We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DON'T STAY HERE!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of House of Malibu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of Malibu
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“DON'T STAY HERE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

Horrible! Old, run down, unsafe. Next door to JJ's Playground which plays LOUD, techno/dance music from 10 pm till 6:11 am. Earplugs don't help. The curtains are made of thin, blue, see-through material, so we couldn't sleep in the morning either. There are many hotels / guesthouses / bungalows that are much nicer.

Room Tip: Walk around, see many, haggle for a better price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    8
    4
    15
See reviews for
2
11
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

We have been in House of Malibu (Angel) for 7 days. We arrived in the night from Vietnam and we booked a hotel and didn't care. Only want to have a bed. So next morning we started to search a nice hotel at the beach. We went with a Tuktuk-Driver for couple of hours and checked many many rooms and different beaches. So in the final we decided to stay in House of Malibu. The room for 2 person is 20 USD until 35 USD (very, very big room with perfect ocean view). We had bad luck the big room was occupied. But we liked our room also very much. When we where sitting outside on our terrace we had ocean view. And only 15 m to the restaurant and the beach.

The staff really very very nice. They cleaned the room very propper and the new owner (since little bit more than 1 year) is living in the resort also and take care the guests very much.

They serve great food and we enjoyed our time absolutly after the very busy Vietnam.

We could also book trips with them and the internet (WiFi) is very quick. And the best we have been out of the crowd from the beach because the resort is round about 30 m beside of the jetty. For sunset you walk along the beach (you should start at 17:00 hrs and walk 3-4 minutes), sit down and enjoy your life :-)))

If we would come back to Sihanouk Ville we will definitly stay again in House of Malibu.

Thanks a lot to the nice staff and John Shoi (owner)..........

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banyaklibur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and we were very satisfied. The rooms were clean and we had a nice view over the sea from the bedroom. The room didn't have air-conditioning but we didn't see it as a problem - the fan was good and the climate is a bit cooler by the sea.

The location was exellent close to all the beach bars. The con with that was that you could hear the music to the rooms quite loudly. That didn't bother us but a elderly couble next door moved out after one night because of that. One bad thing was also that the shower pressure was really poor and the water heater didn't always work - something you would expect for a 20USD room.

The room was a bit over our budget (20USD/night) but it wass well worth it. The service was good and they arranged everyting from motorcycle rental to island trips for a reasonable price. If you book this hotel you should try to get one of the two rooms with the sea view.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N0rdic_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2008

I don't book hotels in Asia and for a very good reason...you never know what you are getting.
Having checked out the other places on Serendipity Beach we chose the House of Malibu as the rooms appeared to be of better value than what we were shown elsewhere.They also dropped the price from $35 to $25 per night due to the request for a discount. WE got 2 rooms as we had our 2 children.
THe rooms were clean though showing signs of age and in need of a paint job. The a/c was excellent, sheets were clean and bed comfortable
The first place to check when assessing a room is the bathroom. This tells you a lot about the state of cleanliness and hygiene of the establishment. The bathroom was a little musty but a genuine effort had been made to make it clean, The toilet flushed the paper without a problem.
Staff were friendly and helpful with the manger giving plenty of advice on where to go and what to do.
I have read some very negative reports about this place but can't believe people would leave valuables or cash in a room, even in a locked draw.
The manger also pointed out that there has been an effort made to lift the standards. That may have something to do with the fact it is now owned by an Americam woman ( or so I was told)

  • Liked — locartion
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank olgazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2008

We stayed here for a couple of nights, once sharing the infamous Mr Hanky room with friends, and one night (on New Year's Eve) we were in the manager's room (because they promised us a booking but didn't take our names, even after we asked two times to).

Both rooms were ok, but if you're afraid of poo that won't flush and absolutely cannot do without a/c then you may be in trouble. If room security is a priority, then these rooms may not be for you - i.e. no safes or anything like that, and pretty flimsy door locks, so you wouldn't leave stuff of value in the rooms.

We also had the unfortunate situation of being awoken early on New Year's Day (after a great and late night a couple of doors down) by the manager who needed to access the safe in her room, but I suspect this won't happen to most!

Their food was pretty bad, but the place generally and their deck particularly was an awesome and pretty quiet place right on the beach to lose a few hours while drinking cold beer, cocktails, soft drinks, water etc. They also had very eclectic beach music playing, which you have to love - just don't sit under the speakers if you're trying to chill out!

There were of course plenty of touts, and we all took advantage of this at one time or another, getting massages, buying fruit etc. They were pretty low-key about heading off if you said No.

On New Year's Eve, it was also probably one of the safest places to be if you are terrified of the loose and lazy way that Khmers have with fireworks!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of a booking system, even when you're on site.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wmlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2008

We stayed at the House of Malibu from 27/12/07 to 01/01/08. Accommodation right on the beach on Sihanoukville was very full at that time, so we were lucky to get a room. We could not fault the location - only 100 metres from the entrance to Serendipity Beach, and a deck only metres from the ocean. We stayed in the family room and overall we had a lovely time there. The amount of gin in the G&Ts was particularly generous and there was less hassling than on other areas of the beach. There were a couple of downsides... the toilet would not flush properly (causing a myriad of jokes about Mr Hanky!), the food was fairly ordinary and friends of ours had their booking go missing despite reminders (they eventually displaced the manager to accommodate them). A system for recording bookings would have gone a long way!! I understand that it can be noisy at times as the Eden Bar is next door, but Eden was closed for the time we were there, and except for the installation of an underground water supply it was relatively quiet.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Non-flushing toilet
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piajacma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2007

absolutely avoid this place!!!!!!! it seems like a beautiful place and
do not let the look of the place fool you. it has been handed down from owner to owner and has the reputation for disappointment and shadieness. we left money in our rooms and locked away in the safe was
that was provided in the room. we were foolish to this although we thought we were being careful. we should have known better we know. we
came back from breakfast only to find $120 USD gone...stolen. we know we did not loose that much cash. we told the owner of the place and she could have cared less. she went on drinking with her friends. then, i believe her son, called the cops or at least someone who pretended to be a cop. she had no idea who he was. at the very least we would have liked to see some concern and there was none. just a few
giggles and smiles.

avoid if you can!!!!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank mommalongleggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sihanoukville hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
2.0 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#7 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
2.0 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpacker Heaven
Backpacker Heaven
#7 of 139 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Le D'Artagnan
Le D'Artagnan
#4 of 231 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
6.6 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#3 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Malibu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Malibu

Property: House of Malibu
Address: Ochheuteal Beach | Serendipity Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
House Of Malibu Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing