We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cambodia”
Review of Golden Sand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Sand Hotel
Ranked #58 of 76 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Golden Sands Hotel in Sihanoukville in Cambodia is the best hotel in the town and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SergeyPechkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 329 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in July 2012. Found it quite comfortable. Comfy beds, clean bathrooms, big hearty breakfast. Well priced and a good location. Would stay again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
4  Thank Gareth71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night, having been let down by other accommodation in the town. The reception staff were excellent - they couldn't have been more helpful in trying to sort out our original accommodation for us, which was very kind and generous of them, as we'd arrived at their desk entirely by chance.

The hotel is mostly practical although lacking a Wow-factor - it represents fair value for money as it is fairly inexpensive too. It would benefit from more lifts and more powerful aircon in the room. The pool is large but would benefit from landscaping - it feels as though it is in the car park.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NotLostUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The Golden Sands Hotel in Sihanoukville in Cambodia is the best hotel in the town and very reasonably priced. It is very reasonably priced and very clean with good breakfasts. It is very close to the beautiful beach but has a clean swimming pool.

Room Tip: All the rooms are goods as the hotel is designed as a wide V
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cambodiavisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I like golden sand hotel. Freindly staff, good service, good location. Popular hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomkiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is my first time . I really enjoy my time but from the beginning upon arrival it have no room to check in . but it's metter . The staff front desk staff very helpfull he organize and looking us for the bus ticket and call to us by phone .

Thanks we will back again

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alexsteavngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We booked this hotel through Agoda. We arrived around 9pm from a very long bus trip from Siem Reap via Phnom Penh. The check in staffs were polite but not a smile or even not very welcoming. The check in took a bit of time (it is as though it was complicated). We requested a room on an elevated floor but was only given on the second floor facing the backside of the hotel.
The room itself is pretty basic. Nothing to brag about. The decor was tacky and very simple. The feel of the bed was great though - firm-ish and easy to sleep on. The toilet is basic and simple but stinky. Apparently there were having sewage problems. Nonetheless, it stinks. The airconditioning functioned ok but asked to change the remote should there be a problem because ours did.The chambermaids were too eager to come and clean up the room in the morning even though we asked them to come back in 10 minutes, they stood outside waiting for us which then automatically forces us to get dressed in record time - I guess this is more of cultural issues.
The hotel is very much central and very easy access to the beach - walking distance. Apparently for the tuk² driver this hotel is well-known for its big swimming pool - which we never get to use. See tip at the end of this review.
3 or 4 stars hotel? More like 1 1/2 star hotel to me.
In general - tacky and stinky hotel. Don't bother spending your USD if you have other choices.

Room Tip: I suppose good rooms are facing the swimming pool and/or on the elevated floor facing the beach. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JafParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Thaiyang Chhen Hotel
Thaiyang Chhen Hotel
#32 of 76 in Sihanoukville
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#17 of 76 in Sihanoukville
618 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#15 of 76 in Sihanoukville
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Miiya Hotel
Miiya Hotel
#22 of 76 in Sihanoukville
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
0.5 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#23 of 76 in Sihanoukville
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sand Hotel

Address: St. 23 Tola, Modol 4 | Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $44 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sand Hotel is located just a few minutes away from Ochheuteal Beach of Sihanoukville Cambodia. Recently awarded the status one of the "Most Beautiful Bays of the World." We have all of the facilities to make your stay memorable and comfortable. Our 134 elegantly appointed rooms and suites are beautifully furnished with wooden furniture and equipped with all amenities you would expect to find in a fine hotel. With a restaurant serving Khmer, Chinese and continental cuisines, a large swimming pool and function halls with the capacity to accommodate from 50 to 180 guests. Our helpful and friendly staff will pay special attention to details. We welcome you to come and spend your holidays with us and let us make your vacation a memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golden Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sand Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing