to continually enhance our Hotel services and create lasting memories that our valued guests will cherish for many years ahead.

We do hope you will have chance to stay at Golden Sand Hotel again and have more experiences to post in TripAdvisor.

Your Sincerely,
Mr. Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Close to the beach and a lot of restaraunts. Breakfast buffet was just Ok but be aware that this hotel is used for Asian tour groups which can make for very loud neighbors. Rooms were clean and there was signs of recent upgrades.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandHotel, Front Office Manager at Golden Sand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Owee,

Warmest Greeting From Golden Sand Hotel, Sihanouk Province, Cambodia.

Thank you for your taking time to stay at Golden Sand Hotel. Your review is very important for us to update our Hotel.

We do hope you will have trip to our Hotel again! We wish you good luck all time!

Your Faithfully,
Golden Sand Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is quite new and clean. Rooms are nice and specious with some modern furniture. The room rate is quite reasonable as it's only around 30USD per night. The hotel staff is really friendly and front desk has a locker service where you can keep your valuable items including money there.
Bar and the restaurant is really good and serves amazing food. Only disappointment is the breakfast buffet which is not up to the standard but it's not that bad.
The pool area is amazing and the shower by the pool is actually a tress where water comes from the trunk. Pool will be quite useful after coming from the beach by having a sea bath. A nice public beach is less than 5 minutes of walking from the hotel.
I highly recommend this hotel if someone planning to enjoy a beach with the family as this area is not so closer to the other crowded beach which is surrounded by night clubs.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tharaka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I and my superb husband went to Kampong Soam Province ( well known as Shihaknouk Ville). We stayed in Golden Sand Hotel for two nights. It was really comfortable for us. I recommend that it is the nice place to stay as the room i stay is really nice with pretty cheap price. It is really close to Occheuteal beach ( one of nicest beach in the world). The staffs were really helpful and we also tried the food in their mini bar...yummy.

Room Tip: Second Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Takdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This hotel could be a better ranked hotel in this area of Cambodia. Unfortunately as soon as anyone moves furniture anywhere in the hotel you can hear it. As you can when your neighbors blows off. There are also bus loads of Vietnamese visiting often. Which is fine, until you come back to the ideal of rest. As doors open with occupants yelling, tv blasting, and children running up and down the hallway pressing door bells kill any rest you were having at 6.15am.

Very unfortunate for an otherwise nice hotel.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Golden Sands Hotel in Sihanoukville in Cambodia is the best hotel in the town and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SergeyPechkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Thaiyang Chhen Hotel
Thaiyang Chhen Hotel
#33 of 76 in Sihanoukville
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#15 of 76 in Sihanoukville
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#17 of 76 in Sihanoukville
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Seagull Hotel
Grand Seagull Hotel
#32 of 76 in Sihanoukville
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#21 of 76 in Sihanoukville
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Miiya Hotel
Miiya Hotel
#22 of 76 in Sihanoukville
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sand Hotel

Address: St. 23 Tola, Modol 4 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $44 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sand Hotel is located just a few minutes away from Ochheuteal Beach of Sihanoukville Cambodia. Recently awarded the status one of the "Most Beautiful Bays of the World." We have all of the facilities to make your stay memorable and comfortable. Our 134 elegantly appointed rooms and suites are beautifully furnished with wooden furniture and equipped with all amenities you would expect to find in a fine hotel. With a restaurant serving Khmer, Chinese and continental cuisines, a large swimming pool and function halls with the capacity to accommodate from 50 to 180 guests. Our helpful and friendly staff will pay special attention to details. We welcome you to come and spend your holidays with us and let us make your vacation a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sand Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing